Get shut in the cold!

in #permaculture6 years ago (edited)

This is my last article on creating your own cold storage bin, I've really enjoyed making this series. For this article I'm going to go over creating custom airtight doors and some general theory so you can easily adapt these plans and build your own cold storage bin, or cold storage room. The theory works the same in both cases but the work and expense increase dramatically as you scale up.

IMG_4334.jpg

coldstorage.jpeg

I used an image of my "completed" root cellar followed by a small diagram to contrast the whole vs the individual components that make the bin functional and mold free. Creating that custom air sealing lock can be a challenge so I thought I would do my best to explain it here. Once my storage bin was in place and attached to the facing wall I had a unique opening to match.

IMG_4320.jpg

I had kept the pieces I had cut from the plywood so I laid them in place and traced a template from them. You will need to then use your template to begin fashioning a door. For my first layer I used a worn out foam exercise tile, its easy to just marker on an outline and then use an exacto knife or scissors to cut out your rough outline. Once you have your new template take it back to the opening and adjust it fit perfectly. I used some leftover R20 rigid foam insulation to add my second layer to the door and tuck taped the heck out of it.
IMG_4332.jpg

IMG_4330.jpg

IMG_4328.jpg

In the end of was really happy how I turned some leftovers into a great insulated door that fits perfectly. there is a small handhold you can see at the bottom middle of the door where you slide your fingers in to flip the door out. At this point your cold storage is essentially done, but if you would like to have it keep cool in the summer an exterior door will need to be added. In my case a small bare sloped shed will be made and an old screen door painted black then white will make a hatch. By having trapped air between the cellar and the warm summer heat you can maintain that low 9Celsius all year round.
I'm hoping lots of people see this article, looking forward to taking questions and having a discussion about building below ground cold storage units!

Links to my previous articles can be found here:

https://steemit.com/permaculture/@mobios/secure-your-food-vault

https://steemit.com/permaculture/@mobios/save-your-harvest-like-your-cryptos

https://steemit.com/gardening/@mobios/a-look-at-my-seed-garlic

https://steemit.com/gardening/@mobios/update-on-my-latest-fall-plantings

https://steemit.com/gardening/@mobios/harvest-time

https://steemit.com/food/@mobios/growing-sprouts-at-home

Sort:  

This is really good! What an awesome project. Thanks for sharing the process. I shall be following your blog from now on as a small homesteader with a lot to learn your blog will be very useful . I love all aspects of permaculture - the Australian permaculturist Geoff Lawton has been a great inspiration to me over the years. Have a great day.

Thanks, although much of his practices only work for Sepp Holzer, he still gets me inspired.

Great little DIY project!
It would be great out at our cabin lot for summer. Thanks for sharing!

Hey @mobios, thank you for sharing your post with me! Really admirable craftsmanship. As a relatively new homesteader I am still finding my footing so seeing things like your cold storage bin is very inspiring to me. What do you plan on using it for?

I’ve kept potatoes over winter, with excellent results it’s the best place to keep citrus like lemon, they fare much better then the fridge. In fall it’s that second fridge when you have more food then you have time for, really helps out. Summertime it’s mostly for cold drinks!

Good its an amazing project i like it and appreciate you

Yah this is great thanks for sharing!

Hey! Thanks for commenting on my new post and sharing your link! I'll have to go read the other posts on this because this is a specific project we plan to do here. I really enjoyed that you've included the diagram. Would you share what you used to draw it? I've had quite a bit of AutoCAD in the past but can't afford it, so am trying to learn how the program libracad works, then translate into SketchUp. Drawing diagrams like yours would be very helpful for the projects we're wanting to do here. Anyway, thanks again for sharing your link. Resteeming to save.

That's awesome, thanks for the comment. I love using Gimp its free and all platforms, just as good as photoshop and similar to use, even hot key wise.

Awesome. Thank you for the info and tutorials!

These is very good project

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online - Weekly Review Curation - Thank you for sharing your knowledge and personal experience with building the cold storage bin.

Thanks for the resteem!

이거 좋네요.. ^^

WOnderful job my friend. Upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30