SteemitculinaryChallenge #17: The Potato-less Moroccan Shepherd's PiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #paleo7 years ago (edited)

Yes, you read that correctly. I have made a potato-less, Moroccan spice inspired shepherd's pie. It's firmly rooted with turnip, carrots, parsnips, 8 different spices and raisins!

Here's a list of the ingredients required:

  1. 1 medium size turnip;
  2. 6 medium size parsnips;
  3. 2 medium size carrots;
  4. 1.5 lbs of ground beef (To make this vegan, use 2 cups of chickpeas instead and skip the ghee.) 
  5. 1 small onion;
  6. 1 cup of water;
  7. 1/2 cup of sultana raisins;
  8. 2 tbsp of coconut oil;
  9. 2 tbsp of maple syrup;
  10. 1 + 1 tbsp of ghee (butter will work, too, or omit to convert to a vegan recipe);
  11. 1 tsp of pureed garlic;
  12. 3 tbsp of Morocan spice blend (I combined the following spices: 1 tsp of ground cumin, 1 tsp of ground ginger, 1/2 tsp of pink Himalayan salt, 1/2 tsp of ground pepper, 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ground cayenne pepper, 1/2  tsp of ground coriander and 1/4 tsp of allspice.) 
  13. a pinch of cinnamon to sprinkle on the top;
  14. and 3 small sprigs of parsley to garnish.

The tools you will require are:

  1. a vegetable peeler;
  2. a sharp butcher's knife;
  3. 3 medium size bowls;
  4. a pototo masher;
  5. a large spoon;
  6. a fork;
  7. a spatula;
  8. a frying pan;
  9. a medium size pot;
  10. and a selection of measuring cups and spoons;

Directions:

  • Cut and peel the turnip;

  • Cut the turnip into small cubes.

  • Boil the turnip in a pot on the stove top for 30 minutes, or until a fork will go through it easily.

  • Peel and cut the carrots, parsnips and onion.

  • Saute the onions and carrots in coconut oil, in a frying pan, over a medium heat on your stove top.

  • Drain and mash the cooked turnip in a medium size bowl.

  • Add 1 tbsp of ghee and 2 tbsp of maple syrup and mash again to combine the ingredients.

  • While the carrots and onions are sauteing, boil the parsnips until they are soft and will pierce easily with a fork. Remove from heat.

  • Transfer the cooked carrots, onion and garlic to another bowl and let cool.

  • In the frying pan, brown the ground beef over medium-high heat. When it's done cooking, drain the fat from it.

  • Add the carrots, onion, and garlic mixture to the beef. Add the spice blend and 1 cup of water. Mix well.
  • Continue cooking over a low heat for 7 minutes.

  • Add the raisins.

  • Continue cooking this mixture for another 4 minutes. Stir frequently to keep the raisins from burning while they cook and let all the flavours meld together.
  • Drain the parsnips and transfer them to a medium size bowl. Mash them and add 1 tbsp of ghee. Mash again to combine the ghee.

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  • Fill the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan with the mashed turnip mixture.

  • Add the beef mixture as a second, even layer.

  • Add the parsnips as the third layer.

  • Bake in the oven for 1 hour or until the parsnip layer has browned around the edges and on the top. Remove the outside ring of the springform pan and dust the parsnip top with cinnamon. 

  • Garnish with parsley and serve.

Let's take a closer look:

This pie will serve 5 people.

I do hope that you will enjoy this Moroccan-inspired pie. As there are no potatoes in it, this recipe is Paleo-friendly and as mentioned, it can also easily be converted to a completely vegan recipe as well.  

Here's the list of people who I simply must acknowledge for  their on-going and relentless support of the Steemit Culinary Challenge as we engage in the 17th week of the contest:

@englishtchrivy ( the organizer)

@liberosist (this week's guest judge)

@oaldamster (the logo designer)

@vegascomic (the trophy designer)

@smooth (a prize sponsor)

@sirwinchester (a prize sponsor)

and @knozaki2015 (a prize sponsor)

Thank you to all of you who are continuing to support the challenge. It's a fantastic contest and if you enjoy cooking and blogging about cooking, I would strongly encourage you to try your hand at it.

I welcome your comments and invite you to join me...there is always room for one more at my table.

Cheers!

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

@rebeccaryan how come I got a feeling you'd do this hahaha
great choice of a potato alternative.. what does it taste like ? sweet and hearty?
There's one thing I miss in your entry - the frog! I love that frog!

Anyway, I was trying to pull off that crusty - set base and potato alternative coating when I made my shepherd's pie .. so its the turnip that don't bleed actually - this kind of turnip at least.

Entry acknowledged and good luck!

Thanks @englishtchrivy! I think we tend to refer to turnip and rutabaga as the same thing in Canada. Technically, it's a rutabaga and I read that it was developed as some kind of cross between a cabbage and a turnip.
Rutabaga is quite hard and I usually persuade my husband to cut it for me because in addition to being very solid and heavy, they are waxed here to help them store for a long time. This makes them slippery.
The taste is very Moroccan. think curry, ginger, cinnamon. The cayenne brings heat and this is cut with the sweetness of the raisins, to make it more enjoyable to eat. LOL
I think it's one of those dishes that gets better, the longer it sits and the flavours have a chance to blend together. I think it's going to be great tonight for dinner.

@rebeccaryan thanks for describing the taste I could only imagine the raisin and meat which always work as a great combi :)
Eet smakkelijk ! meaning .. enjoy in Dutch!

It's definitely better on day 2. I had a little taste at breakfast this morning. LOL

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congrats on 4th place in the challenge

That looks grand, and very healthy. Thanks for making it for us. Wonder if you could mail some of these types of things across country ( :

Hahaha @ddschteinn! If I could, I would. :) The flavour combinations are great together. The sweetness from the carrots, raisins, parsnips and turnip go incredibly well with the spices cumin, coriander, cinnamon and cayenne.

Sounds like a great breakfast food. I'm getting hungry thinking of it. Time to go eat. Thanks for the reply, -dds

No problem. If you make it, it is better once it sits for 24 hours. This gives the flavours a chance to really meld and come through. We liked it both hot and cold.

You sure make everything look so nice! Good luck with the challenge! Is your turnip the same as a Rutabaga? They get so little appreciation compared to other vegetables, lol.

Yes, @haphazard-hstead. In Canada, we tend to use the turnip and rutabaga interchangeably, but technically, it is a rutabaga. They are a hugely undervalued vegetable for the versatility that they bring to the table. LOL

I like rutabagas! They are fun to grow in my garden, too. They are so productive! They are intimidating to people that don't know them, though. It takes a sharp blade to use them, lol. They are so great with other roots, too. Enjoy your turnips! ; )

I love the flavour combination when they are cooked. They pair beautifully with parsnips and carrots. They are delicious with anything that has curry in it.
Thanks for the chat @haphazard-hstead.

You're welcome. I'll try some curry with them sometime.

Awesome, just super awesome food post. Very interesting idea, I will add this to my 'to-do' list. Great challenge entry, best of luck to you

Thanks @gringalicious! It was fun to make and the ingredients are standard winter root vegetables, here in Canada. So, exceptionally common, which I think is why Shepherd's pie and Cottage pies were originally created. The people just used what they had access to. Can you get parsnips in Chile?

I don't think we have parsnips, I'll need to look.

You could use radishes instead...just peel them so that the top layer will be white. They loose their heat when boiled and mimic a potato, fairly closely. My veggie store didn't have any nice ones in stock so I used parsnips as a 2nd option. :)

We have lots of radishes available, thank goodness because we do eat a lot of those

Awesome! They'll work just fine. :)

hi @rebeccaryan , this is very good post! I like your dish ,the parsnips I have never seen in my area, I decide to buy some on the internet and try it. thank you for your sharing ...good luck for you !

Thank you @helene! I did not know that you can buy vegetables online. That's really cool! Please let me know what you think of the pie, once you make it. I'd love to know. Radishes will work too. Just peel and boil, like a potato.

hi@rebeccaryan, since I am a Chinese, so I am not really familiar with the pie. I only know it contains some stuffing on the meat. If I select one or two vegetables replacing the potato, I can select sweet potato or pumkin or Chinese yam , they are taste good or benefit your body. Of cause, your vegetables is very good and creative. It helps me to broaden my outlook.
So...thanks again.

Nice to meet you @helene! Yes, any sweet potato, squash, cauliflower or yam would work too. I look forward to sharing and learning with you also. Thanks for commenting.

you are welcome..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77