STEEMIT Open Mic Week 59 - Mediocre - Original Song by @chrisroberts

in #openmic7 years ago

I'm back with another original this week


I think this one could go platinum! (I don't really know what go platinum means) Nope, to tell you the truth, it's probably quite Mediocre. But that's fine. Here goes.



Lyrics

Some say “It’s a curse,
Oh God, it’s the worst.
How can I persevere?”
But I know where I stand
And I am what I am;
My destiny’s always been clear.

Chorus:
Mediocre, mediocre, it's always been so,
Met with indifference wherever I go
Won't catch me headlining some big music show
'Cause I'm mediocre as hell.

I wrote me a dissertation on a scientific proof,
Thought it was groundbreakin’, but you all know the truth,
It was mediocre, and I looked like a goof
To the greater scientific community.

CHORUS

In first grade at the talent show, I danced my best routine,
The sequins on my sparkly pants, they made quite a scene,
Well let’s just say, I wish that day, that all they were was mean,
Cause I wasn’t good, and I wasn’t bad, I was somewhere in between,

CHORUS

Mediocre, Mediocre, I’ve never been the best
That’s the one thing I’ve in common with almost all the rest.
You can’t expect to find perfection; don’t make it your quest.
Just be mediocre with me.

One Sunday I wrote a song for Steemit Open Mic,
I knew a few were bound to view, but none were bound to like,
Cause being mediocre is like riding a bike,
And riding a bike is something I can do.

CHORUS.


If you thought that was delightfully mediocre, here's some other songs I've written in the last couple months. Prepare to be meh.

There's Nothing Good On Facebook Anymore - An Original Country Song
The Conspiracy Song - An Original Country Song
Broke Again - An Original Country Song
Steem It! - A Parody of Michael Jackson's Beat It


As always, the inspiration for this song and this post were provided by Steemit Open Mic. Huge thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk!

steemit_open_mic_week_59.png


Let's take back Mediocrity!

Sort:  

I follow your original singer/songwriting talents, but this really is the worst, LOL - and that's not a challenge to you to outdo this latest addition to your life's opus. Please stop :) have a lovely day and Happy Steeming

Man I feel like you are talking about me on some times in my life haha. Good work, your song it's really nice man.

Great, thanks for your feedback! A lot of folks seem to relate.

The funny thing is we're all our own worst critics, so even the best and brightest probably think of themselves as mediocre.

Nuthin' at all mediocre about your song-writing and entertainment skills... Totally enjoyed this, Chris!

Yeah, @passion-ground says it straight. Your song-writing is smart, and your entertainment value is so very skillful. You are a true talent, and you know it, you poet! :)

I really appreciate the support. I'm really digging the creative flow that Steemit is helping me with.

Thanks a lot, @passion-ground! And congrats on taking over the judgeship... judgehood... whatever. That's gonna keep you busy, your excellency. Is "your excellency" the proper form of address? 😁 😆 😅 😂

I'm excited about the upcoming songwriting competition. I kind of thrive on competition, and I don't currently have a guitar. I was just asking @meno in a comment about possibly ordering one for SBD. Anyway, I'll be there!

Yeah, I'm looking forward to @meno's songwriting challenge too! Is that starting soon? It's really good to see your many talents displayed here, @chrisroberts.

Thanks! @Meno just announced earlier some of the details of the contest. Here is the link to his post. I think the contest is starting next week, within the #openmic venue.

I make this my theme song! As my motto here on steem is 'mediocre at best' and I stay true to that.
That sounded like the story of my life!

Awesome, thanks for watching! I'm glad it's relateable. I'm continually blown away by all the #openmic talent. That's really what made this song happen.

"Going Gold" is the music industry's parlance for selling 500,000 copies of an album. "Going Platinum" means the album has gone to the next step, doubling the sales to 1 million copies.

This was very entertaining and mediocre at best, but kept me watching and singing along until the end. I could hear this proudly blasting out of pickup trucks all over America.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Yeah, blasting out of pickup trucks or "Big Wheels" radios–thinking my kids would dig it! Seriously. Here in Austin, we have some very successful children's music entertainers.

Thanks for clearing that up. Apparently I was just going to go on not knowing. 😄 😁
Thanks for your support, @luzcypher!

Apparently I was just going to go on not knowing.

and somehow life would have been just fine.

I enjoyed your song bro, it's so good!

So original!
Upvoted and resteemed!

Awesome! I really appreciate that, @donwhale!

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63