OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 98steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

2-weeks shy of 100 consecutive weekly contests and still going strong!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Next week, we’re gonna be partying like its Open-Mic Week 99! Soon thereafter, we’ll hit the milestone of 100 consecutive weeks! And then, just 4 weeks after that, we’ll mark the two-year anniversary of Open-Mic!

It is amid the two-anniversary in week #104 that I hope to deliver a very special mash-up from Open-Mic artists from all across the world! You can find out more about this epic project below.

If you haven’t done so already, please check out all of the post's associated with the forthcoming Open-Mic Mega-Collaboration.


New Mash.png

The Original Announcement Post

Update #1.

Update #2.

Update #3.

Update #4.


Should anyone have any questions or wish to participate in the “Mega Open-Mic Collab,” feel free to hit me up on discord >> @passion-ground#5524.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Next Up, a few words about our Sponsors

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Please, VOTE for These WITNESSES...

IMPORTANT: Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk as witnesses! @pfunk is our biggest supporter, and plays a major role in helping to fund, the Open Mic contest each week.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

We should all be proud and honored that @pfunk continues to weigh in at #18 on the witness list! It wasn’t that long ago that he was struggling to hold onto the #20 slot. Let’s keep this up, okay - @pfunk all the way!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

In addition to @pfunk, I am also adding @curie, @ausbitbank, and @aggroed to my short list of “must-vote-for” witnesses who support the Open-Mic venue.


You can vote for each of these witnesses right now by going directly to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

With all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 98

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @mariajruizb – Costumbres - (Cover)

Daniels exquisite guitar introduction set the stage perfectly for this lovely song selected by Maria. Her vocal performance of “Costumbres” is heartfelt, passionate, and captivating in every regard. This is a beautiful song about life and love – performed beautifully and lovingly!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mariajruizb/qyvehnbq

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @kimugas23 – Don't Know My Name - (Cover)

The moment Kim began singing this Grace VanderWall cover, I totally forgot my own name! :-) Kim is a lovely vocalist and talented musician who took this opportunity to introduce a brilliant guitar player, Enrique, to Steemit. This is a truly outstanding performance from each of these fine young artists!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kimugas23/steemit-open-mic-week-98-i-don-t-know-my-name-de-grace-vanderwaal-cover

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @zipporah – Unseen - (Original)

Zipporah’s ”Unseen” is a poetically tragic glimpse into the chilling abyss of constant human struggle, and the will to keep fighting against all odds. No one fights the good fight quite like Zippy – I’ll never give up on her, that’s for sure. Round-by-round, she’s a winner in every way. “Unseen” is just one of her many victories and accomplishments yet to come!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@zipporah/steemit-open-mic-week-98-unseen-the-good-fight-original

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @mayneth – Proposiciones - (Cover)


I have tremendous respect for Mayneth. He is an extraordinarily skilled musician, classically trained, and a teacher himself. It is quite an honor that Mayneth has fully embraced the Open-Mic venue here on Steemit. The time and care he takes in crafting his compositions, and in producing his audio and video performances is simply incredible! Mayneth is truly brilliant in each of these realms and it shows! His latest (Latin-Jazz) rendition of “Proposiciones” is yet another example of Mayneth’s remarkable musical acumen. Bravo Sir Mayneth!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mayneth/ixckkl8u

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @samidbarid – Impossible - (Original)


Although I’m not 100% certain if Sami is “classically” trained or not, he sure sounds like he is. There is (IMHO) an essential element in Sami’s artistry that simply cannot be taught - regardless of training. That element is Sami’s inherent ability to translate emotion deeply and effectively within each of his captivating arrangements. All of the above are just a few of the essential ingredients it takes to make a brilliant film composer, and that’s exactly what Sami is! Take a listen to Sami’s “Impossible” and you’ll know exactly what I mean. BRAVO!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@samidbarid/steemit-openmic-week-98-sami-d-barid-impossible-original-piano-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @abelfernandez – Inherente - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@abelfernandez/bvkynxhm

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@wilins, @leomolina, @juliolunar, @k0wsk1, @siomarasalmeron, @adreini, @skycorridors, @elisonr13, @saullazo26, @hccafeina, @gibber, @juanhobos, @paintingangels, @davidsuarezms, @miguelblanco, @builtinfire, @alejandra23, @yetxuni, @wildfamily, and @michellemusica!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:


@lucybanks, @drewley, @manuelmusic, @dustinseth, @yusaymon, @thesimpson, @lk666, @davidfar, @donatello, @enazirma, @danielagrateron, @carlosvidal, @wethepatsies, @aleallopez, @camusic, @cpereira, @guifaquetti, @juanmolina, @betzaelcorvo, @mcmusic, @fernando.lubezki, @enriquesalgadoc, @eib, @tfeldman, @nadabrahmasounds, @pararova, @coruscate, @sheenopmusic, @damcrow, @juanchez, @edwardstobia, @samjgonz, @guarapana, @juandavidartal, @orlandogonzalez, @robertonavs, @dreamrafa, @cronosclocks, and @yisusgtr!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Your sincerely heartfelt feedback has made me cry from day one – this time is no exception.

Thank you for listening with your whole heart. I so appreciate you. <3

pink6.jpg

Thank you, Zipporah...
I so appreciate you too!
xoxo

Thank you very much for the opportunities you give musicians to present their music at steemit.
I also feel gratified that my music has pleased you, success!

You are very welcome, brother...
Thank you for sharing your exceptional talents with us!

Thanks my friend passion-ground , it is a pleasure to know that you like my themes, I send you a warm greeting from here in Venezuela, good life man.

Indeed my friend...
Warm greetings to you too!

Guaooooo mil gracias por la consideración en mi interpretación para la week 98. Gracias @passion-ground por esta mención. Felicidades para todos los compañeros que pusieron su corazón y dedicación en esta semana.

¡Hermoso trabajo como siempre mi más querida, María!

I really enjoyed reading your post and listening to some nice music.
Thank you for the shout out and all the best!

Grazie Fratello mio! È sempre un piacere per me ascoltare le tue voci. Sei un brav'uomo, Donatello!

È sempre un piacere leggere i tuoi post.
It is always a pleasure to read your posts.

OMG I'M SO EXCITEEEEEEEED THANK U SO MUCH!

(kisses and glitter)

You're welcome, Kim...
Your performance was beautiful!
and btw, I love "kisses and glitter..."
Thank you! ;-)

Muchas Gracias por tomar en cuenta mi trabajo semana a semana! saludos!

You are welcome...
Thanks for sharing your music with us!

Great job! Keep it up. Following.

Thank you so much bro! Good luck to everybody

You are quite welcome, Mayneth...
It's always a great pleasure to see and hear your work!

un gran placer saber que le gusto mi presentación amigo, saludos y muchos éxitos.

Indeed I did...
Thanks for sharing your music!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01