Cool Stuff Curation: Steemit Open Mic Edition (Week 47 Judge's Picks)

in #openmic7 years ago

IMG_1782.JPG


What a great week at Steemit Open Mic Week 47!

In this weekly installment of the Open Mic Night Edition of Cool Stuff Curation, I will break down some of my favorite entries from Steemit Open Mic Night, of which I am a judge, along with @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, and @krystle.

As I have mentioned before, we all have different tastes and preferences we bring to the table, and it's such a rewarding experience seeing what each judge gravitates toward and how we all recognize how difficult our jobs are considering how much talent is on this platform.


You can see all the entries from Week 47 by checking out this post:

Steemit Open Mic Week 47 - See Who Played Open Mic And Vote For Your Favorite Steemian Musicians


Make sure you are following @luzcypher for all pertinent Open Mic updates!

...AND FOLLOW YOUR OFFICIAL OPEN MIC JUDGES!

@luzcypher, @verbal-d, @krystle, @soundlegion, @jessamynorchard


Thank you to @pfunk for his considerable and sustaining sponsorship of the contest, so winners can receive real Steem for their efforts. @pfunk is also a witness...if you love Open Mic and appreciate those efforts, please cast your vote for @pfunk as a witness.


If you are new to Open Mic, you will find these posts from @luzcypher totally helpful:

What Are The Rules To Enter Steemit Open Mic And Why Do We Have Rules Anyways?

Steemit Open Mic Week 48 - Record Your Performance On Your Phone, Enter And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher

Announcement: Steemit Open Mic Official Judges Panel



ONWARD TO COOL STUFF...OPEN MIC STYLE!

YOU ARE SO TALENTED!

IMG_1460.JPG

Steemit OpenMic week 47 - (Original Song) "Hold On"

@kjablonski is a powerhouse, and if she isn't on your radar, she definitely should be. This week she shared a beautiful and raw performance of her original song, "Hold On," and her vocals are just completely gorgeous along with deep lyrics that tell a great story through the course of the track.

Kate's voice is completely gorgeous, but more than that, her songs are always on point, and always of quality. I always enjoy what she brings to the table, and she is definitely doing her part to raise the bar of excellence here on the platform!

...and that note at about the 3-minute-mark...

BUTTER!!!

(Seriously, listen to this track.)


IMG_1777.JPG


STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 47: "One and One" original Song written and performed by brudaj and senzenfrenz

@senzenfrenz and @brudaj killed it this week with an original collaboration called "One and One," that they wrote together for the purpose of Open Mic. Incredibly Cool. I've said before that I love seeing Steemians collaborating with each other and coming up with some incredibly cool things...as we see here with these two fellas.

I really felt like this track was a true old school folk tune...in the same company as Simon & Garfunkel with the sugary sweet pop sensibilities of Hall & Oates, which was also mentioned in the comments of the OP by @elliotjgardner (great call on that one, by the way).


IMG_1778.JPG


Steemit Open Mic Week 47: Org. Arr. of Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words) by Bart Howard

@oliverwaterman continues to blow me away with the classical guitar he shares with us on the regular. This week's contribution was especially notable to me because this is an original arrangement for classical guitar of a song made popular by Frank Sinatra, "Fly Me to the Moon," and I must say that this entry for the week just gets sweeter as the five-and-a-half minutes just float away while you're listening to it. Good grief. I listened to this one a few times, and added to my YT Liked Videos so I can be sure to access it again. I'll be visiting this one again, for sure.

Oliver is truly a skilled, passionate, and incredibly talented musician, as well as being active in the Steemit music community, so I highly suggest you give him a follow after you check out his entry from this week.


IMG_1780.JPG


Steemit Openmic Week 47 - [Original Song] - Turn Back Time

@jaybird has been around on Steemit just a little longer than I have (he's a month older than me in Steemit years), and having followed his account pretty much from the beginning, I can totally tell you he shares all kinds of cool stuff with us: everything from music to manwiches...it's all there. This week he brought us an original song called "Turn Back Time," and even though in his description he mentioned that the song had fluff lyrics, I think this song has a lot of outstanding sensibility that has a badass mid-90s vibe to it...I'm thinking along the lines of like Better Than Ezra, Spin Doctors, and maybe a little Black Crowes, even.

Great entry this week from @jaybird, and another all-around excellent account to follow.


IMG_1776.JPG


OPEN MIC WEEK 47 - Funky drum improvisation

@mrjl brings us some tasty musical diversity to the table this week, and that's really where he gets my vote. Not only was the drum improvisation indeed funky, but it also truly goes to show that one doesn't have to be a guitar picker to enter Open Mic with original material!! There are so many instruments out there, and Open Mic is a great place to showcase your musical talents across the board.

Really groovy beat to jam out on...only con I had was that the track ended pretty abruptly at 2:14, when I could've listened to that groove easily for a good 10 minutes. :)


To see the OFFICIAL WINNERS, follow this link! Congrats to the winners!!

Steemit Open Mic Week 47 Winners - See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week

IMG_1458.JPG



SEE YOU AT OPEN MIC WEEK 48

steemit_open_mic_48.png

Steemit Open Mic Week 48 - Record Your Performance On Your Phone, Enter And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher



Stock photos are used with permissions from Gratisography.com and edited to include text.


I am headed to the studio on Wednesday through Friday of this week to record the new EP, and I can't tell you how excited I am to get these tracks down and out to all of you. If you think to do so, please send me any good vibes and light you have to spare. I could definitely use it, my friends. Thank you for all you do to uplift my spirit, inspire, and motivate me on a daily basis. I am grateful.

Yours,
Jessamyn



Sort:  

Everyone is hoping for a fair and wise judge, I think you are very suitable to play it, @pfunk as a witness will show this plan runs smoothly, I will try to vote for beautiful musicians that I like.

Thank you very much for the honor to have your appreciation through your post! I am very proud now!! Resteemed and upvotet!

Awesome post and picks @jessamynorchard! It's so good having you aboard.

Wow, this will look amazing, many people will see this post, they will not think twice to follow the instructions in the contents of this post.

Very cool as always.

Ahhh what an awesome and thoughtful review! It means a lot to know people are hearing and appreciating what I'm putting out there. Thank you 😊✌🏼

Thanks Jess, appreciate the shout out immensely!

Your 1 month senior,

jaybird ;)

very good post, thx for sharing!

cool kids cooool stuuuffff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17