Steemit Open Mic Week 116: "Back Against The Wall" (Cage The Elephant Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


It's been a couple of weeks since I made a Steemit Open Mic video, so I figured it was time once again! This project took awhile longer than my usual submissions, a slightly more complicated mix and lots of re-recording. It's not really in my usual vocal style also so I'd love to hear any feedback on what you think of the singing in this one. I could have fine-tuned some aspects of this piece before completing it, but I felt myself starting to get tired and just wanted to put out what I had. Without further ado, I hope you dig my cover of "Back Against The Wall" by Cage The Elephant:

I saw Cage The Elephant years ago at an event in Seattle dubbed the "Deck The Hall Ball". They were an awesome show to see and are still making great music today. I would recommend a quick Google search if you haven't heard of them yet and like rock music :)

Original Track:

Lyrics:

Tonight I'll have a look
And try to find my face again
Buried beneath this house my spirit screams and dies again
Out back a monster wears a cloak of Persian leather
Behind the TV screen I've fallen to my knees

I said
You've got me where you want me again and I can't turn away
I'm hanging by a thread and I'm feeling like I'll fall
I'm stuck here in between these shadows of my yesterday
I want to get away
I need to get away

Blanket of silence makes me want to sink my teeth in deep
Burn all the evidence of fabricated disbelief
Pull back the curtains, took a look into your eyes
My tongue has now become a platform for your lies

I said
You've got me where you want me again and I can't turn away
I'm hanging by a thread and I'm feeling like I'll fall
I'm stuck here in between these shadows of my yesterday
I want to get away
I need to get away

Now you know, yeah, you've got my back against the wall
Oh God I ain't got no other place to hide
Chained down like a sitting duck just waiting for the fall
You know, yeah, you've got my back against the wall

Deep in the jungle camouflaged by all the fallen leaves
A hand holds up the sky while shamefully I make my plea
The altar's calling but my legs won't seem to stand
Guess I'm a coward scared to face the man I am

I said
You've got me where you want me again and I can't turn away
I'm hanging by a thread and I'm feeling like I'll fall
I'm stuck here in between these shadows of my yesterday
I want to get away
I need to get away

Now you know, yeah, you've got my back against the wall
Oh God I ain't got no other place to hide
Chained down like a sitting duck just waiting for the fall
You know, yeah, you've got my back against the wall

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! I can't believe all of the work you do for the music community here on Steem.

steemit-open-mic-week-116.png

And of course, thanks so much for any and all support, my friends! Steem On! <3


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi man, this is beauty... thank's for sharing this music, a hug from Venezuela.

#snapfeedback

Thanks very much for listening! Cheers

Just want to remind you that one of the rules to entering open mic is to say the words, Steemit Open Mic Weel 116 at the start of your video.

I know it kind of sucks to have to say that but it's the only way we have of stopping people from plagiarizing videos that are not theirs and using them to enter.

We know this is really you playing as you have been here for a while now, but here's the thing. If the judges pick your video as a winner this week and you didn't say those words at the start, and I choose you as a winner, I will end up getting a bunch of flack from people whos' entry I disqualified for not saying those words.

I hope you understand. I really look forward to hearing you play and consider you part of the Open Mic family. Thanks for your continued support and music.

  • Uncle Luz

Hey thanks for the heads up, I thought it might be an issue this way but I just threw that title intro in there instead... I’ll make sure it’s me in the flesh saying it in the future :) Cheers Luz, I am certainly glad to be part of the family!

Hi! I can tell you're not entirely comfortable with the vocals, but I loved the outcome. Instruments turned out nicely. Great cover!

Thank you so much for stopping by and listening, I appreciate your feedback :) Cheers!

wow...you did it very well brother love yhe way you play that music..hurrayyyy...

Thanks b!

welcome brother..

Posted using Partiko Android

Really nice work piecing all of that together. Sounds great!

Thanks very much :)

Nice work brother.

Thanks much :)

You have all my admiration, I love your talent and dedication brother, nice!

Much appreciated, friend!!

Not your vocal style? It looks so natural. I love the song, its crazy that this is actually my first time listening to it but it definitely is a song that leaves off a good impression and feeling.

You have an amazing voice and great skills handling the instruments too.

Thanks so much for your kind words @audreybits, I’m glad you dug it :)

Hi @k0wsk1!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.549 which ranks you at #6039 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 6044).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You really did nail this song @k0wsk1. Fantastic performance. Merry Christmas!

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

Click here to see the main post of who won Steemit Open Mic week 116

Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39