Dinner of DreadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemparents7 years ago (edited)

Recently my five year old son Luke decided to make dinner time a challenge for his mother and I. No matter what we make or how much we put on his plate, he just doesn't want to eat.
image
At breakfast this kid will eat multiple servings. Today he had four waffles. He will eat pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, eggs, muffins and toast. It doesn't matter the day, he loves breakfast. For some reason dinner time just doesn't bring the same enthusiasm. The first thing out of his mouth is usually "Ohhhhh, I don't like this kind of chicken" followed closely by "how many bites?". Other famous quotes "what's this green stuff?", "my tummy hurts", "am I finished", "why are you done and I have to keep eating?". Obviously because you haven't ate anything yet Luke. While we were eating, you were complaining. While we were trying to enjoy dinner, you were whining. Now we have to sit here with you for another 20 minutes while you take tiny bites and ask if you are done.

We aren't doing anything differently. Things he ate previously he doesn't want anymore. Some things he will eat one day but not the next.
image
Does anyone else have a child who hates to eat?
Does anyone have any tips or tricks?


Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of @steemparents
Check out my Latest Blog

If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Its common. Dont force him to eat, three children and four grandchildren and all of them went through this phase.

Thanks for the advice.
Usually when I don't force him to eat he immediately asks if he can have dessert or before bed he will ask for a snack.
Sneaky little bugger.

Darryl

Don't worry, this phase will pass.

My son used to be that way. Now he's 14 and eats everything in sight. :)

Ha ha. I will have to plan for the lock on my pantry.

Darryl

Too many things on their minds with bedtime looming. lol
I'm always experimenting with my daughters food preferences. It will always change. As does ours as adults. She's not interested in most green things or meat. You might be asking yourself whats left? lol. What you feed them and more importantly what they will actually eat has little to do with what it is. Presentation and attitude is everything. i.e. carrot sticks and dressing are a no? try carrot coins with dressing instead. That plate of food you have there. Make the big piece of brocolli (big tree) Cut the stock off break up into small trees. Linguini noodles a no? Try macaroni. and the chicken stuff. Cut it up and put it on a skewer or toothpics. Ketchup on the side. But bottom line kids can be fussy bastards.

Hahaha, I was the same child! I remember how my grandmother told me "come on, eat five spoons and everything!" and then "come on, three more spoons". and in the end, "look, the plate is almost nothing left, finish really a drop!"

Oh. So you are one too!
No dinner and no snacks before bed!

Darryl

Twinkle, Twinkle little Stars, How I wonder what you are.

Congratulations! You got a o (★) Star/s Rating from Steem-stars and your post has been upvoted by @steem-stars, This was base on the content you have been shared to me and to all the people in this Universe.

If you want to know more about me feel free to ask and explore in Universe. Spread me to others and build me a new Galaxy.

Ugh. Yes, we've dealt with this on various levels with all our kids, especially our youngest. We do the same and just save the food until later if they really don't want to eat. This only happened once or twice, but it's possible they can actually make themselves sick by not eating, so when it goes too long eventually we'll say they need to eat for health reasons. Parenting is hard.

If it is a day where we know he hasn't ate much, we usually cave and make him a grilled cheese sandwich.
That seems to be the one food that he will eat no matter what the occasion.
Hopefully he doesn't make himself sick. My comment is always "He isn't going to starve to death. He will eat before then."

On behalf of your child, I apologize to all the parents who have trouble forcing their child to eat. I was like him when I was young, so I know that I'm heading towards the same experience when I become a parent. I have no tips, I'm sorry, because my parents could never figure it out. It's just that one day I woke and I realized I love food of all kinds, and that was it. I was in high school when that happened.

It's funny how I met you through Luke and your son is named Luke haha What are the odds!

Yeah, when he is a teenager he will most likely eat enough extra food to make up for what he isn't eating now!

I could testify to that! Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59