#1 Should people tell mothers "Happy Fathers Day"?

in #parenting7 years ago

As a single mother to a teenager, I use to believe I played both roles. I thought of myself as a mother and a father because I was and am his only parent. But, as the years have gone by I thought to myself "am I really a father figure?" No. I am not his father and I will never be able to take the place that his father left empty. I love him enough for both of us but I am not a dual parent.
IMG_2053.JPG
Well, over the years I was told "Happy Fathers Day!" year after year from some very well meaning friends and minimal family members. It makes me wonder if I really deserved it. Although I am not a father was it right for them to tell me that.

So should we ,as single mothers, get both days to celebrate? Can you be a dual parent?
FullSizeRender-2.jpg
I not have a daughter and I see the impact that having a father does play in her life growing up.

Sort:  

Congratulations @shakytt! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shakytt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33