Drawing Contest for the NON ARTIST #1: My First Art Work for 2018

in #non-artist7 years ago (edited)

If you are willing to do something that might not work, you're closer to being an artist.
~ Seth Godin

IMG20180114174845.jpg

Girl on the window


When I was in elementary, poster making contest was a fad. I have always wanted to join. The only problem is that I am not blessed with a talent in art.

When I first read the mechanics of this contest, I got really excited. Finally, there's an ART COMPETITION I am qualified to join! This is one of the many things I love about Steemit, it always provides an opprtunity to discover new things, explore your potential, and pushes you to do things beyond your capacity.

Yesterday, I submitted my entry for a poetry contest. Writing poems is my weakness. I remember back in college, during our Literature class, I cried because I can't complete the ten-quatrain poem my professor required us to do. But hey, just yesterday I was able to finish my entry. And even if I don't win, the fulfilment I got from doing it already makes me feel like a winner. 😎

See, creativity takes courage. And what matters most is not the outcome, but the process. Because it is during the process where you discover, learn, improve, and grow.

And so... CHALLENGE ACCEPTED for the drawing contest for the non-artist! 😊😊😊


Materials needed


♥️ paper
♥️ pencil
♥️ eraser
♥️ sharpener


⭐ THE TASK ⭐

🌹 Activity # 1: Warm up with lines and shapes

For this task, the contestants are asked to make panels and draw lines and shapes.

Below is the given sample

Here's mine!

IMG20180114160723.jpg

🌹 Activity # 2: Shapes and shading exercise

This activity allows you to learn the basics of drawing shapes and filling your art with different shades.

Sample provided

My output for this activity

IMG20180114161947.jpg

🌹 Activity #3: Application

Instruction: Based on what you have learned from activities 1 & 2, create your own work of ART!

🌟 The Result 🌟

IMG20180114174845.jpg

♥️ So what is the message behind the girl on the window? ♥️


On the days, and yes there will be days, when your life comes tumbling down, patience becomes so thin, and you might think the end is near, it is important to contemplate and assess things. When times are lonely, and nights are cold, look outside your window, gaze into the distance, pray that when tomorrow comes, things will get better. Brave the cold, bend if you must, but do not break for you are so much more than breaking. And in the morning there will be sunshine and warmth waiting.

Today, I encourage you all to take a moment and reflect on your life. In the words of Marie Kondo: "Keep only those that spark joy - things, relationships, habits. Identify what's essential and eliminate the rest."


I hope you enjoyed my entry. Thanks for dropping by! 😅

XOXO,

Maine


Let's support @surpassinggoogle by VOTING "steemgigs" as your witness.

Thank you very much for your time!


DQmTnYAkWSrhwuRTA8P97xruy6hScLrNtMsoWPxCu5rF7a7_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Whoo! This is exactly what art is about! Expressing emotion and stories with what we create! Everybody is an artist at heart and I'm glad you started exploring your potential. Best of luck in the contest @chinitacharmer!

PS. Sobra ka relate sa poster making contest in elementary. Sige ko sali sa una, pildi permi. wahahaha.

Thank you so much Noelle! 😊 I never thought I could make such drawing knowing how limited my artistry is. But the warm-up exercises helped me a lot in conceptualizing my drawing. I never knew I could do well with lines and shading which is all I could do for now. Lol. I have always been interested in art, and even if I am not very skillful in this area, I would still be willing to learn and create. As what you said, it is not only about the art itself, but the emotions and stories behind the art. 😊

Ok ra maskin pildi, basta nag enjoy lang! 😊

This is nice I hope you win the contest . I love the message of the drawing. Keep it up maine.

Hopefully! But there are too many talented non-artists who joined. Win or lose the most important thing is that I enjoyed doing this, and I learned a lot. Thanks Fukums :*

@chinitacharmer
Nice, I like to see more of this....Very artistic...

Wow, for a non-artist like me, it really means a lot to be commended for my artwork. 😊 Thank you so much @friendly-fenix.

no problem @chinitacharmer, enjoy!!!

good job sis! keep it up!

Thank you so much sis! Sobrang nakaka happy makabasa ng ganitong comment! 😊

Yay.nice to know na maka encourage sa uban sis.. go go go!

wow for the win!

Yay! Thank you. 😊😊😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chinitacharmer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

good effort! What a great job for a non-artist! Very nice drawing Main, very neat :D

Took me 2 hours to complete the drawing! Lol! Thanks Renee! 😊😊😊

Wow im proud of this post. You did your best!
Thank you so much!!!!! 😱✨ Upvoted and resteemed ♥️✨😍✌️☝️

Thank you so much Jacinta! 😍 Your contests are always interesting but the previous ones were too difficult for my level. I can only draw lines and shapes, and enhance them with shading. Lol. Glad you initiated this contest for non-artists like me. More of these please. 😊 Again thanks and more power!

Just keep on practicing for sure the skills will be polished and that is the beauty that I really enjoyed here.

Ako I learned how to draw/ paint on Youtube university never had the courage to try joining poster making contest sa schools way back.

Thank you so much @tpkidkai. It's ok, you can join art contests now! :) Thanks for the tip! I will check out tutorials from YouTube and benchmark on our fellow steemians who are great at this. Visual art is really FUN! :)

Yep it is really really fun. Unleashing the creativity that is residing in us. I might join in the future :)

Your post has been featured on our daily featured posts. Congratulations.

@steemitfamilyph

Wow! I'm very glad and honored for this recognition! 😍

Thank you very much @steemitfamilyph. You guys are awesome! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54