Hi Steemians, "Please allow me to introduce myself, I'm a man of..........."

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey hey, good Steemians, I'd like to say hello to you all and introduce myself if I may.

DSCF0223.jpg

My name is Martin Sanders, and I live in Nottingham in the UK. I'm a creative, working mostly in street/art/social documentary photography and also as a blues/bluesy musician, performing regularly both solo and with my band and manage the best I can to get by on what I can earn from the two, along with some juggling .............. of bills, not balls, that is, lol.

I hope the above photo helps verify me, if you look at my music videos or fb profile pics you can see that I am one and the same. :)

A good friend of mine and fellow steemian popped up on one of my fb photography posts, and simply said "you should post this stuff on steem". This is the photograph, posted a few days ago that inspired my mate to make the suggestion. The photograph was taken way back whilst studying at college, it's a scan from an original 16 x 12 inch print that I made in 1982!!! Unfortunately the negatives are long since lost during a big life change 15 or so years ago.
Binder1_Page_4-3.jpg

Well, I'll be honest, I'd never heard of Steemit.com until then. I wasn't surprised I'd never heard of it either though, as such things do seem pretty much unheard of to most creatives, an uncensored, self curated platform with many like minds, where we can share our work and ideas, seek feedback from each other, and on top of that there is a chance to earn (real!!) money passively if enough people enjoy what you're putting out there. "No, no, that can't be possibly be true, surely?".............. well yes it's clear to see that it is indeed possible. I don't hold too high an expectation there, but if you good people here do like my photography posts enough to make my day to day living any easier or it helps contribute towards my next equipment spend (lenses), that would be pretty freakin amazing!!

I've been shooting photographs with a strong passion for well over 3 decades now, I studied the craft at college in the early 80's, and I still mostly spend over 80 hours a week on and around my photography. I'm a proper addict to it and use the camera in virtually ALL aspects of my existance, I'm rarely without one at any time. I'm quite voyeuristic in my approach, especially in my street photography, but also in other work such as my ongoing series, 'photographie de l'erotique'. I've been posting my work in groups on fb for a while now and have built up a following of between 5 - 6,000 including my 'photography' page. www.facebook.com/martinsandersphotography . Much of my work on my personal page is publicly available too at www.facebook.com/martin.sanders.739 .

For anyone who has a bit of geek in them for camera gear, I'm now working mostly with Fuji X cameras, namely the x100s and the Xpro2. I just have the one lens for the Xpro2 so far, but it's gem of a glass, the XF16mm f1.4. I still have some of my canon gear, which I kept for the very occasional need for a quality long telephoto, and I've also been getting back into Polaroid emulsion transfers and manipulations using the Impossible Projects films.

Anyway, I hope you get to know and like my photography work over time, and that many of us become acquainted in the process. Here's a link to a youtube video I made of a selection of my photography, the accompanying music was found amongst youtubes free to use selection and reminds me a little of the theme tune to the TV series MASH. It can be viewed in HD1080

You never know you might just dig my blues music too, I hope so. Here's a youtube link to my own arrangement of Cocaine (all around my brain). HD1080 quality.

Here's a photo taken more recently at the Nottingham Goose Fair.

IMG_1369-Edit-3.jpg!

Thanks very much for reading through my introduction, I look forward to regularly posting photographs and catching up with what you guys are posting up here at steemit.

Please hit up the follow button, and if you like what you see in my work I'd be very grateful for any comments, votes and 'upvoting' action.

Best regards for now, Martin.

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit! You are gonna like it really soon :D
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Hi, thanks for the warm welcome here @hien-tran. I'm enjoying it so far, and hoping very much that the enjoyment grows with my involvement here. :)

Welcome to the steemit community God bless you
Good Luck!

Thank you a1-jonesblogger. Please follow me if you like, and keep informed of my future posts. :)

Hey Martin, I like your works and I’m a street photography enthusiast too. Upvoted and following... I also posted my self-intro yesterday. Let’s steem on!

Thanks @itchyfeetdonica, I'll pop over to yours and take a look. :)

hello @martinsanderuk great singer just up-voted and followed you

Hey thanks very much. I'm glad you liked the my arrangement of Cocaine (all around my brain), and thanks for the upvote and follow

you're followed, thanks danimal

thanks for the follow it means a lot

@martinsandersuk, genuinely love your B&W documentary pics mate, the one of the girl above with the balloons and all those men and boys around her is priceless

Thank you @alexabbottphoto, really happy you like my photographs. Plenty more to come yet, hope you stay tuned.

Great intro and glad to see you already got a decent reward on it :) Resteemed you via @welcoming so you will get even more visibility - It's my service for resteeming promising newcomers! Steem on!

Hey there @theaustrianguy, thank you so much. I hope you come across more of my work here at steemit, and enjoy it.

Very beautiful photography ! Welcome on board

Hey @marinaart, thank you very much, and thanks for the welcome.

Congratulations @martinsandersuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love the photographs! And welcome to this growing family of Steemit, hope to keep seeing you around.

Remember to follow us @kensholife for ideas, tips and tools on well-being and sustainability!

I am definitely going to need that @kensholife

Thanks Kensholife, I'll drop in fora look and follow, please also follow me here too for more photos and music too. Thanks for voting here.

Welcome to Steemit. Nice to meet you. Get ready for an interesting ride ;)

Thank you @allesia, I'm looking forward to a thrilling ride. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50