Origami Journey – Blue Horseshoe Crab

in #origami7 years ago

Folding On Past the Point of No Return


This model really wanted me to give up. And yet I persisted!


steemit-enternamehere-blue-origami-horseshoe-crab-1.jpg

Back in December (2017) I completed the #alphabetartchallenge by @tonyr. For "O" I chose to make an origami octopus, and I can safely say that day was the beginning of the end -
the end of a life without origami!

After experiencing the frustration fun of making an origami octopus from a sheet of notebook paper, it was time to take the next steps on my origami journey. So I acquired a package of square sheets in 3 sizes and many colors with the mindset of
Fold them all! No mistakes, no worries!


Innocent enough beginnings, loose geometric doodle on blue origami paper.
steemit-enternamehere-origami-paper-doodle-blue.jpg

About halfway through, things got confusing. The area in the red circle below is a "membrane" fold from what my directions were telling me, and this represents my first time with it. The membrane on the right side turned out a lot smoother.

I was really fiddling with this fold on the left, bending and wrinkling the paper more than a little bit, in an effort to understand the mechanics of the so-called membrane.

I was standing at a decision: turn back in frustration and admit defeat, OR remain level-headed and keep working at the issue until the solution was found.

steemit-enternamehere-blue-origami-horseshoe-crab-turningpoint.jpg

Success!
steemit-enternamehere-blue-origami-horseshoe-crab-2.jpg

Not too shabby, I'd say. The horseshoe crab looks much better than his half-complete octopus companion! This has been a pleasant stop on the origami journey, and I'm definitely looking forward to what's next.
steemit-enternamehere-origami-blue-horseshoecrab-red-almostoctopus.jpg

Directions for crab model by Anita Barbour:
page 1,page 2


Recent ENH posts for your perusal
House of Treasures Revisited – What Do We Do With All This Stuff?
Origami Journey – Frog Friends



Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

What a cool and colorful collection so far! I agree with @artwatch, it does also look like a stingray, which is really neat.

Soon there's going to be a zoo of origami! I actually found a stingray model after I saw that comment. So it's on the list too along with the @ryivhnn-inspired goat. Thank you for stopping by Benja, always appreciate it!

P.S. Do you have an origami suggestion?? ☺

Sounds promising! Hmmm... Maybe a fish of some kind, or a bear, I like bears for some reason. A pigeon would also be cool, since it has a set of wings. But I can't tell if any of those would be hard or not though... But I think you'll come up with something! :)

Thank you for giving your input! I also like bears, that one's definitely coming soon too.

haha more dope little sea creatures... really like the blue for this one :)

Thanks! It's really loud, in a good way. Plus can't go wrong with blue for a sea animal ☺

Wow, your folding skills are increasing by the day. Amazing what you can make just manipulating the paper. Very nice works.
Do you suppose there is a right and left-handed 'fold advantage' on each side? In other words, since your mirror folds above were a better and 'less better' fold, maybe the direction of the fold, depending on which 'handed' you are, makes a difference. IE: one direction works better, for each different person. Is that as clear as a monsoon mudpuddle? Just a non-artists ??'s of possibility here.

SideNote of questionable relevance:
I was lucky to see hundreds of horsehoe crabs on the beach in Florida, during mating season. They were about a foot across. Maybe you have seen that in Texas? (I do realize they don't aimlessly wander the plaines, looking for love...but maybe on the Gulf?? Classic... horseshoe crab wranglers and large drives from Texas to Montana. Hmm, can you say movie idea?? ) NOW I'm getting goofy. Must be way late, Saturday night. So, will sign off here and go be serious. OK, maybe not...

Thank you for the kind words! As far as the left hand vs. right hand folding is concerned, I find myself using both hands together. For instance, for a fold left of the center I use my left hand and a fold right of center I use my right hand. I'm not sure if that's how things in the origami universe are supposed to be done, but it's working well so far. I'm having a lot of fun on this origami journey.

It's interesting to note that horseshoe crabs have a range that spans from the warm Gulf all the way up to the icy waters of the Eastern Atlantic seaboard. I guess they don't feel to particular about water temperature. To answer your question, I haven't seen any horseshoe crabs on TX beaches! I've only seen them up north. They are certainly unusual animals, lucky you to see so many at once in person, and on a warm beach at that.

It was quite a surprise to see the horde onshore. Unfortunately many died later, but I think that might be their 'way'. Cool you saw them up north. I thought they were mainly a warm-water species. Guess not.
Just wondering, can't help myself here. Too exciting ( :
Did you get my reply to the sip n' smoke? Maybe it had to go down the road, but thought I would check. It's in that post comment area. Have a nice night.

Yes! I sent you a PM just a moment ago.

Are you following any youtube tutorial?
You makes me fancy to go back build up origami again, if it wasn't for me having to accomplish 80 shaped balloons in the next 2 days.

I watched 2 YT videos before I got this paper, and they were very unhelpful. Hands tend to block the view of the paper too much for me, so I've been using step-by-step photos and diagrams instead of videos. Your origami models were great, if you have the time I think you might enjoy getting back to folding. It can be so relaxing ☺

Once upon a time I walked into a biology practical exam in a lab. One of the things we had to do was classify a bunch of specimens that were sitting on the lab bench. Upon sighting the horseshoe crab taking up most of one of the benches, I announced "KABUTO!"

One of my friends turned to me in confusion, replying "...what?"

I looked up and grinned at him, and then he remembered that I'm always the one waiting for class to start with a Gameboy, and sighed "...ah...Pokemon..." in some exasperation.


source

Yay for not giving up on the ridiculously difficult looking fold, the model looks great and really cute! And those doodles you add to the paper really add that special something :)

And I laughed at "almost octopus" poor thing XD

goatsig

Kabuto, lol. They do look a lot like a horseshoe crab. The doodles are fun, even if they break the rules of tradition. Thanks for looking at the sea creatures! The goat is coming soon, I can feel it.

Good you dont give up it turned out really good, my favorite so far! :)

Thank you! This one was fun to make for sure. Even though it was kind of tricky, it was worth making. ☺

I think it kinda looks like a stingray, cute.

I see the stingray too. These aquatic animals are interesting subjects to me. Thank you for taking a minute to peek the paper! I appreciate 'cha ☺

I love horseshoe crabs, I have a sort of collection of their shed shells, we find them on our beach all the time. It looks pretty good with the little tail sticking out.

They are really fascinating to observe up close aren't they? When I was a girl my family lived on Long Island, and I spent a lot of time at the beach. I remember being so weirded out by their different-ness! They are so unlike the other crabs and shellfish.

Thanks for having a look, and I'm glad you like the tail! That part turned out really well.

Horseshoe crabs!!!

Another favorite animal of mine :) Well done. Did you know they have blue blood? Your choice of paper is biologically on point!

Precisely! Copper rich I believe. Thanks for having a look ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60