Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 135 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 135

Two More Open Mic Posts To Go, and I am fully caught up again and back on track, thanks for your patience everyone. I'm Back From The Hospital, My Left Arm Is Still Healing But I Am Back With A New Style Of Reviewing. It is actually what I always wanted to do, but I just realized it now, which is...Rhyming Reviews, because I am an Emcee & Poet to the core...But it took me long enough to even think of this idea lol Maybe because I wanted to give a more professional approach to the song review process of the Open Mic Contest, but this new way of judging for me is so much more enjoyable, so that I can give back to you the best way I know how, which is through the art of lyricism and intentional poetics. Please enjoy.

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, @PRC & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @mariajruizb's "Anhelante" By Jose Maria Sifontes Cover Song

From the very beginning you gifted us that which laments and is blissful, the smooth transitions didn't leave me wishful, your emotions were in abundance, and us listeners had fistfuls. Your vocal range is the range of where an echo goes, where you are headed can be seen with a telescope, your singing's impeccable, and the chemistry you and your friend, @danieldedosd2, have is more than respectable.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@mariajruizb/steemit-open-mic-week-135-anhelante-cover-por-mariajruizb-acompanada-de-danieldedosd2


2. @siomarasalmeron's "Ella Era El Sol" Original Song

This might be one of my favorite originals from you so far, I give you five gold stars, the sound can mend broke hearts, and light the paths of hope with glow sparks. The lyrics are beautiful and tell a story, my soul was parched, now a river I'm exploring. There are indeed women irreplaceable, and their steps upon the sands are untraceable, men may think they are chaseable, but their attempts are null and void, and their footsteps in that sand behind hers are erasable...Your voice and performance has made this entry a top 5, easily placeable.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@siomarasalmeron/steemit-open-mic-semana-135-ella-era-el-sol-romanza-del-pescador-por-siomara-salmeron-original


3. @darrenclaxton's "Connecting The Dots" Original Song

Some songs draw you home, some do pull you astray, in this I do get lost, like you drifting away. Repressing some thoughts. Experienced when you play, connecting the dots, and retightening the frays, longing for cover, and I mean "hiding place", for not all memories are cherished, and some can't be replaced, this song was relatable, and gave a warm embrace, for this who missed this entry, they'll be in dismay, because @darrenclaxton's dropping jewels and gems all year 'round, especially this May.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@darrenclaxton/steemit-open-mic-week-135-connecting-the-dots-original-song-by-darren-claxton


4. @edwardstobia's "Mala Compañía" Original Song

Great performance, it was deeply heartfelt and humbling, oftentimes in life, when we're struggling, we may find ourselves surrounded by bad company, we wish not to be alone, but that maybe someone will accompany, but we know what Misery loves, and it is quite ugly...Some people have an impact on us, it is either damaging or mothering. We lift each other up above the flames, or squander lifelessly under the ashes smouldering and smothering. This was one of your best yet, respect.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@edwardstobia/dl33wo43


5. @ricardomello's "Cuatro Venezolano + Beatbox" Original Song

One of Hip Hop's finest elements, your skills are quite evident, potential's bigger than an elephant, melodically pieced together remnants, to create a fresh journey out of pebbled mints, this entry wakes us up, we haven't been a rebel since, and that trumpet sound is nice, balanced toned and leveled sense.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ricardomello/steemit-open-mic-semana-135-cuatro-venezolano-beatbox-ricardomello





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )





7. @esthersanchez's "El Breve Espacio En Que No Estás/The Brief Space When You Are Not" By Pablo Milanés Cover Song

**

https://steemit.com/openmic/@esthersanchez/steemit-openmic-week-135-el-breve-espacio-en-que-no-estas-the-brief-space-when-you-are-not-pablo-milanes-version-esthersanchez




Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 135


@popsoz @jubei333 @luisalbertoulloa @eriksongutierrez @raymondelaparra @nnorukaanointing @gaborockstar @organduo @orlandogonzalez @barski @camuel @davidcentenor @amundafrank @fiorabifers @danieldedosd2 @natashamartinez @godslion @lk666 @amundafrank


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Oh! Thanks for your words, @verbal-d. Beautiful words! I hope you're fine.

You are most welcome my friend, yes I am indeed fine, and strengthening as each day passes. Hopefully in a month or so I can use my left arm again, and have full mobility, functionality, and power.

Cool. Experiences that make us grow, right? You know, understand something bigger.

Yes and soon, when I finish writing and posting my final open mic wk 137 post. I will share with you all a new song I wrote while in the hospital. Definitely growing from these experiences, both the good and bad.

Hello, my brother. I feel very happy because you have known how to connect with the essence of a song that, even today, continues to hurt @edwardstobia and me. "Bad company", although it is my responsibility, is a song inspired by certain experiences of Edwards. For me it is a great honor that you have highlighted his presentation and that you have deepened the substance. I send you many affections and I wish you much health and prosperity. Infinite hugs! It also makes me very happy to find, in your post, the beautiful @siomarasalmeron

Thank you very much bro, you both know how to bring real emotion to the music and through the music to the listeners and you both write very deeply with reflective and well thought out ideas and subjects that we can relate to. And yes, @siomarasalmeron is definitely deserving recognition as well. So many talented artist are in our Open Mic Family.

thank you very much @verbal-d for the position in the top, really your words motivate me a lot and fill me with joy even more at this moment because I have not been good with my voice, that's why I have not been able to continue recording, my vocal cords They are asleep and something is not right in them, in a way all this is very sad for me, but I promise that as soon as I get well I will have a nice entrance for this beautiful contest. I am very grateful to @ danieldedosd2 for his beautiful accompaniment on the guitar, he is always there to support me and I also want to congratulate all the colleagues that were selected here. Greetings with affection for all my Openmic people.

You are always welcome. I hope your voice heals quickly. God is always reminding us how fragile we really are, that is why we must cherish every day and every moment. Looking forward to your new entry when you are healthy and ready again. Take care

thank you friend, I hope you are also well, greetings and take care too much ttambién. God bless you.

You're most welcome. I am indeed very well, thank you. Blessings are all around us and God is great. Feel free to check out the new song I posted on my page. :) I hope your voice is stronger today. We miss it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81