Climbing trees and falling down

in #philosophy5 years ago

IMG_5962 1.jpg

I fell out of a tree once. I didn't break anything however it hurt, a lot. One moment I was perched on a branch and the next I was free-falling, earthbound, wondering how much I was going feel the landing...The answer was not far away...Thud, whoosh, groan, swear...They were the sounds, in order, that emitted from me. The thud of the landing, the whoosh of air exiting my lungs, the groan of pain and the swear word for having fallen out of the tree. I won't repeat the word, it's uncouth.

I can't recall what I was doing in the tree, probably playing a game of some sort with my brothers. Was I pushed? Yes, quite probably...Would I have deserved it? Of course not...OK, maybe just a little.

There I was, gasping for breath, nursing a sore leg, shoulder and arm and looking at the tree that had so unceremoniously cast me out of its heights to the unmerciful ground like a fallen angel...And what did I do? I climbed back up.

Fast forward many years in life and I'm still falling out of trees, figuratively speaking of course.

I'm fortunate to have learned, or should I say re-learned, that overcoming failure and getting back up, tackling the task once more, is the best way to proceed in life. I say re-learned because as a child I didn't fear failure, that came later through learned behaviours and imprinting from parents, school teachers and other influencers who ensured I stayed will within the established borders of conformity which, of course, held me back. Can you imagine how much fun I would have missed out on had I not climbed back into that tree all those years ago?

Climbing back into trees isn't for everyone. There's many people who will fall out once, hit the earth with a resounding thud, only to look upon the tree with disdain, fear and quite often blame. They walk away mumbling to themselves that they didn't want to go in the stupid tree anyway...But possibly regretting that they never tried to climb up once again. Regret that endures for life, through opportunities lost.

Life can be like a tree and we don't have to look very far to find people who climb, fall and climb again, or climb fall and walk away in defeat. The thing is in life, as with trees, that we don't always fall. Sometimes we stay up, like in the tree. It requires effort of course but worthwhile things often take effort. Successful people are mostly always happy to apply it too...That's how they become successful. Sometimes our effort actually results in the desired result...Staying in the tree for instance.

Back all those years ago I didn't realise how profound climbing back up that tree may be in my life but years later I'm glad I was the sort of person who ignored the naysayers, forged a path of my own making and found the ability to apply effort and persistence to life. I don't climb trees anymore, not literally, however I climb back up when I fall, when life knocks me down, and continue to rise despite those setbacks. Life is too precious a commodity to throw away over a little setback.

Sort:  

It is interesting how many thoughts we can manage to squeeze in during the second or two it takes to fall :)

I had a pretty good fall last night, so this is relevant to me this morning. Another saying I like is "It doesn't hurt if you don't cry when you hit the ground." We control so much of our emotional reactions, and often times feed into how angry or sad other people think we will be, rather than stopping and just taking a deep breath.

A recent fall? Then you'll relate to my post tonight! I hope it wasn't too bad and you at least learned something along the way...Thanks for commenting.

I can’t recall ever falling out of a tree. I did have some slips that gave me some good scrapes.

My closest experience was a motorcycle accident as a teen that left me broken for some time. I did manage to get on another soon after sufficient recovery. I haven’t been on a motorcycle since then. It is not from fear. I simply can’t risk injury while my family is still young. My youngest is 11. I’ll be riding again soon enough.

I can't say falling out of trees is great fun however it must be better than a motorcycle accident...I'm sure of that! Glad you're ok and hope you get to ride again soon, once your family grows up a little.

Congratulations @allover! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Read this this morning over on Partiko, but it somehow escaped my voting attention (I have a really shitty system where I read stuff in the morning on the app and figure I'll vote and comment later, but then I forget). And anyway, this bit stayed with me throughout the day

Climbing back into trees isn't for everyone.

I like the simplicity of it, the way you say it. Because it's strange to see some people quit, especially when you'd fight on...but it's not you who's gotta do the fighting, is it?
Me likey :)

Thank you @honeydue, I liked that one myself actually, probably for very much the same reason's; Its simplicity and scope also. I appreciate your comment and vote, despite your somewhat challenged system. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50