Open Mic Week 120 - "Grace Said to Me" (original song)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Here you go, team! Last week was too crazy for getting a song up here, but glad to share this original this week. I had a conversation with a sweet little 7-year-old last week and was just amazed at her thoughtful way of being and seeing the world, and started thinking about what I would most want her to internalize now before the world gets under her skin. Out of that came this song.

Hope you enjoy!
xx,
Kay

Grace Said to Me (by Kay Clarity)

Grace said to me, “I don’t like the way the days go by me.
Every night I’m sad that day will never, ever be
Again”

And I said, “Darling, keep that sensitive heart,
“Oh, darling, never let them take who you are away.”

Grace said to me, “I don’t like my birthday—it just means
That time has come and gone and I’m never ready
For it

And I said, “Darling, don’t going worrying in the dark
And, darling, keep on smiling when it’s hard

“Grace, I know how hard it is to learn how hard our lives can be
How so often it is really just grief after grief."

Darling, who you are is who you are
Darling, keep that sensitive heart
But darling: don’t go worrying in the dark
Darling: don’t go worrying in the dark

Follow me, k? @kayclarity

You can also find me on YT, FB, and IG as well as MeWe.

To be able to continue to create my art, I also recently started a Patreon or you can donate through my website. It's off to a good start and I'd love you to be a part of it!

Sort:  

Desirably, beautiful singing as always

I had included you in my Open Mic Judge's Top Review for Week # 120

Please read the full review here below

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-120-original-blog

hey! Been away this week with travelling and a sudden move after a crazy living situation, but will be catching up soon. Thank you always for your kind words! I'll upvote another more recent post if I've missed this one!

Very cool ... I like it :) I hope you make more this here :) So I can come more back :)

This post has been voted for the project @templo, cinema and music.

@kayclarity we would appreciate a greeting in our next curation report that will contain a link to your post

Muy buen trabajo como todo lo que presentas siempre!!! Muchos éxitos y bendiciones...

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

great melodic flow you have!

Thank you, friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97