No more duckface for me...

in #ulog6 years ago
At some point in time yesterday I was watching some strange videos on you tube. You know what I'm talking about, when those algorithms send you down a yellow brick road of weird. In any case, one of the videos that popped up was this one talking about how social media has made us unrelatable.




I mean, let's face it most people, obviously not all, only put the good stuff on their social media feeds. Their pictures of their "awesome vacation", the best meal the wifey just cooked, because she's the best or how the "hubs" surprised a wife with a new car, because he's the best husband in the world.

In other words, the social projection to the outside world is: We are doing great, YOLO bigtime over here - But, of course this is very far from the truth. Actually is so far from the truth that one has to wonder if we are reaching new levels of fakeness, one's that we've never seen before (to quote the orange leader).

Not to pick on the ladies, because it's the exact same for dudes. But, if you go to the google machine for example, and write out the words: "My boyfriend is... "



You can clearly see that most girls looking for relationship advice on the interwebs are approaching it with a negative angle. Even the bear thing is kind of questionable. Yet, the instragrams and the ZuckerBooks are filled with the opposite, right?

"I found my soulmate" type of messages rule social media, because they simply have to. I mean, I understand it, I do. Who wants to put negativity out into the world? Ok, wait, that's not a good question... My point is that I understand why people pretend everything is peaches and cream with cinnamon sprinkles. (omg, that sounds so gooood... Can you tell I'm hungry?)

Honestly, I'm only sharing this here, because I actually appreciate this aspect of this blogging thingy mcjigger most of us do. I just speak my mind, that's all. I put some warts in there, some unflattering pictures and videos of myself and have absolutely no intention of pretending everything is peaches and cream, because it never is.

Most of us in one way or another are trying to figure out this thing we call life, and this experience for me has been a big part of my personal journey...

The more I look at "traditional" social media, the more I'm happy to be "out the game" - Who cares? Who needs expensive selfie sticks, when all you can do is duck faces? pfffffff


• I think I see the problem...
• It's because of the wallet size
• I've been getting some weird resteems, have you?
• An explanation on Post Shilling
• Helpienaut Meeting - Shilling Fridays

Sort:  

we are an older generation of internet users comparing to IG and FB adoptors... we have different values.

millennials think different. I have decided to understand and ofcourse respect them, though I can't be one of them!

Fake doesn't play well here. Look at Banfield. Actually don't. That's over now :)

sarcasm> we lost a good one </sarcasm

I quit the Zuckerbook and Instagram a year ago and I will never embrace them again. I wrote quite a few posts about the social media addiction and it side effects so there's no use in repeating myself, plus you're probably aware of them also.
This social media is a ill wold though with fake happy lives, too much personal details and lots of depression and frustration wiped under the carpet away from the spotlight.
Can't compare Steem with anything for now. A whole different world.

the need to be liked by everyone right? that side of the human psyche plays uglily over on zuckerbook.

I totally agree with you, social networks have become a banal, meaningless world, where we only see frivolities and lies in many cases, people showing a superficial life that is not real, I also lived and acted in that way; since I am in steemit very rarely enter these networks, I no longer call attention. steemit changed my way of seeing the world definitely.

perfectly said, I would not change a word there...

The Zuckerbouk thing is great for staying in contact with musicians the world over, and that is primarily what I use it for. When I do live recording it's just so much easier to have them hit me up on FB, because getting written permission to publish works so much quicker in messenger than exchanging e-mail addresses; which is the way I used to do it, usually resulting in weeks or sometimes months of delay if they are touring. Besides the practical uses (for me anyway) I quickly get bored with the endless barrage of likes, comments, shares and other nonsense. I really don't care what 450 people had for breakfast, lunch or dinner, nor do I have time to like them all, ..sorry.

With all this talk of SMTs I wonder if Steemians will scatter, or resort to FB type postings; I hope not. Greetz.

That is true enough... that being said, i've not checked mine in so long, its not even doing that for me anymore...

cheers mate

Estimado amigo, estuve leyendo tu post y siento que tienes razón en lo que dices, aunque yo pudiera acotar que: La tecnología nos ha servido siempre para hacer nuestra vida mas fácil, ella surge de la necesidades de la vida diaria, la inventiva es super importante, incluyendo las redes sociales ya que nos conectan con nuestros semejantes a muchas horas de distancia, nos hacen saber sus impresiones, sus estados de ánimo, nos podemos comunicar via escrita o hasta por webcam, pero la tecnología mal usada produce grandes desventajas, y ahí es donde debe intervenir la cultura de cada persona, sus valores y formación como ser humano.
Dear friend @meno, I've been reading your post and I feel you're right about what you're saying, even though I could point out that: Technology has always served us to make our life easier, it arises from the needs of daily life, inventiveness is super important, including social networks because they connect us with our peers many hours away, they let us know their impressions, their moods, we can communicate via written or even webcam, but poorly used technology produces great disadvantages, and that is where the culture of each person, their values and training as a human being must intervene.
Again...
THANK YOU!

The frequency of the "my boyfriend is a bear" search is easy to explain. It all comes down to the fact that google usage in The Rockies has drastically increased among she-bears.

That said, you called it when you said traditional social media is a lie. We just got back from a family holiday, and my niece has excluded from her Zuckerfeed all the pictures she took of the whole family, and only uploaded the ones of her sitting on a swing with her boyfriend.

Turns out she doesn't want to be seen hanging with her ancient grandparents, or her father, or her brother, or even her dopey uncle. I'm offended. :)

Even the bear thing is kind of questionable

Why you judge meano ?

Dewd, no moon yet... Ok?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not anytime soon with this attitude...spread that FOMO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45