Quick Intro from a philosophy junkie and fellow cryptophile

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem community!

I am a recent graduate as well as a philosophy and political junkie, although my formal professional training is actually in business finance (B.Sc). I did obtain a minor philosophy certificate for shits and giggles, although the mere idea of the issuance of such a certificate through an accredited institution meaning anything other than light formal logic and writing capabilities is chuckle worthy.

I am looking foward to reading some interesting thoughts from all of you, and I only hope that I can contribute worthy discussion to some of the great problems and dilemmas of our time. I see many ethical storms brewing on the horizon, such as the implications of using blockchain cryptography to decentralize institutions which have historically always been in a centralized few and fairly monolithic hands; there are additionally some more 'esoteric' ideas of my own I wish to pursue, including the integration of Taoist perspectives into more traditional western systems of thought in the vain of Alan Watts (A man who, interestingly, predicted global electronic networking systems as early as the 1960s).

We live in both exciting and uncertain times; the possibilities are quite endless.

Sort:  

ALAN WATTS IS THE SHIT HOLY FUCK

I concur

Welcome to Steem @jl44 I have sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit! I can't wait to read more of your articles. I love philosophy.

Thank you! I hope many will assist and engage my discussions on the effects modern technology has on our ethics and politics in the future.

Welcome to steemit!

Yeah it really looks like cryto came on the right time, with governments being really high on surveillance.
Really interested in the Taoists view you spoke about, hope you write a post about it. Read "Out of Your Mind" by Alan Watts a while back.

Welcome to Steemit, @jl44!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53