We choose to homeschool (and it hasn't messed up our kids)!

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

people-2593394_640.jpg

As a homeschooling family you hear a lot of funny (and not so funny) questions:

  1. Are you really qualified to homeschool your children?
  2. So when do your children interact with other kids their own age?
  3. Aren't you afraid that you children will fall behind with their school work?
  4. How will your children receive a high school diploma? Will you kids be able to go to college?

My wife and I are the most qualified educators in our children's lives.


I know that sounds incredibly boastful, but hear me out!

Who spent five years investing in each of my children until they reach "school" age? My wife and I did. We taught the basics: counting, colors, shapes, and letters. We taught the not-so basics: manners, being respectful, honoring people in authority, how to communicate feelings and emotions, controlling tempers, and the list goes on.

Who will teach my children lessons about loving their neighbor, learning how to balance a budget, and how to drive? My wife and I will. Our responsibility to educate (train, model, and equip) our children did not stop the day they started kindergarten. It will not stop they day they graduate from high school or college. To be honest, we will always have something to teach our kids, so why does material traditionally assigned a classroom have to be different.

When I give up my right and responsibility to educate my children, I have given up my right and responsibility to make a difference in their lives.

I am qualified to educate my children because of the lessons that I have learned. I must educate my children because of the lessons they need to learn.

I don't want my children to act like other kids their own age.


I want my children to be children. I don't want to put unnecessary burdens on them to grow up faster than they need to.

But let's be honest, I don't want a room full of pubescent 5th graders teaching my 10 year old how to be a human being. I don't want a classroom full of 3 years to teach my 3 year old how to be respectful and honest.

I want my 10 year to know how to interact with 10 years, but also how to interact with senior citizens, business men/women, religious leaders, politicians, college students, high schoolers, middle schoolers, elementary aged children, toddlers, and infants.

I don't want my child to be biased towards others based on their age, gender, religious beliefs, or socio-economic status.

I will (and do) give my homeschooled children opportunities to connect and invest in people their own age, but I want more than that. I want them to live age appropriate lives, but also be able to navigate life with people older and younger than themselves.

If and when my children fall behind in school, my wife and I can give them specialized, one-on-one attention.

  • How does customized lessons based on learning needs sound?
  • What about one-on-one tutoring and instruction?
  • Do field trips and hands-one lessons sound appealing?

As a homeschooling family, we can give our children more one-on-one attention that they could receive in a public classroom, filled with 20 plus students.

This applies to repeating lessons in order to master subjects or accelerating studies when our children excel. Our pace of teaching and learning is not based on the needs of a group, but rather on the needs of a child.

Our children will be able to attend university level studies (if they choose to).

It is funny how much we rely on a piece of paper to determine how suited we are for moving forward in life. We push students towards a status quo graduation, often unprepared for the next stage of life, because they have not mastered the necessary skills.

If my children excel academically in high school, then they will be most likely be able to have successful college careers. But what happens if their skill set is not an academic skill set?

As a homeschooling family, we have the responsibility to help our children build a strong foundation of traditional education. But we can find opportunities to customize their education based on our children's' strengths, weaknesses, needs, and dreams.

Not for everyone!

Home schooling is not for every family, but it is right for our family. We do not judge people based on the education they have been given or the education style that they choose for their family.

But I want to give all parents a reminder that you are educators, whether or not you feel qualified. Do not surrender that right and responsibility! Take time each time and invest in your child's eduction.

dream it steem it -red.jpg

Image Source:
https://pixabay.com/en/people-woman-girl-reading-book-2593394/

Sort:  

I knew some families that this has worked for. I agree that it depends on the parents. I agree with all of your points, one bit of advice that I would add is not to be scared to call in help. If there is a math or science lesson that you as a teacher aren't strong at, bring in a tutor or friend or relative who can help.
I also know of some people who only homeschooled public school and sent their kids to high school as they wanted them to learn how to sit and learn in a class setting to help prepare them for college.

I don't think that I could do it. My kid knows how to manipulate me too well.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents
Check out my Latest Blog

@dadview, great point about calling in reinforcement when you need help. I completely agree!

Thanks for your input. I appreciate it.

Excellent! This is very similar to how @ch4nel and I feel about teaching our own children.

I'm glad you wrote this. I think there are a lot of people here on Steemit who are curious about homeschooling because they are are striving for freedom and want it for their own families, too.

@matthewdavid, thanks for the comment.

We appreciate the freedom of how to teach to meet our children's needs and the flexibility of schedule so that we can enjoy life as a family.

Unfortunately, homeschooling is still a bit taboo. But I think that more people would move in that direction if they really took the time to consider how great of an option it is.

My ex-wife and I plan to start homeschooling our 4 year old this year. Who else is going to care about HIS education more than his parents?

I've known for a while that I wanted to homeschool. Public schools failed me with their desire to push test scores more than actual learning.

Got any advice for those of us who are about to start the homeschool journey?

@steemparents, I firmly believe that parents should care most about the education of their children. We have been and need to be the most influential educators in our kids lives.

Here are a few thoughts:

  1. You need to know your WHY. You will reach a point when you want to give up on homeschooling because it is hard, so you need to know the vision of why you are homeschooling.
  2. You need to know your role. Does both mom and dad teach? Does just one or the other? Who is the principle? I substitute teach on occasion, but my wife teaches most of the curriculum. I come in to help when there are problems picking up a new topic or if there is bad behavior towards the teacher (aka mom). I provide a new set of eyes to address the issues.
  3. You need to learn what curriculum is best for your child. We have made changes to curriculum when it does not suit our family well or does not suit a particular child well. It takes time to learn what is best.
  4. Find way to incorporate what you already do in life into your homeschool schedule. Example: Playing outside for 30 minutes becomes PE credit. Learning how to cook or and fold clothes is home economics. Games like monopoly and life teach economics. Those activities have always been learning opportunities, and they might be able to be counted as non-core lessons.
  5. Undertand your states rules and guidelines for homeschooling. Some states are strict and others are more relaxed. Depending on your state, you may have tests, reports, or other administrative items that you need to complete in order to comply with your state government's rules.

Hopes this helps. I might write up another article soon that fleshes out what I just shared with you.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

It really does depend so much on you and your children. I'm glad to live in a time when we have so many options!

I've upvoted & followed you. I'd like to invite you "over" to do the same ☺️.

Thank you for this article I know its too late for my vote to mean anything since its past seven days but I wanted to let you know how much you encouraged me to continue homeschooling. Ive been at it for years but I started thinking about pulic school so they can make more friends but honestly after reading your post it reminded and reafirmed to me why I want to remain one of their most importand influences in their lives not their peers. Thank you keep writing and I will keep reading and following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54