Laying the Foundation - What Were Your Failures?

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

160503-F-RN544-010.JPG

Estimated Reading time: 3-5 mins

In my previous post, I shared with you my answer to an important question - Why Steemit? Here, I'll share with you my answer to another - What were your failures?

Who cares about failures? I only want successful stories!
Calm down. We'll get there.

Who the heck wants to talk and share their failures?
Brave people. Only people courageous enough to admit that they failed, are mature enough to talk about their failures and dig into the lessons in them.

Beliefs


believe-2464225_640.jpg

Have you inspected your beliefs? Have you taken time to think about them? Are they true?

I believe our beliefs move us... they guide us. I'm not psychologist or a belief master, but what I've done is introspection. Yes, you may have guessed it - I'm an introvert. But this is not about me, it's about us and the role we play in the Steemit community. Thus, I share with you one of my pillars - Failure is a prerequisite to success.

Do you agree? If not, feel free to end your reading here.

I embrace this belief. Why? Because I believe that it's true and I believe that it leads us to look into the definition of failure.

What is Failure?


man-person-street-shoes.jpg

I'm tempted to copy a definition from Webster's dictionary. But I trust you can do that. So I'll trim it down to a definition useful in this context - Failure is not achieving the result that you have set to do.

What Were Your Failures?



I'll share with you my recent one - I failed as a network marketer. Yes, you read that right. I joined an MLM or a direct selling company. I gave it my best shot, but I fell short. (I won't go into the parameter that I can always try again because that's a different story :) )

What was my goal and why do I consider it a failure?

I wanted to be a Silver director (earned $1000), but I only became a Director (earned $600).

So what do I wan't to point here? I believe this failure is important because if it wasn't for this, I wouldn't have created this post and I wouldn't have been able to garner the skills necessary to write this post, or the courage enough to talk and chat with people, or even the desire to help other people.

This failure prepared me for something better. It gave me skills. It developed my personality. It gave me friends. That is what failure is about - It prepares us for something better. Something we can't foresee coming.

With this, I wan't you to look back into your failures. What were your failures? Which of them do you believe were stepping stones that led you to be a Steemian? What were the ones you were meant to share? I encourage you to share in the comments below.

Share your story.

What's Next?

Here, we answered another important question to give meaning to our Steemit journey - What were your failures? In my next post, we'll answer the opposite of this - What were your successes?

About the 'Laying the Foundation' series

This is a series of posts where I share with you questions I believe are important for every Steemian to answer. It aims to add value to every Steemian. I also share with you my answers to these questions and challenge you to come up with your own set of questions and share your answers to them.

Come for the rewards. Stay for the community. - Steemit

Photo credits: 1

[2017/08/21 edited] For accuracy, changed title from Gold Director to Silver Director. Gold director earned $1,000 for four weeks, a Silver director earned $1,000 in a week.

Sort:  

As someone who often fails. I can say I feel failure builds character.

At that moment when you're asking yourself why you failed - theres so many things to learn from. Not just about the situation at hand, but also it's an opportunity to find out where you/we are at in our lives and what is it we really want.

Ive had some fails here on Steemit. Ones I will never repeat again, if I didn't fail the first time I wouldnt know what not to do again. :)

Great post mate <3

Thank you @bearone. I like the part where you mentioned to find out what we really want. It just rings a bell or resonates in me. Because as one of my role models (Dr. Daniel Razon) say, when we know what we want, we prepare ourselves to decide on what opportunities to take.

Thank you for dropping by.

Same here... i failed... but try and try to make it right... never give up... We rea just here to support each other!! ♨❤♨

I remember also my Role Model... Our the same role model... hehehe....

Yes @kennyroy, let's support each other. It's nice to know we have the same role model. :)

<3 Yes we are here to support each other. Please know you can both come to me if you have any problems <3

Thank you Mama @bearone. That's comforting to know.

You've outdone yourself.

Failure makes us learn and be better next time, then success will follow soon.

There is no success without failure

I started network marketing when I was 17, friends and family just laughed at me when I said I'm gonna be rich. They said that's impossible, I believe them, it was my first failure.

Dropped out of college because of financial problem. I could have became a working student, I chose to be lazy, another failure.

Got terminated from a corporate job, I could have done better, another failure.

I could go on and on but my point here is that each time we fail, there's an opportunity to learn. And every time we learn, there's an opportunity to try again and give it another fight. It's up to us to on how to apply that learning to become successful.

This is such a nice article.

This is the kind of topic I would love to talk with you for hours and hours over a cup of coffee :-)

I'll be looking forward to your next article, I'll share my success stories by then.

Cheers!

Thank you @rye05. Your presence makes this post warmer. :)

You're welcome my friend :-)

Cheers to our success !

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @eastmael. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @eastmael to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Failure is not fatal the courage to continue is what counts

One of my favorite quotes about failure:

'Don't fear failure. — Not failure, but low aim, is the crime. In great attempts it is glorious even to fail.'

  • Bruce Lee

Keep on Steeming Sir

Thank you @vallesleoruther. Thank you for sharing your quotes about failure. Next post will be our successes. :)

Will be waiting for the future updates. thanks

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eastmael from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice post. Kindly use this tool to format images that were grabbed from the net to avoid plagiarism issues. https://steemitcuration.appspot.com/imageformat

Just paste the image url and click format and copy the markdown code and paste it in your post. It will provide the image source automatically.

Thank you @juvyjabian. I was looking for this. Highly appreciate it.

Youre welcome po.

Congratulations @eastmael! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Do you really see your MLM as a failure as many people would even not make it that far, I was in the MLM game for a while too. I guess really in my opinion nothing is a failure its a learning experience.

Hello @crazybgadventure. Yes, I agree that it's a learning experience. But very few people accept it as what it is and label it as a failure. If I don't label it as a failure, how can I accept and learn from it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50