Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 120 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago


Steemit Open Mic Week 120

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 6 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @kayclarity's "Grace Said To Me" Original Song

This was a very sweet and profound original song that shows how impacting children can be in the world and how you convey those emotions and pure loving intentions to us all in the world. I really enjoyed the depth of your lyrics as well as your splendid and smooth vocal performance. That same moment you had with grace, reminds me of the many moments I share with my children day by day. Definitely we cannot lose ourselves, even us who have "grown up" in this trying and challenging world. Thanks for sharing this gem, looking forward to your next one.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-120-grace-said-to-me-original-song


2. @iiegon's "I Was Wrong" Original Song

Very catchy guitar playing and a highlighting complimentary soulful voice to intertwined between your grooving guitar chords and constant rhythmic performance. Sometimes the best songs come from a humbling place and at least you learned from your experiences from when you were younger. Thanks for sharing the wisdom and good vibes in this great original song. Looking forward to more originals.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@iiegon/nov3ar5n


3. @thesimpson's "I Don't Think I Ever Named This Song" Original Song

I really enjoyed this grooving and upbeat original song, the chorus is stuck in my head. Very cool lyrics, a passionate performance and great energy is what makes this such a wonderful entry. This is definitely a hit and so glad you had your friend Liam Boddy come by and share his musical heart and soul with us all. Would be great to hear a collab from you both in the future.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@thesimpson/steemit-openmic-week-120-a-song-called-i-don-t-think-i-ever-named-this-song


4. @aidarojaswriter's "Starring Role" By Marina And The Diamonds Cover Song

You embodied this cover song really well and brought out the lamenting sadness that is pouring out from the melodically weaved lyrics. This is one of your most moving performances yet with a high quality entry. You certainly have earned a starring role for this week's contest with your gifts of music. Thanks for sharing, looking forward to more.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@aidarojaswriter/steemit-open-mic-semana-120-or-marina-and-the-diamonds-starring-role-cover-by-aidarojaswriter


5. @katrina-ariel's "Trouble" By Shawn Colvin Cover Song

I am sure you made many of us listeners smile with this one. Your vocals fit this cover song very well, I prefer them to the original, and I believe your guitar skills are what made the energy palpable in this entry. You did great this week, thanks for sharing your passion and talent for music. Looking forward to more.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@katrina-ariel/steemit-open-mic-week-120-cover-trouble-by-shawn-colvin





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )





7. @kkarenmp's "Flashlight" By Jessie JCover Song

https://steemit.com/dtube/@kkarenmp/hslq3244





Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 120


@origen1618 @montycashmusic @markaustin @juanmolina @lynnm @gabana64 @raymondelaparra @minuetoacademy @futuremind @jaredkhamanah @alfredmusic @elisonr13 @edmundocentenor @exzorltg @danieldedosd2


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for featuring me here. I put a lot into that video and it's great to see it included in with these fabulous musicians. Appreciate all you do for music on the blockchain, and big love to all the amazing people highlighted here! :)

You are most welcome my dear friend. You have a lot of people crushing on you, as seen below lol Appreciate your appreciation and your talents and vibrant energy.

@katrina-ariel is naturally my Steem crush, but with pink hair! You wanna marry?

That's a great selection of musitians there @verbal-d, I wish I knew how to sing to participate on the open mic.

Thank you very much, definitely nothing wrong with pink hair. I am married.

Glad you enjoyed this selection of talented artists, you don't have to sing, you can also play an instrument if you learn or already know how.

Hey there thanks for featuring my song :) Really appreciate! Nice production on your track also! Reminds me a little of Nobody's Listening from Linking Park

You're most welcome, glad to give back however I can. Thank you for listening to my original, appreciate that as well, and the compliment. I gotta rehear that track of theirs, it's not ringing any bells, but I am sure it is worth the listen :)

Thank you so much @verbal-d! \m/ <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25