Launch of the #nobodysPerfect Campaign

in #nobodysperfect8 years ago

Absolute perfection doesn't exist anywhere in nature, everything has some flaw that makes it unique when looked at close enough. So why do many people feel that expressing or sharing flaws are taboo? Why do we feel embarrassed to share these (usually deep and important) pieces of our selves? Regardless of why, the freedom you gain by beginning to share the inner most details of what make you who you are, is quite precious. Every time you allow your essence to connect with another, it gets easier, and better yet, they share back!

Now I know from personal experience the feeling of having something not quite sit right in my head, but I felt I absolutely could not share it with anyone. It took me almost 30 years to tell a single person that I thought I was transgender. You can read my story here. My Transgender Journey Even knowing that I had loving family and friends, that I knew they would still love me regardless, I said nothing. Why? Absolute fear! Of what exactly I can't say, maybe just not knowing what they would say, maybe fear of retribution, but this isn't logical when at the same time I truly believed that my friends and family would be accepting and supportive.

Since that time, I have come to the conclusion that my silence was caused by two things. First that there really wasn't a natural way into the conversation. It always required me starting with something seemingly out of the blue like, "So...I have something I want to tell you." Even once I had started talking about it, I found my words just weren't sufficient. But I never stopped talking. The second was that I perceived being transgender a taboo topic for really no logical reason. I probably attributed being transgender to the negative feelings they caused me for a long time, and prior to the last handful of years, it's not had much positive media. It sure would have been nice if I would of had access to a community that might have upon prompting gotten me to talk.

This is why we are collaboratively starting the #nobodysPerfect campaign. To launch this off I would like to share a couple of these stories that give some insight into living with trapped turmoil and the incremental freedom gained by removing concern of a facade. We are looking for Steemit users that want to share their stories directly with the community. Stories can be video, audio, written, or with whatever method you best communicate.

To participate, simply post your story on Steemit including the category and hashtag #nobodysPerfect.
To kick things off, I would like to present some videos, by fellow collaborator @mrWang sharing that #nobodysPerfect.

Extremely Awkward and Incredibly Honest

My best hopes and wishes for everybody!
@sykochica

Sort:  

I upvoted You

This has great potential and I wanna see it achieve great things!
Best of luck chica!

I sure hope so! It seemed like something that could be very helpful for those in the community!
Thank you!

Beauty comes from within and will shine through...like you said just be yourself

Hopefully, one day, we can have everybody shining!
That will be a great day to be a sunglasses merchant! :P

Only thing perfect about that sunflower is the spiral pattern from the center. The seeds spiral out in relation to the Fibonacci series and then the imperfections blend in with the surrounding nature. Great points that you have brought to our shared awareness.

Thank you!
And I honestly didn't see the spiral til you said something!

This is a great idea. There are so many things that are taboo or stigmatised in our society like mental illness. Many of us are scared or feel ashamed to discuss our experiences. I hope this gets the attention it deserves.

Thank you so much!
There is a lot of strength gained simply by knowing we are not alone!
We'll keep trying to get the word out.

Why did @somedude flag this post?

Can you explain, @somedude for the motivation of your "FLAG"

Good luck with this! :)

I love this idea, i truly hope it takes of and the tag trends.

Thank you! Me too!
Regardless, it was absolute we felt was worth putting out there. (collaborated with @mrwang)

Great idea and initiative! I think it could be really helpful for a lot of people :D

Thank you! It meant a lot for this to get produced. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it can be helpful for many others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75