WHAT MAKES YOU, YOU

in #philosophy6 years ago


Image Source

I admit that I’m a person with lots of insecurities and don’t possess a strong confidence. I used to dislike my height, really. Maybe it’s the reason why I’m not comfortable talking about it and the funny thing is when someone asked me how tall I am, I just simply say 5 flat which in reality I rounded it off (I’m only 4’9). I always compare myself to other girls and wondering why I’m not like them. I know that I should not be jealous but sometimes I feel bad and ugly about myself. Am I the only one who thinks like this? But I’m trying my best to correct my wrong thinking and currently working on my self-esteem.

I remembered one time, as I’m scrolling down the feed in one of my social media accounts, there’s a short video that caught my attention. The story goes like this: the man with a brand new car is dreaming to have a luxury car, the man with a second-hand car is dreaming to have a brand new car, the man with a bicycle is dreaming to have a second-hand car, the man who is just walking on his way home is dreaming to have a bicycle, and lastly, the man in the wheelchair is dreaming to be able to walk in the street.

It shows that it’s our human nature to compare ourselves to others and keep on dreaming the things that we don’t have. What we failed to notice are the things we already have that other people are still dreaming about.

Yes, I may not be a rich woman and I only have enough means to survive the daily expenses (though sometimes it's insufficient), but I have my family and friends that make it easier to handle. Yes, I’m not the best writer in the world but I still got the people who appreciate my writings. Yes, I may not be the prettiest face that you can ever find but I will always remain beautiful in my parents’ eyes. Yes, I may not have the height just like what the supermodels have but these short legs of mine can still get me somewhere I want.

Yes, I’m not perfect, but I know God loves me perfectly.

I used to question myself why I was born poor while others are sleeping in a bed full of money, but I realized that I’m blessed with where I am now. We tend to overlook the blessings that we have because we are busy comparing our life status to someone else’s life. The love of the people who believe in me and the inspirational blogs here in Steemit is a great help to accept myself for who I’m really are. My strengths and weaknesses are what makes me, me.

The struggles and hardships taught me how to be strong because in order to stand up, I must first know what falling down is like.

To my fellow Steemians (and even those who are not yet in Steemit), always believe in yourself. If you find yourself a bit different from the others, it doesn’t mean that something is wrong with you. You are an amazing human being who can do anything and every day you must celebrate your individuality. If you doubt yourself whether you’ll win or lose the battles of life, may I remind you that you already did! From the day that you were made, there are millions of sperm cells who tried to claim the ovary and it was you who made it!

Love your flaws because they are FL-AWESOME! You are special just like anybody else and your uniqueness is what makes you, you.


Philosophy in life worth pondering:

  1. One life to live, Real Life is hardcore
  2. DOING THE RIGHT THINGS OR DOING THE THINGS RIGHT
  3. DOES TRUTH NEEDS EVIDENCE
  4. THE FEAR OF LOSING WHAT YOU NEVER HAD
  5. WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO OWN YOUR EMOTIONS? @ecotrain QOTW
  6. TO LOVE AND BE HURT OR NEVER LOVE AT ALL
  7. CAN YOU BE TRULY HAPPY WITHOUT MONEY
  8. CAN PEOPLE REALLY CHANGE
  9. HOW SHOULD YOU LIVE YOUR LIFE
  10. HOW OPEN ARE YOU ABOUT YOUR EMOTIONS TO OTHER PEOPLE? @ecoTrain QOTW
  11. TO BE LIKED OR TO BE RESPECTED
  12. WHAT WOULD YOU WANT TO CHANGE IN THE WORLD
  13. DO YOU APPRECIATE OTHERS TO BE OPEN ABOUT THEIR EMOTIONS? @ecoTrain






Sort:  

Play the cards you are dealt with. some will be dealt a great hand and be discontented and some will be dealt a poor hand and make something good out of it.

You are absolutely right sir @bobbylee, it's up to us how would we play the cards given to us.
And money alone is not the true measurement of someone's wealth.
A good health, loving family, few friends but real, and peace of mind are all better than money.
Though I still have insecurities from time to time, I'll keep on reminding myself that my flaws are part of me that makes me what I am. :)

Hi @escuetapamela! You are upvoted by @mrxplorer.

To build you confidence, don’t worry of what other people would say about you. Focus on the this that would help you. You are a rarity in this world. You are the most amazing creation. What you can do may never be done by others. Look at yourself as a unique individual capable of doing the impossible. Cheer up and show the world you are great.

Do you want more upvotes? You can avail of our UPVOTE SERVICE. We are glad to provide you with our services. Thank you.

Thanks for this!
Hope you have a great day!
And you are right, we are all great and unique! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Pamela Clamille (escuetapamela) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for posting well, I read and liked your writing

I hope you like it. Thanks

Thank you so much for the appreciation. :)

Your are welcome

Great post.
Steemit is a great place for inspiration.
You are a gorgeous beautiful entity and I agree...
never compare yourself to anyone ever again.

You are so kind, thank you!
Hoping you all the best here in Steemit and in actual life as well. :)

Hi Pamela your writing skills are amazing

Thank you so much!
Blessings! :)

Hi, @escuetapamela! How are you doing? Hopefully you are always fine.
What I conclude is...you wanna say that we as human must be thankful to the God. Just be ourselves.
I do agree that everyone is different in look, character, or intelligence because those differences what makes world become so colourful. If all people really understand about it, of course, there will be "peace" in this world, no stress, no bully, no war. "Feeling Peace" in ourselves because we can accept whatever we are, also because we do not refuse whatever others are, it will make us happier in life.

Feeling Peace

Such a nice keyword!
If we our true to ourselves and to other people, there will surely be peace. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83