Steemit Open Mic Week 63 - Eat You Alive *Original*

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Here's a song I wrote to a cheating lover from a pit of despair. Then, from the ashes I rose!


Well, it's a crappy thing to do to a person. A 'life partner', at that. But alas, people do it all the time. I've never really been able to empathize with the desire to be deceitful to those I love. Frankly, it just sounds like a hell of a lot of work.

But hey - I believe there's such a thing as a healthy amount of heartbreak. It's an achievement to be able to move forward. So I wouldn't change a thing. Sometimes you get a nice song out of it. Now I have this artifact to remind me of my self-respect and resilience. I hope you enjoy it! And thanks for watching/listening/making #openmic a thing!

Be sure to check out all the week 63 open mic submissions here and vote vote vote! ;)

20368992_10213911974095815_4883162696003108027_o.jpg

By the way, I'm just a little minnow here.
So, if you feel inclined, check out my introduction post or my band.
Steemit people, you da best. <3

Sort:  

Sounds great!

That was fantastic! I would love to have the chorus come a little earlier.
But what a voice you have! ✨

Thanks! I guess I don't really think of it as having a chorus, actually. But the songs I wrote years ago, like this one, we're admittedly more long winded than songs I've written recently :)

You won 1st place in the Steemit Open Mic contest! Congratulations!
You won 120 Steem!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-63-winners-see-who-won-open-mic-and-join-us-this-week

@luzcypher! I can't believe it!!!! What an honor. Thank you so so so much. My musical debut was at an open mic 5 years ago, and I've never stopped loving them and attending them all over the world with my partner @kindstranger. This is my first internet open mic, however! I'm feeling the love just the same <3

Congrats!! You deserve it! You're performance gave me goosebumps. Can't wait to see more entries from ya :)

Listening to you now on mspwaves. This song...yes...

Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Heya @intuitivejakob: thank you so so much! You will certainly get more! Sorry, but what's mspwaves?

You are so so welcome!

If you're on the Peace, Abundance, Liberty server on Discord, you can find the channel. We have radio shows. (Link to PAL: https://discordapp.com/invite/GUuCXgY)

You can also catch it on www.mspwaves.com

Whoa, ok that's a whole new world that I'm not really aware of! Did my song get put on there somehow? I'm honored!

You were just on when I was texting you. Live show going on now. There will be votes soon.

Sorry to be so unaware....there's a direct link to my account then? Does the voting work the same as on the steemit platform? Will I be notified somewhere?

If I'm conveying panic in my typing, I promise I'm chilllllll ;)

You did it again. What an amazing voice. Yes you did get a great song out of a shitty situation.

@seareader you're making my heart swell. thank you kindly.

You are very welcome. You deserve it. You did a wonderful job on the song. You have a wonderful talent.

Wow what an amazing job! See you came in 3rd that is spectacular. Only way to go from here is up <3

Wonderful entry @amyinautumn, glad to see you’re healing and expressing musically.

You made my top list for judging of Open Mic Week 63,
Please read my full review of here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-63-original-blog

Wow, I'm honored to be a part of this list! I'm looking forward to the others you've discovered! Thank you @verbal-d

You’re very welcome, it is great to give back to our community and I am glad you are a part of us. Keep playing and singing and creating. You were awesome

THE GIRL'S GOT PIPES! 🙌🏻

You just did what in my mind is the scariest thing anyone could ever do by recording and posting an original song like that- fair dues girl! Really enjoyed that!

Keep up the great work!

Love love love it! Have you started using Dtube yet? If not, you should get on it 😁

No @cristinamuah! I've never heard of it........I'm curious....

im No expert but super simplified, what Steemit is to a traditional blogging platform, Dtube is to Youtube. I think you could get good views and traction on your videos and make money there too while integrating your videos into these posts. Dtube is a trending tag.. check it out and it will also give you a chance to see how people are using it.

Also, thank you for the support!

A lot of great songs come from deeply painful experiences and chemically flirting with the physical limits of reality. The music business thrives on it. I'm glad I got out when I did.

Listening to your song and the way you sing it, I can hear that authentic anguish with a hint of sarcastic relief. Nicely played. Hope to hear more from you.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

@luzcypher, I really appreciate it! And the whole organization of this open mic! I can't imagine all the submissions you've listened to and community support you've provided. Music is one of the greatest beauties in life, so I'm happy to have people like you curating all of its magic <3

LOVE YOUR VOICE! this is a great great song im so into it. little bit florence welsh and winehouse so nice love it

Thank you @soundlegion!!!!! You're making me smile!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50