Open Mic Week 116 Top 5 and Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Only a few days away from Christmas and less than a week away from 2018 saying it's final goodbye. Here I am my friends getting back on the saddle so to speak after a few weeks of not being able to organize myself a little better for a good listening session.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@cristmounicou - Dueles (cover)

I got goosebumps so many times I had to get up and get a glass of water. Week to week @cristomounicou keeps on improving not only the performances which of course have always been amazing, but the arrangements and the dynamics of the musicians that accompany her entries.

Words fall short, you just have to listen...

Second Place.-

@katrina-ariel - You only live once (original)

A songstress through and through I simply love listening to Katrina's musical creations. As I was reading the post, reading the lyrics I completely connected to it at an almost spiritual level. It seems like this is one of those songs that just needed to be born.

Third Place.-

@roman.musica - Zamba del olvido (cover)

I remember my brother Pechiche showing me Drexler's music long ago, and to be honest with you, I don't know why I don't spend more time listening to his compositions. I'm an instafan of this song, and Roman did such an amazing job with the interpretation that I'm almost scared to listen to the original, I don't want to change how it feels to listen to it, if that makes any sense.

Fourth Place.-

@coruscate - Oh Holy night (cover)

I echo @luzcypher's sentiment on this one, It really got me in that Holiday spirit right away. I felt like making some hot chocolate and feeling nostalgic about my childhood. Absolutely beautiful interpretation from @coruscate.

Fifth Place.-

@k0wsk1 - Back Against the wall (cover)

This is the first time I've heard of this band and of course of this song, but I absolutely loved it. I don't really know what to say about Kowsk1, he's so talented it's almost ridiculous. Not only does he play all the instruments like a true pro, but the quality of the recording and the mix is so spot on, I could imagine listening to these recordings while driving around town.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.


@moccamonica - Pause Rewind (cover Break out the crazy)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




Sorry I've been missing in action lately my friends, It's been some crazy weeks and I'm still trying to balance out my life a little better now that I'm back in the workforce getting some "ugly fiat". This weekend however, I said to myself enough was enough and cleared all plans for Sunday morning so I could do a long session of listening to entries.

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love



Sort:  

Awww this just totally made my day @meno!!!! Thank you for your kind words. Now go enjoy that hot chocolate. ♥️♥️♥️

♥️

This is the season to give so I am giving the Top 3 a @steembasicincome sponsorship!

SBI 2 12-23-18.png

that's awfully nice of you bud!

Yay! Thank you for including my song in with this collection of awesomeness. :)

that song of yours is very special Katrina, but you knew that already

Muchas gracias por tu palabras @meno, que lindo estar entre tus elegidos.

¡Un abrazo fuerte!

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @meno :) | For investors.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.115 which ranks you at #273 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 272).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @meno, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45