Nth Society writing competition - imagine the world

in #nth-society6 years ago (edited)

nth_society_logo_color_512.png

If you've been reading about the Nth Society game project, you might been wondering, well what is it going to be like to actually play. You're not alone in asking this question. We too are wondering. In fact it's the wondering that is so critical to project as an experiment - we just don't know.

To read what we do know, check out my last post, Nth Society explained at 5 levels of difficulty.

To help figure out the unknown I'm asking writers, imaginators and pensmiths to get involved. I want you to imagine the gameplay from the perspective of the game character and write a short story about it. In other words, I am asking the community to crowdsource ideas that can inform the design process.

Narrative is important. Even though the game will (probably) have no starting narrative, you will weave your own by playing. This is the essence of role-play.

Before you start

You really must read about the Nth Society or you will be lost and produce a story of no relevance.

Probably the most important concept to be aware of, even if it doesn't feature directly in your story, is that the Nth Society is a game which is designed to explore voluntaryism.

So read the most recent explanatory article for sure, and some of the others too if you want. To see a list, and to chat to other people interesting in the game about this competition and in general, join the Discord.

Ideas for stories

Questions to get you thinking

  • The first thing I would do in the game
  • Things I'm afraid to do in society today
  • Something I would like to explore if I could live in a voluntary society for a day
  • What social order would you prefer in a voluntary society?
  • If I left an unfree society, what would I leave?
  • Which would be the three rules in your voluntaryist society?

Actual seed ideas

  • Building a business
  • A child's view of a voluntary community
  • The wandering philosopher
  • Crime and punishment with the NAP (non-aggression principle)
  • The day the raiders came
  • Farming is hard
  • How did I end up in a bureaucracy?

Judge and prizes

I'm stoked to announce that @tarazkp has agreed to be the judge for the competition 😎 I've been a fan and collaborator of his on occasion and I'm really happy he's going to take the time to review all submissions with me.

The best three stories will be awarded 8 SBD each to the author.

Three honorable mentioned stories will be awarded 4 SBD each.

And I am paying @tarazkp 15 SBD for his time and effort.

The rules

First a note: anything which does not fit the rules will not be considered for the prizes but it does not mean they will be disregarded. The prizes are just a motivation and a thank you. All contributions to the Nth Society project are valuable in their own right.

So for the purposes of the prize these rules will be strict, please read them carefully.

  1. Short stories must be in English.
  2. Your entry must be made in a post with first tag #nth-society and second tag #narrative.
  3. The closing date is March 9th at 00:00 hrs UTC
  4. Short stories must be between 400 and 600 words.
  5. Short stories must be original, and never published before.
  6. One entry per person.
  7. Let me repeat that rule 2: use these tags in this order or your entry will not be considered: #nth-society #narrative
  8. If it needs it, you should use the #nsfw tag. Failure to do so on a clearly NSFW story will disqualify you

Basic suggestions for good stories

Consider this to be good advice:

  1. Spell check
  2. Check grammar
  3. Proof read
  4. Consider the topic and write something relevant

Thank you and have fun!

@tarazkp will make a post, I'll update this when he has.

nth-society-banner.png

Edit: updated to make clear I am looking for stories from the perspective of the character in the game, not the person playing the game at their computer!

Sort:  

cool... let me get my writers shoes on

You did, thank you 🤓

Thank you, but you misunderstood the task, it's supposed to be from the perspective of the character in the game! I'm sorry I didn't make this clear enough, I updated the main line to this:

I want you to imagine the gameplay from the perspective of the game character and write a short story about it.

It would be fine if you rewrote the story and edited you post.

Hmm: I will ask now @personz whether you read one of the last lines: how do those 2 grad students know if they're not actually in a simulation? The idea is very Matrix - you have to think outside the zone and consider the levels of the game. Grad Student is one of your levels. How do you expect grad students to behave? It's up to you. Maybe I'll consider rewriting, but i think i meet your requirements already 😊

Oh wow I didn't see it that way 😅 very clever. Sorry for jumping to conclusions.

You're absolutely right, it is a very "The Matrix" idea. Glad for this surprise. 😎

Will try to explode my wild ideas and put them in a sequence and fetch something that I had tried a lot since last months.

Awesome, looking forward to your entry!

Resteemed and upvoted by the MAP-AAKOM community.

Interesting story concept - hope some more entries will come soon. Sometimes people are working on their writing and you don't see it till the last day - maybe solicit interest and extend the deadline to avoid disappointment.

Very interesting topic. And so much that could be said! Thanks for the contest :) My entry https://mspsteem.com/nth-society/@jmcrouse/nth-society-writing-competition-imagine-the-world-my-entry

I know right, it's very open but that's why I'm so glad to read stories like yours, thank you!

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #35. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thank you, I will certainly resteem this, I really appreciate it 😄

You're welcome and thanks for the resteem.

this is dope! I'm very grateful there are people out there incentivising the production of creative content. Keep up the awesome facilitation @rycharde @personz

Hi @personz. I finished my story and just posted it. I cannot guarantee you will like it, actually probably you won't. But consider this a philosopher's response to your intriguing mind experiment. The Nth Awakening.

Welcome to Nth Society.You have just spawned. What does your world look like_.jpg

Haha, well @tarazkp will be the judge of that - literally 😉 Thanks again for your involvement, glad to have you around.

Though I found it little difficult, Here is the answer to your challenge ;
https://steemit.com/nth-society/@muzi0202/the-crime-that-never-happen-nth-society-writing-compitition

I wasn't sure whether I was up to this challenge but feel I have managed to write something of worth if not relevance!

Here is my entry ~ THE ROAD TO LOVE. I hope it is of value.

I also whipped up a wee illustration for the fun of it :)

Open Road Woman and Dog.jpg

Thanks for laying down the gauntlet!

And wishing all well.

xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97