Students Protest TRUMP in Downtown Los Angeles, Today 11/14/2016

in #news8 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Students March Against Trump

When 12 Noon came rolling around, I figured the rumors were just that, rumors. Then about 30 minutes later at around 12:30 PM I began to hear some chanting. I stuck my head out the window and looked East bound. From the East approached several hundred students waving several flags, banners and manny signs. I quickly grabbed my camera and went out to photograph the event. These kids were moving fast, all while chanting, "Not my President," "Si Se Puede," (Yes, You Can!) and other marching chants. They were on their way to Los Angeles City Hall.


Imgur
"I am screaming out what my parents Did not!"
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

I walked alongside these children, because that's what they are before students, Americans or anything else. I felt a sense of emotions arise inside of me. I could sense the fear, anguish and strength in their voices. I briefly wondered if this is what the marchers felt along Cesar Chavez during the fight for Farm Worker Rights, or in the 60's when Martin Luther King and many others marched. These kids mostly came from the NorthEast and East Los Angeles Area. There were maybe 1000 to 2000 students.


Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

The students were predominantly Latino. I spoke with a few of the students. I asked them what message they were trying to send and to whom. One student mentioned that when the Irish first came to America and landed in New York, that they too were unwanted and poorly treated. He then proceeded to say that the same discrimination befell the newly arrived Italian immigrants, and well as the German immigrants that would arrive to New York. The student said that just like the children of those Irish, Italian, German and other immigrants that arrived to America's shores many years ago, that they too have dreams and aspirations but are afraid of politicians like Donald Trump and "policies of blame." Another student intelligently mentioned that it is not only Donald Trump who knows how to use Social Media. The student said that at a moment's notice they are ready to march and walk out again. They used social media to organize this walk out. I asked them if there was a leader or a group in charge, but most students I spoke with said that there is no leadership. They are simply communicating via social media and word of mouth, and since most of their parents are working, they took up the cause today. I asked if their parents knew that they walked out of class. Some said no, others said that they informed their parents with about 50-50 in support and the other against them leaving campus.


Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
A protest would not be a protest without Anonymous/Guy
steemit.com/@streetstyle

The protesting students made it to the steps of City Hall. There they remained for several minutes chanting and holding up their signs. Then after 20 minutes or so, they crossed the street to a small park across from City Hall. They rallied there for a while longer, but the protests remained peaceful throughout. I left a little while after that for some lunch and editing. I occasionally here sirens now and then, but I think most of the students have gone home.


Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

Imgur
steemit.com/@streetstyle

11/14/16
Full $teem Ahead!
My Top Blogs

- "Make Up Your Mind" [Original Poem]

- The Trump Protests Continue

- My First Bounty Hunt

streetstyle logo
Signature Logo Created by @czar
if you need one, he is steem dollars reasonable!

Sort:  

I'd drop my camera too for $1500 but I doubt anyone one of these kids was paid even $1. There might be someone out there getting paid to make Social Media Posts in regards to protesting but none of the kids I spoke know where the idea to march came from other than "their friends" or through social media.

None of these protests are real - George Soros pays for them through his enormous network of activist-organizations he controls from A-Z

It is amazing what you can make people do for $1500 a week.

I believe that there certainly is a giant agenda to rip this nation apart, and events like this are just one example of that!

Haha, I'd go walk down the street for 1500 clams.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68