Steemit Open Mic Prizes Are Temporarily Reduced Until Further Notice

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Just letting everyone know that the prizes for the Open Mic contest will be reduced until further notice.

@pfunk has been donating Steem to go towards the Open Mic contest. He usually gives at least 200 Steem and I kick in another 100 Steem each week.

Source

Unfortunately, for the last few weeks, @pfunk has slipped to the number 21 position as a witness. That means he earns less and as a result has been donating 100 Steem and I have been making up the difference with another 200 Steem.

I don't earn enough Steem to continue doing that. It's a lot of work to run Open Mic and I don't mind the work or even paying for it, but it is not sustainable at this point. I'm actually losing Steem giving that much as a prize.

So until we can get @pfunk back into the top 20 or find some other sources of funding, or get enough upvotes on the Open Mic posts to cover the Steem prize I have no choice but to reduce the prize payouts.

I hope everyone understands.

You can upvote @pfunk as a witness here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Just scroll down until you see his name and upvote it. You will need to log in with your active key to do so.

Thanks for understanding and I will let everyone know if this changes in the future.


The new payout, for now, beginning week 86 will be: (Week 85 will still payout 300 Steem as promised)

100 Steem from @pfunk
100 Steem from @luzcypher

Prizes

1st: 80 Steem
2nd: 40 Steem
3rd: 26 Steem
4th: 26 Steem
5th: 26 Steem


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

sounds like we def need to work on getting @pfunk up the charts as witness I hope to contribute to this cause here in post form shortly.

I'd still play even if there weren't any prizes. Well, I basically am at this point anyway. Still got a couple of level-ups to go before I'm in that neighborhood.

I haven't been as good at hitting the posts as I should be. I went back and got all the still-active ones, and I put you on my minute-zero SteemAuto list.

I was already voting for pFunk but I went and made sure the other accounts I manage are as well. It's only ~31 SP right now but every little bit helps.

It was rea;;y cool of you to pay out bonuses to some select entries for week 85. I want to thank you once again.

https://steemit.com/music/@tcpolymath/unoffical-bonus-prizes-for-steemit-open-mic-week-85

It's fun, and gives me extra reason to make sure I listen to all the originals, plus something I can use to promote Steem on my other social media. I don't see any reason not to keep doing it indefinitely.

good man

In all honesty first time I won it I did not even know what the prize was, and welcome be, super grateful but was not and should not be the reason to participate. I think next week I will have time to make one ❤️❤️❤️
We got this.
Everyone maybe it is time also to promote a way all contestants support each other too by feedback and encouragement.

Open mic for me was my first landing into the music "community" and helped me to find fellow musician friends on steem... So live on...
I voted for pfunk a month or two ago but we will keep spreading the word.

I'm so glad we were able to help in some small way for you to find your family here on Steemit. Thanks for the beautiful music you have shared with us.

Aw thanks, more to come on open mic hopefully soon.

Edited the trail of typos on my post, seriously if I write on phone it happens to me a lot.

I’ve already voted for @pfunk for a witness, but hopefully everyone can pitch in and get him back in the top 20 again. Although prizes are nice, I think most of us can generally agree that it’s not about money in the openmic family, but more about community. All of the hard work and dedication from both you and @pfunk is greatly appreciated!

Thanks for that and the music.

Just a bump in the road... no biggie Senpai... :)

Just added this to the post.

The new payout for now will be:

100 Steem from @pfunk
100 Steem from @luzcypher

Prizes
1st: 80 Steem
2nd: 40 Steem
3rd: 26 Steem
4th: 26 Steem
5th: 26 Steem

Wow!, very generous 😊

I've really enjoyed just being a part of the Steemit Openmic and creating music! While the Steem prizes are great incentive, I would still be a part of the openmic without them 😏
Thank you for having it and putting so much work into it every week. I really appreciate all of the people who make the Steemit Openmic a possibility and invest so much time and resources into it.

Aww, that really touches my heart and is a big part of what keeps me going on Steemit. Thanks for your support and encouragement.

You're welcome. I'm looking forward to continuing being a part of Steemit Openmic 😏

I greatly congratulate your support with us so that each week we can show our talent and if you have to reduce the amount in prize then do it, it seems right because only with participation and we win a lot, as support and additional profits, I particularly think it is sensible to reduce it, I have never won this contest but it helped me a lot so that more people know my talent and learn from others who are in this contest. Keep up the support is net

Thanks for your kind words of encouragement.

I am more grateful to you that thanks to your contest I dared to do something new besides playing in symphonic that was a challenge for me, and the community has helped me a lot to do much better, although I have not won the award I have gained experience and More motivation to follow in what I like. So the amount of SBD that you give for the prize is only insensitive but the best prize we can have is THAT MANY MORE PEOPLE KNOW OUR TALENT so keep it up and if the awards go down no matter do not stop doing this contest.

I greatly congratulate your support with us so that each week we can show our talent and if you have to reduce the amount in prize then do it, it seems right because only with participation and we win a lot, as support and additional profits, I particularly think it is sensible to reduce it, I have never won this contest but it helped me a lot so that more people know my talent and learn from others who are in this contest. Keep up the support is net

Thanks for your continued support and sharing your music.

I love the slogan of your picture.
“When you give STEEM, it gives back” 👍

I voted! Let's keep it goin' fellas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45