First post! What do I plan on posting?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)
Hope everyone is having a great day, if not tomorrow, later today or even now is the time to change that. I plan to post and talk about anything that is on my mind. And I mean ANYTHING such as relationships, drugs, money, government, religion, philosphy, aliens, conspiracy theories, cryptos, music, etc. The subjects we can talk about today are endless, the more we know the more questions we have. I'm a curious person and I'll definitely be looking forward to learn from anyone here as well as I hope I can be helpful in any kind of way to you guys.

At the end of each post I'll be sharing a recent discovery. An eargasmic song that made me simply feel great on the inside. I have a varied taste in music so I'm sure at least one of the songs I share you'll enjoy.

I want to discuss what the meaning of this quote by Socrates is to you. When I first read it I didn't understand it much, it had me thinking for a while until I realized, and to me it currently means, that the more we learn, the more knowledge we acquire the more questions we have and the more we realize there are so many unsolved mysteries in this world, in this universe that are yet to be discovered. I mean some time ago I used to think everything that could be discovered was already discovered, but oh how wrong I was, and how now I realize what a stupid thought that was. There are places on earth like caves that haven't been explored, there are compunds being discovered as we speak, so much unknown about metaphysics today, and the list goes on.


The song I have to share with you guys today is Don't Go by Wet Baes. I love his 80's style kind of music and he's only 18 already making amazing songs like these. There's not a song I don't enjoy from him.

Watching him live made me realize why he's named Wet Baes ;)

Feel free to ask me anything, I'll be posting at least 2-3 times a week. Good day everyone.

Sort:  

Hi and welcome. This will also be my first activity on the website, so you'll be my first in a way =). This particular quote of Socrates has also resurfaced a couple of times throughout my short life, and has changed meaning each time for me. I understand it now in the context of the philosophy that Socrates represented and that of his time. The pre-socratic philosophers and Socrates himself were very pre-occupied with the notion of truth / knowledge. How can you now what is true? How is knowledge different from true belief etc. Socrates himself struggled with this question throughout his lifetime and died, I blieve, without ever finding a definitive answer. Hence, he says that the only thing he truly KNOWS to be true, is that he knows nothing. And when you think about it, isn't that all any of us can really be sure of? Barring Decartes' "I think, therefore I am" quote, of course.

or to mention "know thyself"

I wanna add: create yourself!

Welcome on steemit!

I feel special to know your first activity was on here haha. Yes, exactly. How can we know that everything we think we know is in fact true? Or real? The Cartesian Method is very interesting but I think it has its flaws. Descartes says he thinks therefore he knows he exists but how can we know his thoughts are real? How can we prove what we're thinking is true? I remember he mentioned something about our reality could be manipulated by an unknown entity well our thoughts could be manipulated by that same unknown entity. So many questions yet so little answers.
I agree, and I don't think anyone has found the answers to these questions. What other philosopher tried to explain if what we're living is in fatc real? Found out about anyone interesting like Descartes?

Welcome aboard! Looks like you have many intersting things on your mind!

Thank you! Already looking forward to making my next post, any suggestions?

welcome, friend!

let us philsophers band together and push philosophic content on this platform to far and beyond!

regards from Berlin

Of course and thanks! Lately I've been interested in learning about our unconscious mind. How about you?

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thank you! Followed back

Welcome to the community. your introduction was very nice. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Thanks Kassie, followed back.

Welcome to Steemit, @indiealt!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome to Steem @indiealt I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PapiChulo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72