Running and Witness Consciousness

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

This morning I chose the northern route from the 8th and Market station, straight up 8th, and into the colder, blander, concrete covered edge of Center City. Under the 676 overpass and then left on Callowhill. There is no beauty here, but there are wide sidewalks with few pedestrians. It's smooth sailing all the way to work on Callowhill. The sidewalks are mostly broken, some treacherous. And then patches of evidence that this is not a completely forgotten, or abandoned zone.

IMG_0372.jpg

As I am about to make that left onto Callowhill, I realize I've been repeating a stanza from a chant.

Muktananda maha, jaya sadguru bhagavan.

I'm not sure when it began to play in my mind, but I pick it up and sing along, silently. The sounds and syllables remind me, show me, that what I am seeing with my eyes simply is. As I continue moving I have the following thought:
As a form of meditation, running naturally pulls us into a deeper state. The deep focus on breath, stride, balance, form, combine to separate us from the seer we usually identify with, and draws us closer to the Seer; the consciousness that is detached from what is perceived.

This makes me realize that as pleasant as it is to run in the forest, running on these broken sidewalks is not unpleasant. Hardly! And running in those trees has never brought me this kind of joy. It's as if feeling great joy or sadness, or anything as a result of the physical environment while running, is impossible. While running, joy wells up from inside, and that joy is far superior to any joy influenced by sight.

This is why I run. It’s one thing to think or even meditate, while sitting still in a quiet place. There are some spaces that foster contemplation; a park bench in a pretty grove on a warm spring day, or a meditation room complete with a soft cushion and imagery that beckons one into a blissful state. But the experienced yogi will quickly remind us that the goal is to be able to mediate anywhere, at any time. Meditation for the sake of meditation is blissful and beneficial, but if I can recall my meditative state the middle of a work conflict, well, then I’ve managed to grasp the purpose of it all, and maybe even slip into the truly sublime.

Are these broken sidewalks an ideal place to meditate? Would I dare sit down on the curb and close my eyes? There is no need when I’m running! When I’m finally in shape and the steps feel effortless, even energizing, it’s just a flip of a switch and I’m in my own piece of heaven. Isn’t that the goal? To be happy in the midst of chaos or dismay? To be in tune with reality in whatever its detail and yet still at peace?

My mind wanders to other activities. Paddling my old canoe on a glassy lake at sunset. Walking quietly with my daughter’s tiny hand in mine. Watching my dear wife from a distance and suddenly welling up with a feeling of deep love. Words flowing effortlessly from my mind onto a phone screen. Meditation and contemplation are great, but my deepest joy seems to release while doing. While being engaged in the world in a tangible way that combines both thought and action.

Witness consciousness.

The witness place inside you is simple awareness, the part of you that is aware of everything — just noticing, watching, not judging, just being present, being here now.
Ram Das - Cultivating the Witness

IMG_0375.JPG

I have edited this post to include only my own images taken along the described route.

Sort:  

Great post! When I'm able to hit that calm steady state / runner's euphoria, I remember why I started running in the first place. Too often I'm fighting myself fighting my body and struggling though - hoping a chance of place / locations will help

I feel the same way about rememberingg why I run. That might have been a more interesting title for this one! I find that I get to the place and struggle less when I’m not wearing a watch, which is hard if I’m actually training for a race/time. I’ve been shifting my focus lately more toward general fitness, so I’ve been running by feel a lot more and it’s pretty cool.

I can't tell you how much I love meditation and how it has improved my life!!

Wow, just checked out your blog. You write some really thoughtful and thought inspiring pieces. I will have to spend a little more time there when I get a chance.

It's truly amazing...the way that you have been able to capture how running feels in words...the calm is almost tangible. In fact...I never considered running to be a form of meditation before. Having never understood why people love to run...I thought it must be far from peaceful and the activity must surely be the result of some sort of internal chaos. It makes me happy to broaden my understanding and awareness on the benefits of running and the connection to consciousness!

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #10

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-10

Thank you for the feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed it. And thanks for the curation!

I never thought of running as a form of meditation but when you think about it logically, I guess this is a really good way to meditate what better way to focus on your breathing, how does it leave you feeling, do you feel at peace after the run ??

It depends on different factors. Not every run is meditative, nor would I necessarily want them to be. A hard workout with a specific pace/time goal isn’t conducive to meditation. But just running by feel without a watch, when I’m in good enough shape that I’m comfortable running for a certain amount of time, etc. — then it can be meditative. But it is about focusing on breathing and balance, and then you can also repeat a mantra, or just practice not holding onto thoughts. When it happens (because I’m not sure I can force it) I definitely feel at peace after. Or sometimes I just get so inspired about some idea that I have to stop, pull out my phone and just write for a while. Running makes me want to write quite often, so that’s probably the meditative effect too.

@cstrimel, what a wonderful essay you wrote on seeing beyond your surroundings through meditation. I really love how it all boiled down to being present with the love you have for your wife, daughter and the world we live in. It makes working out... running... so romantic!

Romantic! Not exactly the word we usually connect to running huh? :). Thanks for the kind words. This was a little different kind of post for me. I think I should have come up with a better title, but maybe there’s irony in its boringness. ??

LOL @cstrimel! Actually, it was the title that grabbed my attention in the first place! And, yeah, there was a time when I used to LOVE LOVE running. What happened?! Next time I go, I will remember your post and think about how much I adore my husband. He may end up with a home cooked meal!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Hey @cstrimel I think this is the difference between people that get running and people that don't. I think the people that don't cant get into that state that you are talking about. Great post.
Regards @run.vince.run

I know a lot of runners, and it’s interesting to wonder what they think about while they run. My own wife is one of the most consistent runners I know, but I think she would think this post is kind of weird :). I wonder if the state might be the same, or similar, but we think about it, and maybe even experience it differently. Hmmm.

I am neither a runner or one who meditates so I found this interesting on how it works for you with the running. Years ago I did a little running to help with my air capacity after a severe case of pneumonia, the doctor suggested that is would help clear my lungs of some lingering congestion and it did work for that. My knees suffered though so it ended up having a more negative effect than a positive one, but I could see how this feeling you describe could be achieved for those who are physically capable of the running.

Hi @sultnpapper. If you’re knees were hurting it is simply sign that your posture/technique was off. Most people do not have perfect posture when they begin to run, which is probably why so many new runners get hurt, or give up due to pain and discomfort. There are lots of good resources out there that can help if you did want to give it a go again. I personally found ChiRunning and ChiWalking by Danny Dreyer to be a lifesaver. I’ve also worked with dozens of people and helped them get over nagging injuries with a minimal amount of instruction. Just an fyi if you’re interested. And feel free to ask me any questions about if you are.

Thanks for the offer but I am going to pass on any running. It might very well have been my posture or technique but I'm well past giving it another go.

"When you cross the finish line, your life will change forever."
-Unknown

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cstrimel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53