You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemitculinaryChallenge #17: The Potato-less Moroccan Shepherd's Pie

in #paleo7 years ago

Awesome, just super awesome food post. Very interesting idea, I will add this to my 'to-do' list. Great challenge entry, best of luck to you

Sort:  

Thanks @gringalicious! It was fun to make and the ingredients are standard winter root vegetables, here in Canada. So, exceptionally common, which I think is why Shepherd's pie and Cottage pies were originally created. The people just used what they had access to. Can you get parsnips in Chile?

I don't think we have parsnips, I'll need to look.

You could use radishes instead...just peel them so that the top layer will be white. They loose their heat when boiled and mimic a potato, fairly closely. My veggie store didn't have any nice ones in stock so I used parsnips as a 2nd option. :)

We have lots of radishes available, thank goodness because we do eat a lot of those

Awesome! They'll work just fine. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40