Runaway Rhymes: Brave the Waves of Life - original poem - and a part of the #payitforward initiative

in #payitforward8 years ago (edited)

@hopehuggs has a "Runaway Rhymes Competition" with the theme:

Brave the Wave

The deadline is Sunday, January 15 at midnight - I'm not certain which time zone.

  • EDITED to include "Runaway Rhymes" in the title


image source

My goal is to participate in more Steemit challenges hosts by our wonderful members.
It's getting toward the witching hour on this competition but it's not too late to submit your entry!

Here is mine. I hope you enjoy it.


Brave the Waves of Life

Brave the daily waves of life
Of joyous days, sweet love, and strife

For nothing speaks of better tales
Than weathered storms and happy gales


image source

Brave the waves of hurt and truth
From growing pains defined by youth

Allows those lessons in your wake
To be a life raft for good's sake.


image source

Brave those waves you salty souls!
Make your mark and set those goals!

The dreams you'd hoped for may crash down
But take the chance your risk is sound.


image source

You'll never know until you try
So brave each wave that rolls on by.

~ Meredith Loughran, January 14, 2017



image source

Come frolic with me until SUNDAY!

I've extended this because my work schedule prevented me from posting

This is a 50/50 post.

All liquid STEEM and SBD from today, Monday, January 9, to Sunday, January 15 will be awarded to @awesomenyl to help her raise funds and get supplies for the baby.

Read about the launch of this initiative

Please note: I cannot guarantee earnings and my consistency has been a little spotty lately, but your support is greatly appreciated.


image source
Another Steemian in need of your help.

@verbal-d


Read about his special request

Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

#payitforward

Sort:  

Excellent poem, @papa-pepper just entered too!

Also, great effort helping @verbal-d!

I think @verbal-d entered this too. Oh boy, the competition is getting TOUGH. LOL

okay, mere - you've been on @creatr's site again - you have surfer salt spay all over you lol

LOL
How've you been John? I'm catching up on a bunch of reading right now. I watched a whole season of American Horror Story last night/this morning. Total Netflix coma before I "get back to work" :)

doing great! Glad you got at least a few weeks of paid salary - and a break is a good thing :)

I live in UK, but will have last check of runaway rhymes entrants Monday afternoon GMT when I will be choosing winner and sending STEEM to all entrants. I will be sure to be more precise for the next competition. Midnight anywhere and everywhere.

Great poem BTW :)

It's definitely a fun competition. I hope you get a whole bunch of entries. I'll be checking out the tag to see who else entered. :) Thank you for making Steemit fun :)

Love the salty souls!!

LOL me too! I'd rather be a salty soul than a salt lick. :D

I can quite happily agree there!!!

That is very uplifting!

Beautiful poem dear friend @ mercij99 congratulations, thank you for sharing with us

There is still time to enter @jlufer! Are you ready to embrace your inner poet?

Since childhood I tried to rhyme some words, nor with the incentive of the first love I have achieved, I do not think I can find now, thank you very much for the invitation dear friend @ merej99

Hellooo! Just dropped 'round to say that, then I read your poem, Nice progression! Loved it!

hi merej thank you so much. I sent you a msg on steemit.chat

@merej99 sorry I've been missing out on your posts eh?
sighs it's hard to be everywhere but I'm glad you are still posting
despite your busy sched at work

You'll never know until you try

amen to that sistah! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70