Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 65 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 65

My Top 5 In Order


New Year's Day is my birthday, so I am doing this list earlier. I will edit in the reviews soon. Thanks for understanding, just getting a lot of things ready for celebration with the family and all. This week we hit 200 entries, just absolutely amazing stuff.


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was pretty good and had a colossal amount of entries. There were many gems I found and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!


1. @storycharlemagne's "As If" Original Song

I really loved the creative and open approach to this deeply thought out song. Sure it does have that hint of cynicism as you pointed out but that doesn't take away from the wonderful sounds you create. You are more than just a guitarist and singer. With impacting songs such as these that are line with rhetoric and profound lyrics, it only allows us as listeners to self reflect on a deeper level and appreciate what you have woven together. Thanks for another high quality, original and soufully powered entry. No shame in placing you at 1st place once again out of the 200 entries this week. You earned it.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@storycharlemagne/steemit-open-mic-week-65-story-charlemagne-as-if-original


2. @djdyvad's "Ves Sin Bandera" Cover Song

Super impressed by the chemistry your voices shared on this cover song. The sound quality was impeccably crisp and crystal clear, and you both had complimenting tonalities which blended well with the harmonies you sang. I can hear the talent and skill and the hardwork and focus you put into this recording and it certainly paid off. From start to finish this is a joy to listen to and has a lot of replay value. You both should definitely work on an original together. That will be your next challenge since cover songs seem to be such an effortless thing for you both. Great job truly!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@djdyvad/open-mic-semana-65-ves-sin-bandera-dyvad-and-roberto-navs-cover


3. @smith-house's "Brighter" Original Song

This is completely not my genre but I can truly appreciate the talent and skill both you and your wife possess. You two are a multitalented power couple. I enjoyed the passionate performances as you showcase not only your instrument prowess, which by the way Brittany commands the violin flawlessly, but also your combined voices and overall good vibes made this original song an enjoyable an unexpected treat. Thank you very much for sharing this cool entry which stems from a low place in your past. Music is a great remedy and artistic outlet indeed.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@smith-house/steemit-open-mic-week-65-brighter


4. @vera.carla's "Running With The Wolves" By Aurora Cover Song

So many duets entered into this week's contest and the cover edition you guys put forth definitely stood out. I know that @luisferchav is a good singer as much as he is a songwriter but what put this entry into consideration for top 5 placement is how you, @vera.carla, poured out your all into this piece. I could tell you really loved this song and you sang it with such care, and you also, towards the latter half of the song, really opened up and experimented with your vocal range as you harmonized with @luisferchav. It was a nice musical journey for the ears and you both did a great job. Thanks for sharing with us this catchy song. Never heard it before until today.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@vera.carla/steemit-open-mic-week-65-running-with-the-wolves-cover-song-ft-luis-chavez-luisferchav


5. @nestorchacin’s "No dejemos que muera el amor" By Boys II Men Cover Song

You gave a great performance with your smooth singing and well placed harmonies. This throwback R&B classic was a great cover choice and I almost forgot that they did it in Spanish. Whether solo or within a group, your talented voice can't be denied. You take music seriously and the end results are a wonder to listen to. We definitely need more R&B, Soul singers bringing back the classics from the 90s :) Much respect for this entry of yours, it was spot on.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@nestorchacin/steemit-openmic-week-65-cover-no-dejemos-que-muera-el-amor-boyz-ii-men




Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In No Particular Order


7. @alejandra23’s "My Immortal” By Evanescence Cover Song

https://steemit.com/openmic/@alejandra23/steemit-open-mic-semana-65-my-immortal-cover


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Happy_New_Year_Steemit_Open_Mic.png

Happy new years bro, thanks

wow,, nice song

Yeah some great songs here

Thanks, appreciate it

Happy New Year Comrade. please visit to my blog for this new year

Happy New Year, I'll check it out when I can

very nice bro :)

Thank you very much

These are the Perfect ones as the top entries mehn....voice as angel

Yeah they definitely can sing and play. Glad you like my selection list. Thanks

so how come not everything is on dsound.audio as well

anyways, I will follow this more closely, I've missed out so much :) awesome songs :)

I don’t know maybe people haven’t caught on to it or utilized it. Yeah definitely stay in tune there are some great artists out there

Nice entry sir.. The competition gets tougher

Thank you very much, yes indeed it gets tougher the more entries that come in, but there still are just a few handful of people that really can perform and sing, and you’re one of them.

Happy Birthday, "D!" Nice picks, bro... I'm right behind you, man!

Thank you very much bro, Happy New Year’s Eve real soon! Have fun building your top list :)

Thank you so much! ❤
Really appreciated your comments 😊

You are very welcome. Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55