Update on my latest Fall plantings

in #gardening8 years ago


We are having a wonderful fall here in the Maritimes, and my fall plantings are looking great. It's time to thin the beets and spinach now, and I need to harvest and freeze some of this cilantro! Some light weeding is needed as well but there has been very little maintenance to this bed since I have planted it besides watering. I've even begun to think about eating some of the new Swiss chard, it likes to be cut back to regrow from the base.

We have so much produce coming in now it's hard to keep up. Last night Erica and I blanched and froze 20 pounds of purple and yellow beans. This afternoon, I just finished the beginning of a 16 cups of cucumber pickle recipe, it has to steep for 3 hours.

These are the spinach I planted in a previous post they are now almost 3 weeks old, and now need to be thinned in order to grow into large healthy plants. I thin them about six inches apart, some let them grow closely to cut for the greens, but I prefer the large plants myself.

The beans have now set their flowers and we are past the full moon so we should get one more nice crop of beans before "the end". Please upvote this post and follow me for more in the future!

Sort:  

This Is a Reason
Why I Love Steemit

Steemians Like You
@mobios

Steem on!

Any idea how to get my posts seen by more people? Not having much luck this week, getting a little frustrated.

I wish I knew Myself
Use Tags
But That Don't Always help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53