Steemit Open Mic Week #116: Original Music —You Only Live Once

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

YOLO: You Only Live Once.

The idea is to live fully and do it without regrets, right? But so often we hold back, afraid to go big and fail, or afraid of going against what is culturally considered as “normal,” or “okay.”

I do actually believe in reincarnation, but YOLO applies to this lifetime, this single version of who you are.


YOLO-open-mic-cover.jpg


This song was born of thoughts circling my head, as usual. It started in 3/4 time, but I shifted it into 4/4 and liked that better. Now it won’t get out of my head, but that’s okay. It’s so much fun to sing.

Big thanks to @snook for adding reverb to the audio! I’m hoping to record a “studio version” of just audio and maybe work with someone to mix it. Get my drums out and layer some tracks…

I filmed this video the same day I wrote the song. The lyrics came together in the morning, and I shot this around midnight with a tired voice that had sang this all day long, but I really like this performance as it captures the music in its essence.

Hope you enjoy it!


line

You Only Live Once


I didn’t plan it like this
Can’t help how I feel
But it’s good for the soul
And somehow it’s healing
To let this thing flow
Let myself know
How free I can live
How much I can give

You only live once
They said, they said
Again, and again
It gets in your head
And you realize
Beyond the disguise
Who you really are
And how far you’ll go

Only you will know
Parts of it will show
Parts of it will hide and grow
No one ever knows
How deeply they will dive
Until they touch the sky
A voice repeats inside
YOLO, YOLO, YOLO

I like myself more
Having opened this door
And a thousand doors besides
Didn’t feel good to hide
Gotta give yourself bliss
Isn’t worth it to miss
No point to deny
Just live honest and try

To see through the lies
Designed to disguise
How limitless we are
Free your soul, see how far
You can let yourself fly
You know the best why
Is the song deep inside
Sing it, don’t fight the tide

(chorus)

Life is bigger than that
Made of fear and lack
So much repressed
So many of us stressed
We bend and we break
We deny and we fake
But it doesn’t hold true
Doesn’t feel like you

I gave up already
Trying to be steady
To do what I “should”
What’s supposed to be good
I set myself free
Permission to be me
Now I grow like a tree
Into my soul I see

I’m bigger than all
The trips and the falls
The hurt and the walls
No more will I stall
Don’t know how much time
I have to call mine
So I’m gonna live
I’ve got so much to give

(chorus)

Original songwriting by Katrina Ariel

line

I am seriously in love with this song. Sometimes your own creations can blow you away. I know it’s long, but I couldn’t stop singing it. ;)

Each lifetime is a collection of stories. Often, the most difficult choices bring about the best stories, and the epic experiences are—in my mind—what we collect on a soul level. So dream big, live large, and roll with the waves that come.

Thanks for listening! Big gratitude to all who support music on the blockchain!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

didn't I write anything on here?

like how I am STILL listening to this song after 3 days? How this song makes me smile and bring great feels when I hear it. Your voice and music in this song makes my heart sing and want to be free.

Oh, and I kept my fancy version to watch LOLLLLLLLLLLL
Love You non craZy one!!

It gets in your head. I'm tellin' ya. ;)

Thank you SO much for making the audio sound sweeter. Your version of the video was super fun, but I went simple as to not distract from the song. For some reason I decided the music was complex enough. lol! You're amazing. Grateful for you.

One of my favs so far mama, don't fight the tide.

Indeed. Fighting the flow rarely turns out well. This has become one of my faves as well. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think these are the best lyrics that I have read from you until now. They really resonate with me and are powerful more than any words can describe! Amazing! 💚

Oh, love!!! Thank you. 💚💚💚 That makes me glow. :)

I LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I had to share it on my other social media account because it was sooo good! The guitar, your voice the emotions conveyed are marvelous!

What a fabulous compliment! Thank you! It makes me so happy to hear this. 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

I Love it, and the lyrics too
Yolo!
Trying to make the best of it
Congrats on your curie too
Open mc winnee this week? I hope (concentrates)

Wouldn't that be great? I hope so, but there are always so many amazing musicians who enter. Who knows. All I know is that this song feels amazing. So glad you can feel it, too. Thank you for the supersweet comment! ((hugs))

My sweet pixie, I'm gonna put a little candle :) It worked with Serena, well she had an amazing song but I kind of want to believe it worked, the candle :) so you have an amazing song, and the candle will be lit!

Gooooosebumps...This one touched the core 😊
I can relate to so much in this this song that it made my eyes tear up... And your voice 😍OMG
I LOOOVE THIS SONG ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️👌
👉LOLO 👈 So true... Don't fight it... Just LIVE IT!
Thank you for sharing this... Love your heart and soul sister ❤️🤗❤️
Congrats on the curie... well deserved

Thank you so much, and you are so welcome! When a song touches the core like that, it's special. I'm really grateful to be able to share it with you. And your comment makes my heart glow. So appreciated. ❤️

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 343 (12/17/18)

Most appreciated, thank you so much!

Beautiful song @katrina-ariel! Sounds really good too. Your voice is getting better each week. So happy you're part of this community.

Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness


vote-luzcypher-for-steem-witness.png

steemit_open_mic_thank_you_for_playing.png

Yay! So glad you like it. My new mic helps, as does @snook taking the track and adding some reverb, but thank you. I do think I'm growing as a musician, for sure. Open mic is a big part of that! :) #gratitude

Hi katrina-ariel,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!!!! I’m really proud of this one. So nice to know you find it worthwhile too. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Marvelous. I'm really glad this one got in your head and wouldn't let go until I could hear it.

This one is special. Thank you!

Aw, thank YOU! Thanks for recognizing that, and for the sweet comment. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34