Steemit Open Mic #75 - "Mundane Things" (original song) - @itinerantartist

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I give a little intro at the beginning of the video, hopefully doesn't deter anyone from hearing the song. If you'd rather just hear the song, fast forward to around 0:57 and I'll start playing:) For those of you who'd rather read, I outline at the beginning how this is a new song, it's really rough, and probably not ready to publish out in the big blockchain world. I arrived home last night after traveling for work the past 4 days and was completely exhausted - planning to record a cover since this wasn't quite finished and finessed. But low and behold, the second I picked up my guitar it was the only thing that would come out of me. This song was really calling to me. So, unpolished and definitely not perfect - I had to piece together a few missing lyrics to tie the story together. I struggled with recording this one as well, because it's new and the break in patten and chords and fingerpicking (I pluck one string, strum, pause strum the same chord then move fast to pluck the next chord and string) was really difficult for me as I'm not the best musician (even after playing guitar for years I still play at the campfire level - which is a funny way of referencing when your friends gather around a campfire during summers and someone grabs a guitar so we can all sing along). Anyway, it took me about 30 attempts before the recording was decent enough with minimal mistakes, which is bizarre for me because normally I feel okay with submitting after 2 or 3 takes. So, here it is - abhorrently human and filled to the brim with little mishaps, reminding me just what it's like to walk in this world as an imperfect being.

The meaning of the song is quite special, although lyrically it still needs a little refining. The song is actually inspired by a poem I have been in the process of writing for my poetry series Handwritten Reveries, that will hopefully be finished soon, in which case I’ll publish more about the relationship between the two and the deeper meaning of the poem then.

The song itself takes a little different spin, reflecting on how subtle special moments that are so blasé and mundane can end up making the most meaningful moments and connections. It details out three particular instances, the first where the singer portrays a moment of "people-watching" with their lover and reflects on some of the conversations it brought out, with a small undertone of sadness tying it together. The second verse refers to the second moment, how just being together - doing things like breathing, blinking, and sighing - create moments that would inspire profound poetry by the likes of the 13th Century Persian poet Rumi. The third verse references a type of future dream-state, referring to the line You make the craziest ideas / Totally attaining, and like in my other song "Future" references the recent SpaceX Falcon Heavy launch and beautiful artist rendering of Starman, sitting on his Tesla on Mars drinking coffee. You can find the artwork I reference in the song on the artist's Instagram .



Lyrics

Let's play our window watching game
Where we ponder, wonder why
The winds and rains become our friends
But the people just pass by

—And I don’t really know why, but
You make the most mundane things
Seem so exhilarating
You make the craziest ideas
Totally attaining

Let's make profound poetry
When we breathe and blink and sigh
Turn these moments into words
Rumi himself would write

—And I don’t really know why, but
You make the most mundane things
Seem so exhilarating
You make the craziest ideas
Totally attaining

Let's float away from the coastline
In a red sportcar
Let's end up on mars
Drinking coffee

—And I don’t really know why, but
You make the most mundane things
Seem so exhilarating
You make the craziest ideas
Totally attaining


Listen to more of my original songs on Soundcloud

Check out my other open mic videos:
Open Mic Week #71
Open Mic Week #73

Sort:  

A warm song and an affectionate voice

thank you! glad you enjoyed the song!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

thanks @tts ! love this feature, especially for the seeing-impaired. youre providing a great service to the community <3

very nice, reminded me of Joanna Newsom a little, a sweetness in your voice. Glad you put it out there!

this compliment made my WEEK! maybe my YEAR! definitely best compliment of 2018 :D

I absolutely LOVE joanna newsom although only heard of her about six months ago. But her music - her art - is so downright inspiring. real artistry. she doesn't conform for anyone or anything, and i also like unpolished it feels sometimes, so very raw and full of talent. she really is incredible. thank you so much for commenting and ill never forget the compliment! :)

haha wow, so glad you have heard of her, she got me through some dark times.

she has such a power with what she does with words. its like magic. glad to hear she helped you out of those times and you're not still in them <3

I think your song is very good. I hope this time you can be a winner in openmic.

aw thank you so much @albertjester ! means a lot to me!

This post has received a 43.58% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Love your voice.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

thank you as always @luzcypher! a shoutout to you in our recent new steemit redesigns for all the amazing work @openmic does!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by itinerantartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Such a nice voice!! But... i couldn't stop staring at the board behind it, with that amount of connections are you trying to conquer the world or something?

You don't even like coffee

lol i know - but had to reference the Starman artwork! it was just TOO good. did you see it? i linked it up in the post: https://www.instagram.com/deluceart/?hl=en

yes lol I'm just giving you shit ;)

Yo, girlfriend, there is nothing mundane about the blackboard behind you! Wow, talk about Carrie from “Homeland,” I mean, holy frickin’ sh!t! Despite my casual observations, this is quite the cool tune! Nice!

thanks so much! just seeing this, but absolutely made my day:) the blackboard is part of my professional pursuits, which often inspire my artistic ones. i mostly use this account for my art - but thinking to break into the fun work i do soon. its all about designing a platform to support the future way of working in developing advanced engineering projects for the built environment and a bunch of other nerdy stuff;p! steemit is a daily source of inspo for sure!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97