Open Mic Week 98 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

What an amazing week of entries. I'm still recovering emotionally from some of these original songs that kicked me in the heart without remorse. I don't know if you are going to be ready to listen, I honestly don't know. I mean, I love songs that make me feel, but.... I had to go pour myself more coffee and continue... the feels were too strong this week, too strong.

Anyways, you've been warned.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@zipporah - Unseen the good fight(original)

Some songs just take one listen to become special in your life, well this one is one that I will happily add to that list. Knowing what the lyrics mean, understanding that every single line was crafted undressed emotionally with little care of what would happen after showing that much vulnerability, I was stripped from my own.

Certainly special, certainly powerful, a song you can't go without listening, you just can't.

Second Place.-

@abelfernandez - Inherent(original song)

Did we just have a train of talent hit the #openmic at 80 mph when we stopped looking? What a beautiful song, what a great performance.... and right when it hit the falsetto, man!! I had to rewind just to enjoy that again...

What a beautiful song... bravo!!!

Third Place.-

@dinoromanelli - thanks for coming(original song)

Man what a great song, what an awesome story. Dino is just a storyteller who found his way around a six string, that's basically it. I actually remember listening to this tune when he was on the show, I enjoyed it so much back then, but in this form, raw, just him and his guitar.... it becomes alive.

Fourth Place.-

@samibarid - Impossible (original composition)

Honestly Sami is just a master at his craft. How does he do this? How does he capture all the dynamics of a score written by a master in one freaking room? The buildup gave me goosebumps, got me all emotional.... and I'm thinking to myself... What's happening? Why are you feeling so melancholic?

Ok, some rules here, don't you dare listen in with laptop speakers... Put on some headphones before you hit play...

Fifth Place.-

@drewley - surface (original song)

Maybe is just the mood this week, and somehow @drewley just connected to it too, I don't know. This composition is just beautiful, filled with hope, that is the best way I can describe it and I'm not even sure that makes any sense.

It ends as if a memory just left your mind, one that you were trying to retain, but its fleeting... Hope?

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@paintingangels - Trouble (original song)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #, not too late in the day, not like last time... Ready to do this all over again!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• No more duckface for me...
• I think I see the problem...
• It's because of the wallet size
• I've been getting some weird resteems, have you?
• An explanation on Post Shilling

Sort:  

Gracias @meno por haberme seleccionado dentro de las menciones honorables. Bendiciones. Felicidades para todos .

Muy buena selección de vídeos, espero poder estar a nivel para estar en tu lista TOP 5 la próxima semana.
Un abrazo, amigo @meno
Very good selection of videos, I hope to lose level to be on your TOP 5 list next week.
A hug, friend @meno

Ohhhh, Meno dear — thank you for this. 💜

There’ve been many moments these last few days that found me questioning my decision to post this particular take — the one that I introduced with the word Depression — one that came after others that I’d cried too much in the middle of, so I was extra puffy-eyed and sad-looking. But the response everyone has had and the love you all have shown me has softened those anxieties, ever so slightly. (I am still considering replacing it with a different take before it’s forever committed to the blockchain. Ha!)

Thank you for honoring me with your #1 spot. Though ‘placing’ in this contest was the least of my concerns and not really why I shared, it still feels lovely to be recognized in this way. HUGS!

me fall in love wif samibarid.

What a great week once again. Congratulations everyone!

Click here to see who won Open Mic week 98.

Want to go to SteemFest this year?

Your Chance To Win A Steemfest Ticket Plus Accommodations Giveaway Sponsored By Blocktrades And Openmic --- by @luzcypher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58