Looking for Peter Pan

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

How many bedtime stories have you read lately? If you have kids or grandchildren, I bet that you have read at least three stories this week.

My son's favourite character is Mercer Mayer's Little Critter. He is really hooked on this series. We have read them so many times that he knows them by heart.

While we were discussing about discovering new characters that he might like, I thought of Peter Pan.
Since the version of Peter Pan's adventures book we had was not having more than two illustrations, we decided to try our luck at the local library.

From the moment we stepped into the library, my son completely forgot why he went there. He got distracted by the amount of games and toys available.

While he was having fun playing, I searched for the story that got us there in the first place.

image

I even found a pirate ship toy that we used as a prop while reading the story.

image

Needless to add that we had lots of fun of the library.

image

I loved it because we had found the same books both in English and in French, which made it easier for us to practice his French.

image

As I was looking at him playing, I thought that we are really fortunate to have such a library close by.

image

You don't realize what a blessing this is until you don't have it.

image

Wherever we travelled, we always visited the local libraries, to get new books, meet other mommies or simply to hang out.

image

Seeing the abundance of toys, games and books in here, reminded me of some of libraries abroad, which barely had books for children, probably because of the lack of funds.

image

Some of them had a small play or reading area for children but nothing compared to this.

image

Keep in mind this is only a small library!

image

The ground floor is all dedicated to children and it has five aisles with bookshelves on both sides, a play area and a reading area.

image

If me, as an adult I love it, you can only imagine how attractive it may be to a child.

image

Cultivating an interest in books for a child is so easy when you have access to such resources.

image

How many kids in the world wouldn't love to go hang out at the library if they could?

image

Unfortunately what we consider a norm in North America may be only a dream for someone in a different country.

image

We all know that education starts at home. The earlier you start reading to your child and encourage his interest in books, you have a higher chance of turning him into a life-long reader.

Whever I hear a parent saying his child doesn't like to read, I cannot help myself from thinking that the child was not encouraged or stimulated enough. All children are curious by nature.

Sometimes simply having books, magazines, newspapers, comics around is all that it takes to spark his curiosity.

When they are young, children love to imitate adults behaviour. Thus why not lead by example? If your child sees you reading, he may want to read for himself!

Here are other parenting related posts:

HOW TO ENCOURAGE SPEECH AND LANGUAGE DEVELOPMENT AT HOME

25 REASONS THAT MADE YOU A BABY BOOT CAMP SUPERHERO

HAVING FUN WITH ACRYLICS

HAPPY ST-LEMONTINE!

SATURDAYS MEANS FUN TIME

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

I started reading to my baby ever night when she was 6 months in the womb. The same story every night, so that she might recognise the sound patterns. Now at 12 months old she loves when I get out a book to read to her. Her favourites are Harold and the Purple Crayon or The Gruffalo.

I started to read to my son when he was about 4-5 months in the womb, just like you. I read him a collection of nursery rhymes that he turned into his favourite book until the age of two, when he discovered Little Critter.

Nice. It was a great way for me to bond with my unborn baby.

That library looks so much fun! I bet you both really enjoyed the time there. I don’t think we have anything like that where I live. There’s a city library but it doesn’t look half as nice as the one on the photos :))

Even here, not all the libraries have a whole floor dedicated to children. They do have an area for kids and toys but not an entire floor.

This is an awesome post. Reading is good as it improves our knowledge of things within and around us. Creating fun time while learning is an excellent way for us to remember what we've read and learnt.

Yes, reading plays a key role in one's development. Thanks for stopping by!

It's been a while since I've been in a library of any kind. There's so much that can be downloaded or obtained on the internet that I just don't think about going there anymore. Of course, I don't have small children anymore, either, who might want an actual book to look at, or toys to help imagine the story with.

I hope for the sake of your son and other children that the libraries continue to provide such havens of learning and imagination. Since it's too late to instill a desire for reading when they get too much older, especially boys, the best thing to do is to get them hooked early and do what you can to foster it through their teenage years.

It sounds like you've got more than a good start going.

The Internet changed everything for us. Almost every single thing that we want, not only entertainment, is one click away. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

What an incredible library, reading is so important - my humble abilities today were founded from my young years spent reading and in libraries with my mum or school's. Making it that bit more exciting with games and toys really helps, and learning a second language is so important - I wish I had.

We of course lead by example, and my boys follow a little too much of "me" nowadays - one way or another our entertainment is digital and our "books" electronic. They still have plenty of access to books and we share the enjoyment of reading, but us our lives development so does the content we absorb - hopefully in a positive way.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Learning French is must because he will have to study in French later on. For him that would be 3rd language.
Your kids are older so it's normal to have them use more the electronic devices. My one is younger and it's easier for the moment to keep him entertained with other things than the tablet. ;0)

What a lovely tour. thanks for sharing. this is a very good habit to build up in young ones.

Yes, reading is an important habit to grow in a child.

Aww, what a lovely story and post and also happy birthday (I’m getting that right, ya?)! <3 <3

Thanks, Lily! It was my mother's birthday, but thank you for the thoughts!

its very comfortable place to the kids right..? 😀😀😀

Yes, it's a very lovely place for children.

That library is amazing! I would love to go hang out and play there - and so would my son (incidentally ;-) Our library doesn't have that much funding, but they do ok with what they've got. You're reminding me I need to take him there more often. We read a lot, but it's always fun to go pick out something new, something random, and see what happens...

"pick out something new, something random, and see what happens... " my son calls it urban exploring. During winter when we can't play too long outside, we go to the library a few times per week. Great playground and lots of other kids for him to play with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69