You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemitculinaryChallenge #17: The Potato-less Moroccan Shepherd's Pie

in #paleo7 years ago

@rebeccaryan how come I got a feeling you'd do this hahaha
great choice of a potato alternative.. what does it taste like ? sweet and hearty?
There's one thing I miss in your entry - the frog! I love that frog!

Anyway, I was trying to pull off that crusty - set base and potato alternative coating when I made my shepherd's pie .. so its the turnip that don't bleed actually - this kind of turnip at least.

Entry acknowledged and good luck!

Sort:  

Thanks @englishtchrivy! I think we tend to refer to turnip and rutabaga as the same thing in Canada. Technically, it's a rutabaga and I read that it was developed as some kind of cross between a cabbage and a turnip.
Rutabaga is quite hard and I usually persuade my husband to cut it for me because in addition to being very solid and heavy, they are waxed here to help them store for a long time. This makes them slippery.
The taste is very Moroccan. think curry, ginger, cinnamon. The cayenne brings heat and this is cut with the sweetness of the raisins, to make it more enjoyable to eat. LOL
I think it's one of those dishes that gets better, the longer it sits and the flavours have a chance to blend together. I think it's going to be great tonight for dinner.

@rebeccaryan thanks for describing the taste I could only imagine the raisin and meat which always work as a great combi :)
Eet smakkelijk ! meaning .. enjoy in Dutch!

It's definitely better on day 2. I had a little taste at breakfast this morning. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60