A TIME TO EVERY PURPOSE UNDER HEAVEN

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Scan 1.jpg

WHEN I first came too Steemit I was cautious not to put anything out there that might be offensive to anyone. Over time I began to believe you deserve to know my heart and mind in a deeper way, and those that might be put off...well, that's life. And so saying, I must confess that I've been disappointed in Steemit in one significant way that affects my enthusiasm. It's a simple thing really, one that can be compensated for and overcome, but here it is: so few people read a post. That has improved somewhat now that I am a rooting tooting (55), and from what I observe if one gets up to the upper (60's) and (70's) then more and more people follow and actually read. Don't get me wrong I've had some wonderful sessions communicating with others here on Steemit, and it has been very gratifying; and I am very grateful for those who consistently read my posts. I think the desire in every human heart is to be heard, to be known, to be appreciated and ultimately to be loved. I am no different. However, from this point on I will be writing mostly for my own enjoyment and satisfaction. I welcome you to come along and see into my heart and spirit through what I write.

Though I am not a Christian, or a devotee of any particular religion I am, nevertheless, on a spiritual path. I have not adequately come up with a single word that describes who I am so I have to use several: of course I'm a fool, and with that I mean I know I am nothing, but I am also everything. I am astonished with the complexity of the fascinating Cosmos we live in. I suppose the main theme of my life, other than growing from one who had very little self love and thus a limited ability to love others, to one who experiences love much more fully and vibrantly, is that I love contemplating the mysteries of our existence. So, I am a fool, one who peers into the stars at night in wonder, one who admits I know so little, but would love to understand so much more.

I am very sensitive to energies of all kinds. I can't say that I am exceptional in this, but certainly am "different" than most. I've used this sensitivity as an astrologer, a mystic, a philosopher, a curious man of nature, and a poet. So I suppose I could say I am all of those things. In my younger years I was a crusader for peace and freedom, and worked professionally for several years teaching and speaking and writing on those subjects. My enthusiasm and commitment to freedom, self-responsibility, and self government has not diminished but rather has taken another form. I have come to understand that if we as a species hope to survive and rise above our animal instincts we must rise in consciousness. And so I've become a champion of that... of developing our understanding, awareness and consciousness of who and what we are, and that we can come closer to the Light.

Like I said I adhere to no religion but sense the great energies and spirit emanating from them. And so with that I'll quote The Old Testament. Indeed I connect to these old scriptures on an unusual level. Perhaps it is distant Jewish ancestry or perhaps it comes from an ancestor of mine back in the 1500's who was a Catholic Abbott. Perhaps he was a scriptorian and through some magic of the Cosmos his love of Scriptures lingers in my blood. I do not know fully, but I sense it.

ECCLESIASTES 3:1-8

  1. To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven;

  2. A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

  3. A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

  4. A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

  5. A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from
    embracing
    ;

  6. A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

  7. A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

  8. A time to love and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

TIMES ARE CHANGING. GO WITH THE FLOW.

For those who loved the old Bee Gees song "Turn, Turn, Turn", here it is:

May you be blessed dear one. May you be at peace.

27459094_1731040416954460_8110938635129439225_n.jpg

Virtuecirclebanner1.png

Sort:  

I think more people read than you think, it is just that there is so much content out there. And right now, Steemit rewards the writers more than the readers and commenting. I happen to be someone who comments often, but many people do not vote on the comments, even if they reply to them!

It would be nice for there to be a push to create a better balance between writing and reading. There are many contests and ideas to reward writers, maybe we could come up with ideas to reward readers? Minds does this by rewarding you every time you go through your feed.

That is a very good idea. I have a friend on Minds who is encouraging me to participate there. I am just too busy with Steemit. But perhaps one day. Many blessings and thanks for taking the time to comment.

I prefer Steemit to minds for the general content and the curation. On Minds, many people are reposting content they find online to get rewards. That being said, the overall interface over there is somewhat easier to use. They have more of a Facebook model, with a newsfeed and blog. It is worth looking into in order to think about what we can do to improve Steemit. :)

You are a spiritual man sir.youve basically stated proofs that the cosmos i is guided by supreme being.statements that prove spirituality

Thanks for the very kind comments. I hope you are blessed and at peace.

A song most fitting.

I am glad that you are doing what is best for you. Spirituality does not need a religion's limitations. Write for you and what makes you feel good. You will then be surrounded by the people that will lift you up and keep you there ^_^

Write for you, that's what I like to read :) Stay safe, be healthy and strong. xxx

Thanks. I've been having some health moments lately. That affects my attitude. I think I'm back in the saddle once again. Blessings.

I hope that things are good for you. That you can be at 100%. Proper time for proper healing. You are a good man and knows what is right ^_^

That has improved somewhat now that I am a rooting tooting (55), and from what I observe if one gets up to the upper (60's) and (70's) then more and more people follow and actually read.

I think that's a shame that people do this really. I will gladly read the post of whomever my attention happens to land as the number next to our names really has no bearning on the truth we convey.

I really appreciate the depth of your thoughts and musing. Thank you.

I appreciate your comment. I could perceive there was a real, thinking, caring human who wrote it. Did my heart good. Blessings.

I think it depends on who the person is. I never leave a vote on a post I haven't read, and not all posts I read get a vote. Yours as well as several I follow seem to gather both, but i am picky on whom I follow, and weed the list down monthly.

There are many initiatives as well that allow higher SP accounts to find newer members here that produce quality work, such as the Pay It Forward Curation Contest started by @thedarkhorse. I usually try to give about 15-25 votes per week there, and have actually found a few people that I continue to follow and interact with.

Water rises to its own level, and I notice many good people are drawn to your posts and energy. It just takes time for others to know you are here.

As always, I look forward to your spiritual observations. Thank you, my friend.

I appreciate your kind and thoughtful responses. There! Three cents for the man in the front row! Wish it could be more. Hopefully one day soon. In the meantime I'll check out the Pay It Forward contest. Blessings.

However, from this point on I will be writing mostly for my own enjoyment and satisfaction.

I think this is the only position from which true self-expression can emerge. Everything else takes into consideration reactions of others (will they like/vote/reject blah blah). And of course, having got into the mid-high 50s, there will be more eyes on your stuff anyway. Everything else follows.

To stress about payouts and other 'financial' issues on Steemit is, IMO, to lose the possibility of this 'enjoyment' and 'satisfaction' - which is different from the excitement of a big payout/drooling response.

PS love the opening image of the magician (which I've seen before on your posts) with all the symbolism and the little elf and fairy :D

Indeed, my best audience is myself!

I've let go of my expectations and will take it one day at a time, following a much better guide: my spiritual intuition.

As for the magician pic: I spotted it at a garage sale and knew it was meant for me. In fact I relate to it. I've come to believe in past life energies, both ancestral and individual and know that this pic is a good visual reminder of who I am. Oh, and of course he is smoking some fine herb which I do on occasion!

I've let go of my expectations and will take it one day at a time, following a much better guide: my spiritual intuition.

Amen to that!

past life energies, both ancestral and individual

Yes me too - 'Anger' and 'Abandonment/Rejection' are my allocated/chosen streams :D

I notice that the hour-glass sand has almost run out - must mean that the Magician's time has arrived! 🔆 🔆 🔆

I call you a spiritual warrior, friend and sounding board. I have a deep respect for your sight, wisdom and skills of writing, sharing ideas, feelings and insights. I am most impressed with what you have been sharing, this post particularly. Not too many people would choose to be vulnerable and share like this. It impresses me most when people take risks and share at this level. That is how we learn about one another at levels most only dream about. Bravo to you my dear spiritual brother.

One day, @wwf, I'm going to come visit you in the far north. (Hopefully in the summer!) Would love to embrace you in person. Many blessings.

Highly rEsteemed!

Well thanks for the resteem Mr. Bacon. I do appreciate it very much. May you be blessed and be at peace.

Thank you for your honesty and openness. It is a risk, and by doing so, I believe you will inspire others... myself included, to risk and truly engage. I fully agree with what @wwf replied. You inspire with your writing ... and your philosophy and spirit speak volumes about the love you have for your fellow mankind. I would also consider myself a fool, as you have described it. The journey of life can be filled with wonder, if we just open our eyes, raise our gaze and look around. Maybe that is why I see rainbows in the morning sky, diamonds in the snow, and feel delight in watching the antics of two-week-old-chicks. Peace.

Such a pleasant response @angelfire808! I do appreciate your kind remarks and upbeat attitude. Many thanks and blessings.

I have qoutes those versus many times :). Ty for the reminder. Followed Resteemed, ty sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17