My life smells

in #perfume6 years ago

I was doing a bit of a spring clean and realised I have a problem. Or maybe just an obsession. I'm addicted to perfume.

room freshener.JPG

Isn't it weird how smells can affect us? A well-designed smell can make us feel romantic, happy, sexy, special or just plain nasty. Here's a little tour of my perfume.

IM PERFUME.JPG

What a hideous bottle! Left to my own devices, I'd never even pick this up to have a trial sniff. It's now amongst my favourite perfumes of all time though! This was a present from one of my dearest friends. I can't buy this in the UK. Anyway, the perfume is bright, unique and really feels like the smell of love (not the rampant sweaty kind) and happiness. When I wear this perfume, I feel special and interesting.

LIDL MISC SHITE.JPG

Relegated to room fresheners

One was bought in Lidl after reading reviews that it won all kinds of smell test surveys. Meh! It's not disgusting but it's better as a room freshener. Generally, I don't wear these but just squirt the room with them.

nelly tongue perfume blog.JPG

Dog farts

If you've got flatulent dogs, live in a cold climate and cannot keep the windows open all day, it's wise to keep a lesser-loved perfume on standby.

The following can not even be used as a room freshener...

HORRIBLE PERFUME VIV WESTWOOD.JPG

Warning

The Viv Westwood perfume is great for people who like their own space on public transport. It's practically guaranteed to give you a personal safe zone of about 3 metres if the windows are open; if the windows are closed, you'll get the whole bus to yourself. It's powerful, zingy, sickly floral and actually causes the eyes to water immediately after application. The only known use is for spraying children that are prone to wandering off. You will find them by smell, no problem.

I hate this perfume and want to kick its face in. It was a random online purchase. The bottle and review tricked me into thinking I'd like it. I don't even use it to battle dog farts although I'm sure it would win. I'd carry it as pepper spray if I wasn't afraid it would break in my bag.

HUGO BOSS PERFUME.JPG

Another online purchase. Will I ever learn? Probably not. Ok, these ones are quite nice. The Hugo Boss is very pleasant and good for daytime shopping.

perfume wooden women.JPG

The Michael Kors one is a bit pongy at first but it mellows out after half an hour or so to something quite decent, if a little too musky.

Sex

How about some sexy and decadent pungency? Aromatics is not for a first date (unless, maybe, you're a Tinder kinda girl)! It's sex in a bottle, basically. If things were going well romantically, this bad boy would be empty by now.

I used to buy the other Aromatics (Elixir). It's really powerful. A little goes a long way. It's a clean, fresh smell. Unfortunately, I had to give up on it because a woman with eye-wateringly-bad body odour wore it during a banquet. I had to eat an entire meal within smell range. The mixture of BO and Aromatics brought me close to vomiting and I could never wear this fragrance again. Probably an association response. Come on, smelly bastards; take a shower before you ruin my perfumes!

perfume door camel.JPG

By the front door emergency stash

Sometimes, in a rush, it's easy to forget to top up your perfume. So, I keep a little stash on the shelf by my front door. These are for those unprepared, dashing out moments. Going out without perfume would be almost the same as going out naked (for me).

Loris is a copycat perfume I bought in Turkey last October. I never take my good perfumes on holiday and always pick up a cheap one to get me through the trip. To my great sadness, I forgot which perfume it's supposed to be ripping off. I would definitely buy the real thing if I could remember. Oh, it's lovely. One of my favourites. It's subtle, feminine, decent (life goalzzz).

KARMA CAT.JPG

I've always liked Karma by Lush and it's cheap. It's got a really confident and happy smell. I spray it in bath water because it's too strong to wear straight but I love it watered down this way.

essential oils.JPG

Worries about chemicals

Yes, most perfumes are laced with chemicals so I make my own home brew. I use a base mix oil and add drops of essential oils. These are good for moisturising after bathing. The essential oils I always use are: mysore sandalwood, ylang ylang and jasmine but I often add others too.

lacoste perfume.JPG

Favourite

Lacoste Pour Femme. I've bought this regularly for over ten years now. It's my favourite daytime perfume. It's clean, mellow and professional. I always feel feminine when I wear this.

So, there you go. My life smells.

Thanks for reading.

SIGNATURE.png

akdivider celtic.png

Other eclectic articles

Crochet frog tutorial

Crochet for beginners Part 2

Crochet for beginners. Part 1

Chia seeds are EVIL

MEN: how to get a bigger, more effective penis

akdivider celtic.png

SMARTSTEEM

Crypto Empire

Unless otherwise stated, all pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online, labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

SIGNATURE.png

Sort:  

This was actually a lot better than I was anticipating from the title, well done!

Thank you #thealliance. I'm glad it didn't disappoint :D

SIGNATURE.png

There is a book and a movie titled Perfume: The story of a murderer that focused on the sphere of scent. The movie was quite interesting in that scent was approached from a communication perspective. One of the characters in the book is described as lacking the sense of smell and is presented as being extremely fair.

I liked Gucci's Envy. Dior's J'adore was also good, but is now a mass produced and unexceptional. Joe Maloney made a fortune selling essentially perfume ingredients, either because he is too lazy or uncreative; yet, the masses buy his garbage.

I remember this film from a while back. Loved it. Very dark and unusual.

Yes, I love Envy too. Haven't smelled J'adore because I didn't like being bombarded with persistent advertisements about it.

Joe: he's onto a winner. There are so many DIY kits available for uncreative people. I've seen kits for crocheting your own scarf. You get a ball of wool, a basic pattern and the privilege of paying 3-5 times what it's actually worth. Genius :D

SIGNATURE.png

i saw the movie!!! re Parfum

you are hilarious!!! love this and especially the wooden voo doo dolls (well not really voo doo) and of course MY HM Nelly was featured ... YAY!!!

did you really say puppy flatulence ?? buahahahah

love,
eagle

Thanks Eagle. They're not voodoo. They're actually nutcrackers. The legs splay wide open. I bought them coz they made me laugh XD

Yeah, flatulence :D

xx

SIGNATURE.png

i know i just said that ... it felt right at the time ahahahahha
nutcrackers that is much more fitting for a SAV hahaahahahhaahahahahahhahahaahah
legs open and flat ahahahahaha

ahahah truth! XD

xx

SIGNATURE.png

I'm off for the night now. See ya soon Eagle <3

SIGNATURE.png

see yazzz sooon i hoppeeee ... you fell flattt .... wahhhhhh
where's my annjjjjj
annother .02 and no payout on this one too ... :pppppp

Oh dear. The brutality of fiscal relations on Steemit eh. I am sorry. My VP has been getting low lately. Been sharing the love.

Today, I'm not upvoting anything coz my vp is too low.

Notice for future reference

To help you adjust to upcoming trends: my upvotes are gonna be worth even less when I've powered right down.

Peace, love and virtual happiness to you, Eagle, (but no actual $$$)

no worries lol just giving you a heads up. take it back so you at least can keep it. :)

There, that should pay out :)

I don't think it works like that. The VP has already been spent. Nothing gets returned, nothing goes to anyone.

SIGNATURE.png

So many different smells! Can't keep track, they all probably smell bad to me, me not having a good sense and all. It's supposed to make the guys go nuts?

I'm all of the natural ones with essential oils though. I like essential oils. I heard ylang ylang is supposed to be sexy is that right? Fun stuff.

I'm the opposite: got a really powerful sense of smell. My kids say I've got the sniffing power of a hound.

Dunno if it makes the guys go nuts. I don't wear perfume for them. It's for me. It affects the mood :D

Ylang ylang... not sure about sexy. It's just a pleasant, uplifting aroma (in small doses).

SIGNATURE.png

great read! I love perfumes as well and have some that are delegated as room sprays because of the whole (personal space strength) they have.....this was fun to check out! :)

Thanks Battleaxe. Great to find another perfume lover here :D

SIGNATURE.png

I think its more of an obsession than a problem....

I wouldnt know though, Im a typical male with 1 deodarant that has lasted me a good 6 months. I must be pretty plain, smelling the same all the time.

With perfume though atleast your life smells good!

Lol.

6 months! 1 deodorant! Lolz. My 11-year-old boy goes through a tonne of deodorant. He loves his aftershave too, even though he's not yet at the shaving stage XD

SIGNATURE.png

LOL I sometimes think I am still an 11 year old boy....

What a Smelly post! :) I'm amazed that you got tons and tons of perfumes scattered at home but I totally stopped by those wooden ladies who put their hands over their head. They are quite eye catching. ^^

I'm not much of a fragrant smell but just in time when me and my sister where talking about fragrances the other. I prefer vanilla sweet-like smell. ^^

xxx

Lol. Thanks Dawn. Yes, vanilla is a sweet smell. I've got the essential oil for when I'm feeling sweet ;D

Thanks, my wooden nutcracker ladies are fun :D

xx

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Thanks for sharing, I can almost smell all that perfume from here!
=)

/FF

Thanks Friendly. I'm sorry I'm late responding... my inbox got a bit cluttered lately :S

SIGNATURE.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34