Working under pressuresteemCreated with Sketch.

Warning: potentially life-changing 3-minute read!
How to use the greatest motivator off all, pressure, to your advantage.

girl-1064659_960_720.jpg

I’ve always worked best under pressure. That is, by the way, a truth with modifications. Sometimes the pressure has been so high, that I failed to complete whatever task I was working on.

Over the years I’ve made one crucial observation:

The obligations I have in relation to other people, seem to be a much stronger motivator, than the obligations I have towards myself.

What do I mean by that?

An example: I work from home, and I therefore have deadlines several times a week. I almost never miss these deadlines. However, I often fail to deliver on promises I make to myself.

“Finish the novel draft!”

I don’t even know how long that sentence has been stuck on my to-do list, - at least for months. But for some reason, when the list tells me to “Finish work assignment 01”, I constantly orient towards that, - and I always make it happen somehow.

Similarly, if I tell myself: “Tomorrow, I’m cleaning the kitchen!”, I rarely do so.

If, on the other hand, I promise my wife to clean the kitchen, more often than not, I do so.

Why is that?

It’s clearly an extremely impractical tendency, and from what I’ve gathered, it’s a part of the human condition, meaning: Almost everybody does it.

What does it say about me as a person, that I do everything in my power to accommodate the needs of others, but little to accommodate my own?

And more importantly: how do I change it?

A possible Explanation

Since humans are social beings, and since we have been for millennia, it is no wonder that whatever traits we have that make us more sociable, have been favored over the years.
neanderthals-96507_960_720.jpg
Being socially accommodating is simply better for procreation and long-term survival, than is being self-absorbed and egotistically focused.

The Formula to Change

Over the past few years, I’ve been working with a simple system to change this behavior.

I managed to boil it down to two simple rules, that must be followed at all times:

  1. Write down every single thing that needs to be done. From “call mom” and “buy sugar” to “write sci-fi script” and “become mister universe”.

  2. Start each day by completing at least one thing on the list, that you do for yourself. It can’t be something, that others want you to do. It must be something that you want (done). Only then can you move on the next thing.

Don't worry if you don't finish the tasks - some tasks can take days, weeks, months, years to finish - but be glad that you took one step - again today - towards the fulfillment of your desires.

office-594132_960_720.jpg
Try that for a month, and observe the effect is has! It has changed my life.

And if you don’t like following rules, think about this:

If you don’t make your own rules – and stick to them – you will inevitably end up following rules made by others. Those are the only two options.

Knowing that, the choice is easy.
bodybuilder-646482_960_720.jpg


Thoughts and comments are always welcome.


Please note that my predictions aren’t necessarily founded in any type of technical analysis, insider knowledge or anything but my personal current understanding of what a reasonable price level for the currency in question is.


Wanna get into crypto? Enter the market here (we both get $10):
https://www.coinbase.com/join/59713a28d9ffbc0096fa8593


My favorite song (yes, I wrote it and my wife, @emmacairo, performs it, but it’s awesome as hell):
https://emmacairo.bandcamp.com/track/in-it-for-the-money
(enjoy it while planning you next crypto investment – you’re welcome)

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Good read!

Doing things for myself is something I'm working on improving. I find I complete all sorts of tasks for others, but my own projects take the back-burner. I hadn't thought of starting the day by accomplishing a task for myself. Why do you suggest that as opposed to just accomplishing 1 thing for yourself per day (regardless of the time of day)?

Hm... Not quite sure I understand the question you're asking, but if your' referring to the 'time management' aspect, I'd suggest to dedicate (for instance) two hours to your own things every day. The key is to start with them, though, and not other people's things. 'Cause you'll end up doing those things anyway, one way or another :-)

I think the Truth we all have to admit is that, we are always more conscious of handling other people's than the way we handle our own concerns, We Place More PRIORITY on doing for others than doing for ourselves all in the name of been KIND.
@initforthemoney... Thanks for clearly defining what we all need to focus on.

Well... I'm certainly not trying to say we shouldn't be kind and/or think of others...
Hm... That's actually material for another post... Hang on!

It's the truth - the greatest enemy we have is our own selves.
Comprehend if you can the opportunities arising if you merge with your greatest enemy and become one. Full perspective of what's going on.

Thanks for the read, it inspired me to write this comment!

Yes, spot on. Cheers!

Great and important advices here. I know this situation very well. I always deliver in time, to other people... Thanks:-)

Ha ha - you're very welcome!

I have always found myself doing the same too.

Well described..we must know how to handle pressure .and must have the courage to take the first step ...

Courage, discipline, self-insight, etc. There seems to be a whole range of parameters that all must align for this to (be able to) happen.

In japan and korea they work until they are beat at end of day, that is why they have high suicide rate there.

Well... Yeah. I guess I should have the post translated, then...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @initforthemoney to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 7.48 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @initforthemoney. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by InitfortheMoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51