Worms make great pets!

in #petshots7 years ago (edited)

Worms make excellent pets!

They have many excellent traits:

  • They don't keep you awake at night barking at strange sounds
    • Pet worms might be better than our pet dogs!
  • They don't shed
    • Pet worms might be better than our long haired pet cat!
  • They don't have teeth
    • Pet worms might be easier to raise than puppies!
      • I've not lost one shoe to my pet worms teething phase...
  • They are totally safe for kids!
  • They do not jump on cars or visitors!
  • They don't mess on the carpet
    • Pet worms might be better than most indoor pets we've ever had!

To be fair, pet worms might not be your ideal pet

  • If you are looking for added security for your home
    • IMHO worms might not be the ideal pet for you.
      • I do not think they can be trained to protect you from burglars.

But, other than that, they may just be the perfect pet!!!

Without further adieu, I would like to introduce you to my pet worms...
European Nightcrawlers.jpg
That one there is Bill, there's Fred and Jolene...

  • Most of them don't have names,
    since you shouldn't name livestock you might eat someday!

Abracadabra Worms are magicians

Kinda like WizarDave, but different

They turn plain old dirt into super dirt!

If you like #gardening like I do, you're gonna love this one...
Uncle Jim.png
The food they consume gets digested,
and Abracadabra! transformed into fertilizer

  • some of the most nutritious material that lawns and gardens could grow in:
  • worm castings!
    • These worm castings are
      • 7 times richer in phosphates,
      • 5 times richer in nitrogen,
      • and 11 times richer in potash than the average lawn soil.

You can even "free range" them...

  • Add them directly to your garden!
    • Its a very strong worm and specializes in aeration and fertilization of the soil.
      • The tunnels it burrows allows water and other nutrients to reach root systems of your lawn and gardens.
        Proper aeration of soil guarantees excellent root growth and strength.

Sometimes they turn themselves into fish! 🐟

Sometimes I take my pet worms #fishing.
Catfish Poles.jpg

  • Sometimes, I put them on a hook under a bobber
    • Abracadbra! A few of my pet worms have magically changed themselves into bluegill and other panfish
  • Sometimes, I put them on a hook with a sinker and bottom fish
    • Abracadbra! A few of my pet worms have magically changed themselves into catfish

Catfish.jpg

Let me clarify something right now!!!
Up above there, where I said

you shouldn't name livestock you might eat someday!

  • and you went "Ewwww!"
    • did you think I was gonna eat a worm?
      • What kind of freak do you think I am? 🙃
    • Well, I do eat worms,
  • but not before they magically change themselves into fish!!! 🐟

Sidenote for homesteaders...
If you have a pond, you should consider farming catfish!

  • They are the most efficient "livestock" you can raise.
    • Off the top of my head, I think you get nearly 1# of weight gain per pound of feed fed...

Sometimes they turn themselves into MORE WORMS!!! 😎

😎 How cool is that?!?!?!?

  • In fact, it takes about 90 days for worms to double how many there are.
    • So... 4 times in 180 days
      • 8 times in 270 days...
      • 16 times in 350 days...

I crunched the numbers before I bought my pet worms.

  • Buying from local bait shops, it costs $3.99 USD for 18 worms
    • My total setup cost me <$50 for 250 European nightcrawlers
      • By the time we go fishing about a dozen times, I will have gotten my money back.
    • That's 216 worms.
  • I should never run out of worms

What do you feed pet worms?

They don't eat much and they're not picky eaters

  • kitchens scraps, coffee grinds, chicken layer mash
    • You can buy some high dollar worm food at department stores, but why?
      • A 50# bag of chicken feed is about $12 at our local Amish store.
        I doubt they will ever eat 50 pounds...

Where do you keep pet worms?

The "barn"

  • 1 $6 tote from Dollar General
    • Drilled a few 1/8" holes in the bottom for drainage.
      • NOTE: if your drill bit is not too sharp, do NOT press down very hard on a cheap tote. They will crack.
      • NOTE: I might be a redneck, cuz I fixed the crack with duct tape!!! :P
    • Drilled quite a few 1/4" holes around the top on the sides for ventilation.

Location
Anyplace that stays cool year round…

  • Before we moved, that was the basement
    • After we moved back to the farm, that was the cellar.

Where do you buy pet worms?

I got mine at Uncle Jims Worm Farm button.png

Go here to Shop for worms and worm stuff.

I got Super Red Worms aka European nightcrawlers.

  • These take the heat better than Canadian nightcrawlers.
    • So, should last longer when I go catfishing in the dog days of summer…
      • It grows to the length of 4-5 inches long and is very active.
  • It makes a great composting worms but its forte is being added to lawn and garden soils.
  • This worm populates quick and is also excellent for fishing.

Uncle Jim also sells

  • mealworms.
    • Great for trout, panfish, ice fishing…
      • And many other kinds of worms and worm supplies...

Go here to Shop for worms and worm stuff.

Notes to wrap this post up...

  • I am an Uncle Jim affiliate, so if you click the link and purchase something, I do make a few pennies...
  • Thanks to @gabeboy for having a Weekly Petshots Contest
    • That reminded me I should make a post about my favorite pets
  • Image sources:
    • The photos are mine.
    • The clip art images belong to Uncle Jim.
Sort:  

Why do I feel like I've just read the script for a weekend infomercial? :)

Hilarious, fact-packed and I've never known as much about worms as I do now.

I am a little envious of your magic worms because all my magic worms ever did was turn into sticks and trash and occasionally someone else's abandoned line.

hmm I might need to turn Uncle Jim on to the idea of selling "magic" worms.

  • with the proper marketing he might get 10x his normal asking price! haha

Hmm thinking out loud here...
Maybe being able to turn themselves into sticks is more proof they are magicians.

  • When you say sticks... do you think they might work as biodegradable toothpicks???
    • 😂 Just thinking out loud...

I'm sure with the branches my worms turned into you could probably produce hundreds of toothpicks. Maybe more! :)

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOhhh!

  • I was picturing dried out worm "sticks"
    • You're talking about how sometimes it's a good idea to cast it in a big ol' tree, so we can practice our patience...
      • gotcha! haha

So, that's what I was doing. Practicing my patience. Maybe I need to go try some "fishing" again, then.

Actually, branches in the trees or branches blown into the stream. I'm equal opportunity that way.

This literally made me chuckle. I loved the reasons on how they are the best pet, then when you talk about the drawbacks like home protection, I couldn't help but laugh. You honestly made me want to consider owning my own worms, too, and I am definitely resteeming this post because it is very well written, humorous, and chalk full of facts. Good one!!!

Excellent post! I have been thinking about doing this. A friend of mine is already do it but I personally think his setup was too small and he agrees. Either way thanks for the reminder that I need to try this!

thanks... you're welcome...

  • lucky you with the advantage of being friends with someone who has done it!

Now will I do it? Only time will tell!

This just goes to show, you should never judge a blog by its wormy cover photo.

I was quite concerned until you actually wormholed the home security issue.

Now I can wriggle in peace knowing that you are an honest salesman of the wormiest kind.

lol very punny! 😂

Worms are great and very useful.
thanks for posting.

thanks... you're welcome...

Tisko Bot
Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

lol I farm them as well, originally just for fishing but i is actually fun. lol I just posted a macro shot of one of my worms. Great post!!

Cool what kind do you raise?

  • I really like these Super Red (European nightcrawlers) since they really do take the heat better...

I gave up on worms, I live in the south where its nice and toasty during the summer, they always end up turning into stink bait in my truck as my Grandson always has a way of leaving them where I cant find them. Guess on a good note, no one has ever tried to steal my truck or for that mater ask for a ride.

LOL - Well, there ya go!
Would you Leyescan.gifK at that?

  • worms CAN be trained for security purposes!!!
    • Who'dathunkit?

Haha i have worms!! -in the garden i mean :) Few years ago i started gardening and every time the rain started, they migrate around.So with the help of my nephews we bring them to the compost pile and after the work we all throw a party and sing in the rain :) Worms like good vibe-i know that for sure-because they are still here! Greetings from Croatia,love your humor,see you around

Bok @mika-ella pridruži nam se na novo podignutim Discord serverima za Hrvatske i Balkanske Steemit korisnike detaljnije o ideji možeš pročitati u linkovima ispod

O Hrvatskom Serveru:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@marijalaca/official-croatian-discord-server-is-up-and-croatian-steemit-association-is-up-hrvatska-udruga-steemit-korisnika-husk

O Balkanskom Serveru:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ivan.atman/official-balkan-discord-server-is-up-and-balkan-steemit-alliance-is-up-steemit-balkan-savez-sbs

  • kada dođeš tamo neka ti je isto ime @mika-ella kao i ovdje radi lakšeg raspoznavanja
  • Ostavi link svog Steemit profila u kanal #hrv-steemit-accounti i #balkan-steemit-accounti
  • Javi se u kanal svoje županije/države (npr. grad-zagreb, hrvatska, šibensko-kninska, srbija itd...) s pozdravom da se zna gdje živiš (u svrhu županijskih/državnih okupljanja i rasprava)

(ispričavam se ukoliko si već tamo)

thanks @mika-ella from Croatia

  • These are >>> European <<< nightcrawlers,
    • your worms ... my worms ... they might be cousins 😊

Lol. Them bloody worms are ungrateful things. You feed them, house them and even take them swimming, and quick as a flash, they transform into a fish, which of course, you have no recourse, but to eat. All that time and effort invested into the ungrateful bloody worm.

They are! They really, really are ungrateful!
emoji mad.jpg
Emoji Source

  • but at least they've never chewed up my shoes... 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54478.01
ETH 2290.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35