It must be me again…

in #pc-explore6 years ago

an_firefighter_green_border.jpg

… but I almost missed this new contest-collaboration-intiative from @erikah @photocircle & @ru-trail (did I forgot someone? 😉) If I understood it well, there’s still some time to participate (until august 3) and all the rules can be found here... Just love to see this kind of new collaborations, so of course I participate 😊

What you see here are 2 of the 4 doors in an Art Nouveau building not far from where I live. Art Nouveau, also called Jugendstil, is an art-movement that was very popular in the years 1890 to 1914. Just check it out on Google and you will find some fantastic examples of Art Nouveau in drawings, glasswork and architecture.
The 2 doors you see are of course newer than the original building. Newer and… fast opening. And that last one is very important as this building is still in use as a… fire station. I can imagine the original doors wouldn’t comply with today’s needs anymore 😊
The statue in the middle is a tribute to all deceased firefighters during the war and in concentration camps.

I think I know this building since I’m a kid (and that’s already a long time ago 😊) and I took many pictures of it… but the results were never what I expected. In 2017 I bought my first wide-angle lens for my D750 and this building was one of the first things I shot while testing out my new toy. Why a wide-angle? Well, you don’t really see it on the picture, but the doors are huge… (they are for a fire truck, not for a car) and I really needed such a lens to finally shoot the composition I had in mind.

For the purists out there… nope, of course the picture didn’t came out of the camera like this. As the subject is a bit “dark” (the statue in the middle and what it represents) I edited it in Lightroom and NIK software to give it that same “Dark” feeling. I mostly worked with green and blue layers, desaturation for the most colours except the reds and some vigneting to put the attention of the viewer on the statue…

I hope you like the end-result as much as I had fun shooting and editing it!

Curious to see my other work?

Happy to hear that 😉
The best thing you can do is checking out my profile here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) and follow me. I’m always happy to connect with other photographers! (And of course I’m always very happy with a little upvote… although a large one is allowed too 😊)
But of course you can also take a look at my website or check out the social media:

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Nice photo! It looks like the guy is saying "Move on, folks. Nothing to see here!"

Well... I stood there for a long time and I can tell you... he's silent as the grave :-)

Buen trabajo amiga @pixelfan le deseo que tenga un hermoso día .

logoAsset 4@2x.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog.



Photomag is a new proposition created by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Thank you very much! Really appreciated!

That's a nice one, thanks for participating!

Thanks! And thanks for organising!

My pleasure!

Congratulations @pixelfan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congrats on the contest win!🏆

Beautiful Art Nouveau! Grate photo, one can tell you love this gates :) Congratulations on the winning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98