Open Mic Week 56 - Original "The Conspiracy Song"

in #openmic7 years ago

Howdy Steemland! Here's my entry for this week's

Open Mic...

It's an original comedy country song from yours truly, in its world debut!


I present The Conspiracy Song



Lyrics

It’s a god-danged conspiracy,
That’s the way that the world makes sense to me.
Gonna watch me some Youtube until my eyeballs start to bleed.
And I’m gonna sit right there in my comfiest chair,
With some chips and a curious and empty stare,
And say to myself, shit it just ain’t fair
That it’s a god-danged conspiracy.

What do you know?
Besides what you been told.
Deception’s run the world since days of olde.
Cause the more they let the people think,
The more the people just gonna make a stink,
I’ll shake my head slow and take another drink,
Cause it’s a god-danged conspiracy.

It’s nothin but a conspiracy,
It’s the truth behind the crap on your TV,
And if you bought all that, no big deal, but you probably been deceived.
What would you do, tell me, where would you go,
If you learned a bunch of shit you never wanted to know?
I’d try not to say that I told you so;
It’s a god-danged conspiracy.

It’s a god-danged conspiracy,
Every single page of history.
I firmly realize it’s a world of lies, but that’s alright with me.
Cause what’s really right, and who is wrong,
Except for the fool that wrote this song,
And you are right where you belong,
But it’s a god-danged conspiracy.


Huge thanks to @luzcypher for hosting Steemit Open Mic! And @pfunk for sponsoring!

This contest may just seem like a great way for musical artists to get their material seen by some more eyeballs, but it's a lot more than that. Just in the last few weeks, being involved in Open Mic has driven me to write new songs, and to finish old songs to which I thought I would never return. There are so many obvious benefits to participating, but for me the greatest is inspiration itself. I'm probably not the only one finding a treasure of inspiration in this community.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who makes Open Mic possible!

HERE is my original song entry from last week, called Broke Again.

Sort:  

Oh, I got a few chuckles out of this one alright... Ha-haaaaa! Great fun tune with really good humor and clever lyrics about the rabbit hole many of us find ourselves wandering in from time-to-time... Ain't it the TRUTH :-)

Thanks!

I started writing this song a few months ago, originally thinking it was going to have more specifics about conspiracy theories, but when I sat down yesterday and finished it, I realized it was more of a general conspiracy song. I wanted to find some common ground within all of our crazy crazy beliefs.

The rabbit hole goes on forever.😵🤣

Very nice, I particularly like the line 'what do you know besides what you've been told', it brings home the point that all knowledge has to come from somewhere and we all believe 'what we're told' by someone. Upped and resteemed.

Glad you liked it, and thank you so much for the resteem!

It's hard for me to even think of any examples of things that I've learned entirely on my own. I guess even knowledge most of the time comes down to faith and trust.

Good song!
I like offbeat lyrics and originals.
Good performance.

Thanks a lot, Tom! There's probably plenty more where that came from... I'm enjoying Open Mic - it's really giving me an excuse to actually finish things.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 8.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @chrisroberts
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrisroberts to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Funny song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Original, muy bueno...

Thank you kindly!

Man I relate to this song sooo much!! hahahaha love your style brother...

Cheers Mate

I figured there's a lot of Steemers out there who can relate. We've all dived down the rabbit hole...

Thanks for watching and commenting! It's awesome to get support from real musicians. I'm more of a hobby, comedy songwriting kind of guy, but I feel welcome at Open Mic. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47