[Discussion] For You, Is Steemit a Means or an End?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

hansikhousec.jpg


In the past few months, the Steemit community has grown to a size and a rate that we would never have imagined during the winter season. The price has bounced back from the very low rates of 0.25USD per 1STEEM and irrelevant of all the technicalities, Steemit has become a much more welcoming place for new users and old-timers alike.

This surge of new user traction has really put a spotlight on a question members have tossed around since the website's inception – Why are you here?

As always, the money is usually the initial hook. But for people who started a year ago and are still here, we all know at least several accounts that were very popular, highly profitable, and seemed to be at the top of Steemit. Many of them are gone now and even to this day, we see a few big users sign-off permanently from time to time. Even among brand-new members, many try out Steemit for a few weeks, are dissatisfied for whatever reason(s), and don't come back.

Why?

My hypothesis is that because many, if not all of them, considered Steemit as an “End” and not a “Means.”

Is Steemit Your Final Destination?


We all use Steemit for an innumerable list of diverse reasons, but for the sake of clarity and discussion, I abstractly categorize them into 2 main avenues.

An “End” is just that, the very and only reason you are here. You probably make and present content for the sole purpose of gaining followers and getting payouts. You probably identified a niche in the Steemit pool of topics and doubled-down on it as your profile's “expertise.” You log in, put up a post, reply to a few comments, and log out.

This is by and large the main thrust of Steemit Inc's marketing effort. “Blog, Get Paid” has become one of the signature appeals for attracting new members.

But this begs the question, blog about what and why? Most of us have never maintained a blog before or used any of our previous social-media outlets (Facebook, Instagram) to establish some kind of global presence. They have always been leisurely, casual, and primarily meant to be a personal outlet to established friends and family. Now that we're incentivized by money to continuously engage with other Steemians, almost all of us are “forced” to create on a regular basis.

If you treat Steemit as an Ends, you're always going to be lacking content. What I mean by this is that your main purpose is to fill that Submit Post box as best you can as often as you can. The content isn't tied to your life or hobbies, just the website. In this avenue, the best case scenario is that Steemit becomes your little hobby. In the worst case scenario, posts degenerate into “bullshit” content like the ones that constitute plagiarism, identity theft, or textless image pastes, all devoid of a personal voice and purpose.

On the other hand...

Is Steemit Your Vehicle?


Do you have a reason to be on Steemit? Forget the payouts, does Steemit connect to and offer something to something in your real life?

I want to make the argument that if you want to sustain a sustainable trajectory on the platform, you should view Steemit as a vehicle – a vehicle to learn, better yourself, expand your personal and professional life, and take whatever passion or practice to an entirely new level.

The clearest on-site example of this is the relatively large group of crypto investors, programmers, and general enthusiasts. For a great while, this site was dominated by financial updates and code-related content. Steemit was a perfect and rewarding forum for those conversations.

Now that the platform has diversified immensely in focus and demographic, we have to start finding other ambitions for Steemit members. Here are some preliminary thoughts to spark some discssion -

1 - Does Steemit impact your profession? I've found super productive individuals like @heymattsokol and @tonesquare who focus most of their posts on not only their work but also revealing every step of the way so that others may use them as a resource.

2 - Have you regimented Steemit as a investigational and/or learning tool? I personally know many users who love supporting others on the website and use Steemit primarily as a learning device.

3 - Are you finding like-minded people to push forward a passion? If you haven't already, be sure to follow profiles like @Alcibiades who have made it a core mission to curate good content producers and bring those minds together. It's more rewarding to find fellow professionals or hobbyists on Steemit so it's awesome to see people make that facilitation their mission.

4 - Or even if money is still the main attractor, do you have solid resolutions to how you'll be spending that money? The earliest example of this was @heiditravels, using funds created on Steemit to support amazing adventures which in turn made even more great new content for the community.

Think About Where You Are and Where You Want to Be


IMHO, I don't think it's enough to set out goals like “I want 2000 followers by Dec 2017” or “I want my average payout at $XXX.” I think this is setting yourself up for a mindless grind that has little external reward. You'll probably burn out after a few months, and I only say this because many of us witnessed it happen to even some of the bigger Steemit content makers.

Instead, my tiny piece of advice would be to determine a long-term goal that isn't directly impacted by Steemit. Want to try recording your first solo album? Want to start a podcast? Want to go on a hike through the Amazon? Want to take up screen-printing? Want to organize community events? Want to institute a non-profit or volunteer initiative? When you have a goal in the horizon, the nature of your content-making will fall more naturally into place and posting/interacting regularly will be less of a bumbling chore and more of a calculated step towards your ambitions.

Anyway, let me know what y'all think. What is Steemit to you?

design collective @hitheryon

logo_hansikhouse copy.jpg

Sort:  

Steemit is the voice I never had. I am now able to write and express my opinion on any subject I want. Maybe a deteriment to building up my base of followers as I want to express my opinion on just about anything. However I just started not too long ago so I wait to see what effect this will have. Steemit is just perfect because of its simplicity and ease of use.

I never liked FB, YouTube, Instagram or twitter because they were not the platform that suited my personality. Steemit was my perfect match. Sometimes it can be frustrating because my posts are not getting any views but what I recently found is the great support the Steemit community provided.

Not only as a mean to express my views but I have found it to be an important medium to learn. Since joining Steemit I have learnt more about the world of crypto-currencies than I have done in the last few years.

I'm still getting into the stride of things and also thinking of contents to formulate an opinion. Hopefully my opinions will begin resonate with those who have chosen to follow my posts.

and me too, i want follower grow fast, would you follow me

It feels like viewing Steemit as a "means" is good too because it encourages us to keep building up our own blogs. Getting an audience is the hard part, I feel like keeping it is actually pretty easy in comparison.

What if Steem is 10x the traffic at some point? Seems like we're headed in that direction. Being the 5,000th best Steemian will be pretty good - and being in the top 1k of viewed blogs might be really amazing by then.

For me this means focusing on two things: My Steem Power (the higher it gets the more value I can give out to people), and views, which represent the basic math of if my content is reaching people.

I like the way you put it in this post, well said.

Thanks a lot Matt! And I hope the out-of-the-blue shoutout was ok... =)

I think getting yourself out there should also be seen as a "means." What will you do with 100 new followers? 10000 new views? I've been thinking about this a lot since "engagement" is different for everyone. I'd rather have 1 new follower who consistently makes thoughtful comments rather than 100 people who upvote without reading...

(I am not talented in philosophy.. keep that in mind 😉)
Anyway i really enjoyed your article and the sub message you put into it.
I read it like a short life advice similar to personal development books from tony/brian/robert. You know who i mean .. (Dont you?)

For me Steemit is a new, unknown social media blogging platform with alot of potential.
Not only that alot of people never heard about it, but also not realizing the big benefits of steemit behind the curtains after getting known to it.
I still have to get more into steemit, thats why i am implementing steemit in my daily routine to create a habit.
I would recommend you (other steemians) to do the same, it will pay out 😉💰💰

Thanks for the thoughtful message @tcg! I see that you're a brand new user (aus Deutschland?) so first off, welcome!

Definitely take some time to get to know the platform and figure out a way that you want to use it. Don't let the nuanced accounts with interesting ambitions slip by you.

나에게 있어서 스팀은 하나의 실험과 증명입니다.
"아무도 나를 모르는 무연고지에서 내 그림과 사상은 어떤 평가를 받을 것인가?"
중간에 어떠한 매체도 개입하지 않은 순수한 대중들의 판단에 의한 reward가 나를 인정해준다면 그것은 현실에서의 나의 그림과 사상에 대한 'GO'사인으로 받아들여도 되는 거겠죠.
평가의 형태는 $로 나오지만 거기에는 그 이상의 '용기'와 '격려'라는 의미가 있습니다.
저는 오늘도 많은 분들에게서 그것을 받고 있습니다.

소요님 스팀을 하시는 미션을 공유해주셔서 고맙습니다. 중간 매개체 없이 순수하게 작품을 쇼케이스 하는 공간이라는 구조적 부분을 배우게 되었습니다. 소요님이 겔러리 라고 부르시는 이유도 그런가 추측합니다. Go사인이라는 비유는 저 스스로도 생각해 보게 합니다. 내 콘텐츠와 사고에 고 싸인으로 어느정도까지 받아들일 수 있을까.

I have to say that the biggest factor in joining steemit for me was definitely the money, but honestly close behind that was the idea of a place to share and learn about my creative side that I don't always get to use. I work in a creative industry but over the last few years I have felt that I've not been able to stretch my creative muscles as much as I would have liked. This prompted me to start working on my own creative projects, which is bringing me so much more happiness just into my regular day to day life. I'm new to steemit, but it seems like such a positive place for people to share ideas and get constructive help back. To me the money will always be a great incentive but I'm hoping that eventually, the creative aspect of it takes over as my main objective. So I like this idea of it being a vehicle! I hope that's true. Thanks @hansikhouse

Absolutely! I'll be following your work closely (seems like you're already acquainted with our Steem Park project!) as I'd love to learn more about your production. It's awesome to hear that more and more creative professionals are turning to Steemit. Excited to bounce more ideas off of you in the future.

Thanks for sharing your inspiring writing. As I read your posting every time, there is something that resonates in my mind~

Thanks so much for reading!

확실히 단순한 보상 '이상의 무언가'를 얻어갈 수 있는 곳인 것 같습니다.
개인적으로는 이것저것 여러 분야에 관심이 많은지라, 각기 '다른 분야'의 글들이 검색할 필요 없이 모여서 올라오는점이 참 좋더라구요 ㅎㅎㅎ
요즘은 사라진 '메타 블로그'같은 느낌이랄까요?!
어쩌다 한 두개 덧글이 달리던 기존 블로그와는 다르게 교류가 많은 점이나,
외국인들이 쓴 글들을 읽을 수 있는 점도 좋구요 ㅎㅎㅎ 너무 sns 로만 이용하는 것같아 민망합니다 어허허허허
저도 좀더 나은, 좀더 가치있는 방식으로 스팀을 활용할 수 있는 방법이
어떤게 있을지 더 고민해 봐야겠습니다! ㅎㅎㅎ
좋은 생각할 거리를 제시해 주셔서 감사합니다! ㅎㅎㅎ

기존 친구들과 지인과 공유하기 위해 올리는 sns와는 다르기에 무언가 더 설명하고, 공감대를 늘릴 수 있는 내용을 만들고 또 다양한 의견이 모여있는, 토론하는
정말 메타 블로그 라는 단어에 공감합니다!

I am an artist and I post my webcomic on Steemit because I simply want to test out its potential for webcomic/graphic artists. Most of us do not get paid for sharing artworks with public but Steemit kind of compensate you for that even when you are not famous. But, will it completely replace Tumblr and DeviantArt? Will it attract more artists and viewers who use those websites? So far, I have seen some hope but it has long way to go.

@Carrotcake님, I agree that it has a long way to go (but then again, Tumblr and DeviantArt took years before they were adopted into the mainstream). Most importantly, especially for content-makers, is that you're rewarded for your process in a way that no other platform provides. With your sketches, an audience eagerly awaits your product. With a tutorial, you monetize a part of your profession that never saw any gain. It gives us artists and designers a real opportunity to focus on our process (asking why are we making this?) and expand our practice.

답변 감사합니다!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31