OFFICIAL: Open-Mic Songwriters Challenge @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Song-Writers Top-5 Image.png


Summary

Dang, this week was just as good if not better than round-1 of the challenge. The sheer artistry and talent that abounds amid the Open-Mic venue never ceases to amaze me. Hat’s off to each and every one of you!

Once again, there were around 30 entrants in total, which further surprised me. Perhaps I won’t be so surprised in the forthcoming weeks, we’ll see...

Song Writers Challenge: Week-2 (Lost and Found)


Libra-Man SCALES.jpg

My Process


Aside from a few key category modifications with regard to scoring and awarding points to the entrants of the Songwriters Challenge, I am basically using very similar methods to arrive at my picks and honorable mentions as I do in the general Open-Mic contest.

To get a more in depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

My Top-5 Picks in Order


FIRST PLACE: @chaifm - “Lost & Found”


Firstly, you all need to know is that @chaifm is a “CFOM”, which stands for a “Close Friend Of @Melavie” – which in turn, means that she is likewise - a rather formidable creative force to be reckoned with. Secondly, “No” – I do not find my own facial expressions entertaining – but I very much find @chaifm’s facial expressions rather pleasing at that. But way, way beyond the superficiality of facial expressions, I most certainly find @chaifm’s interpretation of this week’s theme “Lost & Found” most gripping. Her composition, exquisitely depicted lyrically thru her creative graphics in concert with her intense performance thereof leaves nothing else to the imagination beyond utter brilliance. You’ve got a special home here at the Open-Mic for sure… Hope to see you around too, @chaifm!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@chaifm/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-or-lost-and-found-or-original


SECOND PLACE: @pechichemena – “Navegante”


Firstly, I wish to say directly to Pechiche – that I hope you never ever write a “normal” song. There is no normal brother – there is only you, me, and the rest of us who get it – and that’s all that matters. Brother, you can carve arrows in my chest all day long, and all I’d do is be begging and pleading for more! You are one special “Navigator” @pechichemena! You are the Captain, brother – keep us all on that special course that only you can plot.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@pechichemena/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-lost-and-found-navegante-original-song


THIRD PLACE: @onetruebrother – “You’re the Sun”


So, my old-man, white-guy brother-in-arms says he had a bad day – and with one take – he somehow manages to pull this gem out of his “you know what!” Let me tell you, @onetruebrother is no diamond-in-the-rough – he is a well-polished stone, and we all need to appreciate that for what it is. There ain’t no denying that this man has got something special – and I for one am so thrilled to have had the opportunity to experience just a small slice of his musical brilliance. I, and I think all of us, love you in kind, @onetruebrother!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@onetruebrother/steemit-openmic-songwriters-challenge-week2-you-re-the-sun


FOURTH PLACE: @afrao0 – “Lost and Found”


This here is my brother, from another mother of course – ha! Apart from our maternal differences, @afrao0’s thematic rendition of “Lost and Found” is simply captivating. His lyrical prowess in concert with his superb melodic crafting and song-structure describing this tale of lost love is simply outstanding! Musically, what more could one ask for insofar as “Lost and Found” is concerned?
https://steemit.com/openmic/@afrao0/steemit-open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-lost-and-found


FIFTH PLACE: @llucybanks – “Lost and Found”


Lucy Banks is crazy-talented! I’d bank on Lucy every day of the week for original music, intense vocals, and that “special something” that just hits you right where it counts – every single time! I so applaud Lucy for stepping out of her musical comfort zone in typically exploring her darker inclinations (a general realm to which I am well acquainted) and instead decided to place her focus for “Lost & Found” upon something more positive and uplifting – a beautiful story of her finally embracing her own musical greatness for what it is. In my view, that greatness is quite extraordinary.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@lucybanks/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-lost-and-found


Honorable Mention.png


My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in order:


Tenth: @g10a – “Game Is Over”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@g10a/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-game-is-over-or-original-composition-by-g10a-or-2017123t01722379z


Thank you all so much for taking some of your precious time to review my take on all of the incredibly creative artists here at the Songwriters venue this week. Thanks so much as well for up-voting and re-steeming this post in order to spread the word that Open-Mic and its subsidiaries are clearly taking Steemit by storm – and that the Open-Mic brand shall remain a collective people-oriented force of love and artistry to be reckoned with on every level of measure.


Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Sort:  

thank you for these lovely words, I never really know what to say :)

You just said all that needs saying... :-)

Ah @passion-ground! Thank you so much, such kind words and I really appreciate that you saw how positive I was trying to be!!
Maybe I'll give it another shot this week even though the theme is very tricky haha. But maybe I'll take on the challenge!

Just keep following your muse, Lucy! Where ever it comes from, wherever it takes you, and however and whenever it appears, it certainly leads you in the right direction - so trust it and trust in yourself. _x

Most definitely!! They are words of wisdom... thank you so much for the support, it really does mean a lot x

Hey thanks for being so kind. You were one of the first people I noticed on Steemit and Openmic. I am sure that there will never be another to make me cry by playing the kitchen sink! Much love

Funny how certain things can strike a chord... Happens to me more than I like to admit. Thank you, Onetrue!

Wow @passion-ground , you have always something very nice to say about my music! I am very grateful brother , thank you for your very kind words, they keep me inspired to write more man! Cheers my friend!

btw , big kudos to everyone participating ! I'm hearing so much nice music week to week , i'm glad this is happening!

So nice of you to say, Pechiche... Thank you, brother!

Another AMAZING week of this awesome competition! The creativity being displayed here is astounding! Massive love and respect to EVERYONE who is managing to put these songs together on such short notice, it really feels like the most exciting place to be on steemit right now! Keep smashing it everyone! x x x o o o

I couldn't agree more, @basilmarples! What a gracious comment for you to make as one of the standing candidates in the challenge... Much love, brother - you keep smashing it too!

I certainly shall! The open mic family is growing, and so is my love of this platform. x x :D

How does one participate in this?
Pink CMOR.jpg

Looks like you saw my comment below... Look forward to hearing from you!

Oh really.. Thanks again sir for the mention.. you f***n hit the top sir, I really love that piece of mam @chaifm its just really amazing..

She is amazing, isn't she!

Thank you so much for the mention @passion-ground!!!
I'm really glad you liked it!

How do I enter. New to steemit.

Thank you. I'm afraid I'm good at writing music but I'm horrible with lyrics. Lol. Sure like yours though.
We're nearly off grid ourselves. InSE Tx. On a small ,old sailboat.

I tell you what @diamondlou67, If you're so inspired and inclined, put together a song and toss it out on your blog with the tag original music. Scratch out some rough vocal melodies if you like - or just describe the vibe and direction that you'd like the lyrics to take, and if I, in turn, am inspired in kind, I'll take a crack at dropping some lyrics to it.

If you can, and if it is not blatantly made clear by the clear structure of the song, just articulate as best you can where verses and choruses should be. If I don't see your post right away, just send me a reply somewhere directing me to look for it. Peace, man!

Excellent picks my friend.... sorry I'm late entering my post this week... I was sick :(

Thank you, friend! Hope you are feeling better...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56