You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Origami Journey – Blue Horseshoe Crab

in #origami7 years ago

Wow, your folding skills are increasing by the day. Amazing what you can make just manipulating the paper. Very nice works.
Do you suppose there is a right and left-handed 'fold advantage' on each side? In other words, since your mirror folds above were a better and 'less better' fold, maybe the direction of the fold, depending on which 'handed' you are, makes a difference. IE: one direction works better, for each different person. Is that as clear as a monsoon mudpuddle? Just a non-artists ??'s of possibility here.

SideNote of questionable relevance:
I was lucky to see hundreds of horsehoe crabs on the beach in Florida, during mating season. They were about a foot across. Maybe you have seen that in Texas? (I do realize they don't aimlessly wander the plaines, looking for love...but maybe on the Gulf?? Classic... horseshoe crab wranglers and large drives from Texas to Montana. Hmm, can you say movie idea?? ) NOW I'm getting goofy. Must be way late, Saturday night. So, will sign off here and go be serious. OK, maybe not...

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words! As far as the left hand vs. right hand folding is concerned, I find myself using both hands together. For instance, for a fold left of the center I use my left hand and a fold right of center I use my right hand. I'm not sure if that's how things in the origami universe are supposed to be done, but it's working well so far. I'm having a lot of fun on this origami journey.

It's interesting to note that horseshoe crabs have a range that spans from the warm Gulf all the way up to the icy waters of the Eastern Atlantic seaboard. I guess they don't feel to particular about water temperature. To answer your question, I haven't seen any horseshoe crabs on TX beaches! I've only seen them up north. They are certainly unusual animals, lucky you to see so many at once in person, and on a warm beach at that.

It was quite a surprise to see the horde onshore. Unfortunately many died later, but I think that might be their 'way'. Cool you saw them up north. I thought they were mainly a warm-water species. Guess not.
Just wondering, can't help myself here. Too exciting ( :
Did you get my reply to the sip n' smoke? Maybe it had to go down the road, but thought I would check. It's in that post comment area. Have a nice night.

Yes! I sent you a PM just a moment ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55