Steemit Open Mic Week 83 - Original Song "If It Ain't Killing You" @martinsandersuk

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hi my friends, steemians, open mic'rs and music lovers. This is my entry for steemit open mic week 83.

I wrote this song after watching a documentary about cancer, where the doctors were reported to have said our odds of getting cancer in a lifetime were only 6-4 against!!

It's quite an uplifting tune though, and is not a song about cancer, but a song about 'our' fear of cancer, something that crosses every mind sometimes.

I'm not a religious man, but in this song I meet up with the Devil himself.

Don't be put off though, it's not a durgey depressing song, it's real enough, but at the sametime uplifting.

I personally consider this one of the best songs I've written from a songwriting point of view, but I imagine it's never going to be one of my most popular for obvious reasons. It does get well received when I play gigs in pubs and bars though, so I'm happy enough with getting away with that. It's not, after all, a subject that features strongly through music.

From the start of musical recording history back in the 20's/30's, songs about killer diseases were much more common, such as Jimmy Rogers beautiful "TB Blues", from which he died of a short time after recording the song. Death was much more a part of daily life in those days though. ....... if that makes any sense. You know, if you were poor, you were screwed, and then the differences the advances of medicine have made in the last 100 yrs etc.

I'm still getting a time sync drift between my audio/video files, you can see at the beginning all looks fine, after half way you start to notice a little, and by the end it's perhaps half a second or so out. I'm recording 60fps, audio at 48000hz. Editing sound in audacity and then the video and audio file editing and syncing etc in Lightworks 14

Anyways, I hope you all enjoy.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@martinsandersuk/hi-steemians-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-of

Facebook verification
https://www.facebook.com/martin.sanders.739/posts/10157435650814848

A red legged Golden Orb Weaver Spider. Thailand.
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@martinsandersuk/s-e-asia-photography-blog-nature-and-wildlife-red-legged-golden-orb-weaver-spider

My first steemit #openmic entry, 'old stylee' blues, on my favourite guitar, my much loved and adored '65 Gibson LG5. https://steemit.com/openmic/@martinsandersuk/steemit-open-mic-week-67-you-don-t-know-my-mind-joe-callicott-cover

I officially ride Moto Guzzi Motorcycles................ vroom, vroom!!

https://www.martinsandersphotography.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/martin.sanders.739
https://www.facebook.com/martinsandersphotography
https://www.flickr.com/photos/28448513@N03/

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Nice one, mate! I can see why you're proud of this one, man... :-)

Thanks @passion-ground, glad you dig it bro.

I do know I have emotional attachment to it too.

My old mate, and a musical duo partner for may years, Jimbo, who played some very cool blues harp, died very quickly earlier last year, from stomach cancer.

Ironically enough, this was one of his favourite songs in our sets.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

No problem bro, thanks for running the show! It was interesting to hear about the background of the @openmic, it's conception on the mspwaves show with @meno and a croaky voiced @krystle.

You and your team of helpers and supporters have definitely pulled off a blinder here! 👏👏👏

Congratulations @martinsandersuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @martinsandersuk! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @martinsandersuk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45