(My) Atheism Explained

in #philosophy5 years ago

Please don't view the following as an attempt by myself to school you in any way; this is the result of asking myself the question what label would best suit my opinions on religion.


darwin_fish_small.jpg
Image by KirsiV - source: Pixabay

All my life I've intermittently called myself an atheist and an agnostic, never really paying attention which label to use; I've always considered them both to have the same meaning. But they don't. And the difference isn't subtle either, which makes me even more guilty of not using the right words. This might sound like I'm nitpicking, but it's in my opinion very important to be precise with the use of words, as they are the best tools we have for sharing our inner thoughts, and understanding each others inner thoughts is the very basis upon we build consensus, and that enables us to cooperate successfully. There's no way for us to convey our inner truths perfectly, we can't literally share our thoughts; mind-melting is for Vulcans only. We use labels, words, that represent aspects of our inner worlds to best approximate our inner, first person perspective on things. With these labels we label other things we can not exactly grasp, like persons, or groups of persons.

So until now I've used the labels "atheist" and "agnostic" to label myself in the labeling game we all play when sharing our thoughts and opinions. But for any discussion, meeting or debate to be effective, to make sure we understand each others opinions, we must first make sure that we agree on the meaning of the words we use; the best way to do this is to use the words that correctly describe what we're trying to convey. After refreshing myself on the exact meaning of the words "atheist" and "agnostic", I've come to the conclusion that the correct way to label myself is atheist agnostic; turns out I'm both!

"Theism" is a BELIEF in the existence of God or Gods. More specifically a God or Gods who exist in our dimension, that can intervene in our lifes and can listen to our prayers. "Deism" is the belief in a creator outside our dimension, a supernatural being that created the universe, but can not intervene in our lifes nor listen to our prayers. These words specifically deal with what we BELIEVE, and how strongly we believe it. On this scale, I'm definitely an atheist. I do not believe in a God or Gods who can intervene in this universe, especially the Abrahamic God who is also said to be omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent and omnibenevolent; logic clearly dictates no being can be all of these things at the same time. I'm sure you're all familiar with this question: "If God is all-powerful, can He make a stone so heavy that He can't lift it?" I think it's highly improbable that such a God exists.


god_small.jpg
Image by pixundfertig - source: Pixabay

On the flip-side I recognize that there's no way for me, or anyone else for that matter, to know anything at all about the supernatural, if such a thing exists. In that sense I'm an agnostic; there's no way for me to know for sure that a deistic God, or even a theistic God exists. The Greek word "gnosis" means "knowledge" or "insight", and I can have no knowledge about anything that takes place outside the space-time I live in. I have a strong suspicion that a deistic God also doesn't exist, at least not one that created our universe, because that would imply that such a being would be able to interact with our plane of existence; He, She or It would then also be able to intervene, and then we're back to the theistic God I consider to be the least probable of all God-propositions.

I've finally found the right label to describe my inner perspective on God and religion; I'm an atheist agnostic, and I'm pleased to meet you. Thanks for sitting through this inner search with me, at last finding the correct words, the right label to convey my stance on religion.


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Universal Wasting Income?
Miracles Happen Every DayApple Pie From Scratch
Animated Exodus ExtravaganzaAppeal To Common Sense
But It's True For Me!Bitvavo: EASY Crypto Access

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39