So you enjoy watching/entering Open mic? READ THIS!!

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

We are on week 86 of the open mic! 86!!!! Isn't that just insane? Congratulations to all the winners of week 85!

I recently read @passion-ground's Open mic top 5 picks and while I enjoyed the winning entries very much, I also found a troubling piece of text, apparently @pfunk is no longer on the top 20 of the witness list, I was having a bit of a deja-vu feeling to say the least.

I found it troubling because @pfunk is one of the main supporters of our beloved Open mic contest and him being below number 20 means that he's not getting back the support he gives us and so the reward pool for the contest will have to be lowered.

Here is what he had to say about it:

YO, MAN – AS I WRITE, @PFUNK IS SLIPPING BENEATH THE 20 LEVEL PEOPLE… WHAT’S UP WITH THAT, FOLKS? I HAVE JUST ONE QUESTION: HAS EVERY SINGLE INDIVIDUAL LISTED IN THE CURRENT “SEE WHO PLAYED LIST” VOTED FOR @PFUNK AS WITNESS? CHECK YOUR SHIT PEOPLE, AND IF YOU HAVE YET TO DO SO – DO IT NOW!

And then I read @luzcypher's announcement about this very same topic, letting us know that, indeed, the prize pool for the contest would have to be lowered. You can read that one RIGHT HERE

If you are reading this, I invite you to at least check if you have voted for the witnesses that have been supporting us all, and if you haven't yet, PLEASE vote for @pfunk, @ausbitbank and @teamsteem as a witness, you can do so right HERE

It's not about the money

To my knowledge, the open mic contest is one of the biggest and most well known community building places in all of steemit. We recently grew to more than 1 million accounts on steemit and I feel like I can safely say that Open mic has a lot to do with that.

As musicians we know how hard it is to get any recognition or acknowledgement on any platform, no matter how good you are or how hard you try. On Open mic we are appreciated and acknowledged faster and more often than anywhere else I've ever seen. That recognition pushes us to work hard and try stuff and not giving up. That is invaluable.

Sure, earning some SBD on our posts or winning some steem feels amazing but in some cases it can change lives.

I recently won week 84 of the open mic, and thanks to that I am almost free of debt in my fiat life, and that means the world to me, for some people it has meant that they can feed their family, or save up to leave Venezuela for less troublesome countries.

The fact that the reward pool can be won every week has the effect of bringing in incredible talent and people to steemit. Sure, we all love being rewarded for our hard work, but Open mic is most definitely not just about money, it's about community.

In that vein of thinking I also invite you to read @meno's post on how all of us can help. You can read it HERE

When you read it you'll understand this:

Come for.png

They say this about steemit, and I feel it to be true, but one of the main reasons why I feel it's true is the people I've met on Open mic. Tremendously hard working and kind people like @meno, @krystle and @isaria, , @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @luzcypher. Incredible talents like @chaifm, @melavie, @yidneth, @nathankaye and many many others!

.Why vote for witness?

Well, to put it simply, steemit could not run without witnesses, although witneses don't need to interact with us lowly plankton and minnows, some of them actually do, and some of them do so to improve and help better the lives of creative people that, in many cases, hadn't found a voice until they found steemit.

People like @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @curie, @cervantes, and @teamsteem , not only try to innovate and offer services to us all, they also they also help fund and curate us as creators and for that alone they deserve your vote and mine as well.

Ok, that's enough of my ranting for now! I hope you ponder a little more on this subject after reading this.

Til' my next post!

Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

Sign off.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @luisferchav! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

thank you for putting the word out there my friend, and thinking of the community!

For sure brother! this is the least I could do, I will look into doing what you proposed on your post! :)

Thanks for the shout out and your support and wonderful music.

Hey @luzcypher! thank you for your kind words!
this is the least I could do about that announcement hehe :)

you can be part of this vast world if you have a google account if not no dice

Good brother!! .. as they say in my country "MORE CLEAR DOES NOT SING A GALLO" ... excellent reasoning, I think that this reasoning of yours is what you need open mic and steemit in general ...

Bien hermano!! .. como dicen en mi pais "MAS CLARO NO CANTA UN GALLO"... exelente razonamiento, creo que de ese razonamiento tuyo es lo que necesita open mic y steemit en general...

Buena onda!
Ojalá mas de nosotros se tomen el tiempo de ayudar con este tema!

Thanks for calling me "kind" it's like a super sweet compliment to me...
For me it has been the same thing, it has helped me to build connections with so many fellow musicians... true, I won it and reward was welcome, but I can honestly say it was not the goal, welcome be, had a great time and I felt honoured. I already voted for pfunk ages ago, and I still not sure about setting up what meno says as I never use apps out of steemit, but I'll find my ways to support, and one is that I will keep on participating and shouting out... I'm brainstorming myself these days to see what I can do and write. Thanks for sharing this.

Awesome! :)
Yeah, After being here the winning part is not as important. Meno's proposition seems a little complicated, but , I'll find a way hehe :)

You are already helping by doing this shout out :)

Done! Thanks for putting the info out there!

Congratulations @luisferchav! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @luisferchav! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @luisferchav! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15