My First Bounty Hunt Experience -- Or How NOT to Bounty Hunt When Looking for a Fugitive !! --

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Before I ever became a Bail Bond Agent, I was a Custom Harley Davidson Motorcycle Builder. I also did repairs and rebuilds, and for the most part was always extremely busy six days a week. So my time was limited but I was always willing to help out a friend in need. And of course, I had a friend in need. He owned his own Bail Bond company and had a skip, or someone he bailed out of jail but did not return to their court dates. When this happens, this can potentially cost the Bail Bond company a lot of money, and it can be especially devastating to a small mom and pop type business. My friend was not a great businessman and was always having problems. I knew he needed the help, so when he asked me to accompany him to go look for someone that did not go to court, I agreed.


Imgur



In California, you currently need Bounty Hunter credentials, but prior to 2000, you did not need any type of certification, license or training. The Bail Bond company or the Bail Bond Agent could "Deputize" anyone with paperwork authorizing them to apprehend the fugitive out on the company bail bond. With this paperwork in hand, my friend the Bail Agent made me a California Bail Fugitive Recovery Agent, otherwise known as a Bounty Hunter.


Prior to our departure, I asked my friend if he was armed. He said he was not. Then I asked him if he had handcuffs, and he said he did not. I worriedly asked him how we were to make an arrest if we did not have a firearm or even handcuffs. He casually replied that we would only be conducting surveillance on the fugitive's mother-in-law's house. My friend said he believed that the fugitive would be living there but was not sure and would like to confirm his suspicions. I naively agreed.





We parked and positioned ourselves about 1 block away from the mother-in-laws house. Unfortunately my disorganized friend did not even bring binoculars to add to our disadvantage. Several hours after sitting in a hot vehicle under the California sun, the family arrived home. The mother-in-law, the fugitive's girl friend, another adult female and several children were the ones to show up but no sight of the fugitive. Then, five minutes later another vehicle with two males arrived to the same house. An older male followed by a younger male that fit the profile of the fugitive. My friend decided to drive up to the house to visually confirm, but I protested, saying that we did not need to do that. He zoomed by regardless of what I had said, and when he confirmed that it was the fugitive, he turned and headed back.

At this point I wanted out. I clearly stated to him that this was a bad idea. He said that he just wanted to talk to the fugitive to convince him to make his court appearance. I protested, saying that we should go back to his Bail office, gather the needed equipment and some extra bodies to help. Then we could return, wait until we made another visual identification before attempting to make the arrest. My friend heard nothing and was pulling up to the house before I was done talking. He exited his vehicle and approached the house.


Imgur

The front door was open, as some family members were unloading groceries from the vehicle. Then just as we approached, the fugitive came out of the house but was stopped when he saw his Bail Bondsman. Then the fugitive's girlfriend with their infant baby in arms stepped out of the house as well. Everyone froze for those few awkward milliseconds before the fugitive sputtered some words about planning to go to court and his car not working and on and on. Now the mother-in-law was also by the front door. My friend calmly explained to the fugitive that he was there because the fugitive have failed to appear in court and the Judge in the case had issued a warrant for the fugitive's arrest. My friend explained to the fugitive that he needed to return to court otherwise he would be arrested and turned in to the Los Angeles County Jail.

The fugitive agreed that he would be returning to court, but that he would not be doing so right at that moment. My friend said that he needed to go to court, and the fugitive agreed but again reiterated that he would not be doing that very same day. Then my friend said again, that the fugitive needed to return to court and the fugitive again insisted that he would but not that very same day.


!



"But you have to go to Court"
"I am, but not today!"
"But you have to go!"
"And I am but not Today!"





And this went on for a few more rounds, while the rest of us turned from left to right as if watching a pro tennis match with return volley after return volley. Finally I saw spittle and teeth from my friend and before I knew it, he grabbed the fugitive's wrist. I was stunned. Somehow things were now going terribly wrong. I had no idea what to do, and I really did not understand what had happened. The guy was agreeing to go to court, he just was not going to do it right then and there. I understood that, and it appeared my friend did as well, but there was a crossed wire in my friend's head, because he just didn't get it, and he finally snapped and grabbed the guys wrist. The guy immediately reacted by trying to whip his arm away, but he failed. Now he really started to struggle, and his girlfriend started screaming to let him go. Then the mother-in-law screamed followed by the baby crying. My friend and the fugitive were now on the ground.


Imgur



Suddenly I saw a young male run out of the house and then run back in. Now I feared the worst. Everything was moving in slow frame. The pounding of my heart beat was in my ears, and my vision suddenly tunneled. Through the pounding of my heartbeat, and the screaming of the ladies, I heard my name. Again, and Again. I looked at the door expecting a machete wielding person at any moment. I looked down to see my friend on top of the fugitive, with the fugitive's girlfriend and baby on top of my friend. The fugitive was kicking and squirming while trying to gouge my buddy's eyes out. He screamed my name again and this time it pierced the veil of slow motion. Everything came zooming into my head and all of a sudden running in real time.

I jumped in and grabbed the fugitive's wrists. Then the mother-in-law jumped in only to be repelled by a very severe kick to the abdomen by the flailing fugitive. As I took control of his wrists, he turned and bit my wrist. I growled and snarled in pain but did not let go. My eyeballs were coming out of my head with incredulity as I warned him that my elbow was about to break his jaw. Realizing his futility and vulnerability as my friend gained control of the fugitive, he stopped biting me. He did not draw blood but he sure left all his teeth impressed in my wrist and luckily he kept his jaw in tact.



Now that the fugitive calmed down, and the ladies stopped screaming I was then able to take control of the situation. I then told my friend to shut the F*ck up. I asked the fugitive where he lived, and he replied that we were at his place of residence. I asked him if he would comply with attendance in court and he agreed. After a few more questions and agreements, everyone was able to peacefully stand. I then reiterated what we had agreed to while on the floor, and everyone, including the fugitive's family agreed to comply. After some apologies and good byes, we finally left, 95% sure he would comply the following day.


Imgur



Of course the following the day, we followed the fugitive to court. We then waited in court with the fugitive until he was heard by the judge. Once this happened, my friend and his bail bond company would be "off the hook." The Judged sentenced the fugitive now defendant in court to probation and community service. Case closed, bruised egos and all. It would be about another 8 years before I would ever venture into Bounty Hunting again, this time though completely on my terms.

11/10/16
Full $teem Ahead!
My Top Blogs

- THE STEEMIT SUCCESS!


- THE SILENT ZONE

streetstyle logo
Signature Logo Created by @czar
if you need one, he is steem dollars reasonable!

Picture Source:
Pic 1 - Google Images Labeled for re-use
Pic 2 - Google Images Labeled for re-use
Picture 3
Picture 4 - flickr.com
Picture 5 - flickr.com
Picture 6 - Pixabay.com
Image 7 / GIF - http://giphy.com/
Picture 8 - Pixabay.com
Picture 9
Picture 10 - wikimedia.org

Sort:  

Man, you keep impressing me!

When I hit the coast next time, I'll drop by (unless I have a bounty on me by then)

Thanks @papa-pepper And please do let me know if you are ever in LA. That would be awesome.

It's been years, but if it happens, I'll let you know.

I guess I should make it soon to while you guys are still part of the United States, huh?

Nah @papa-pepper The Union will remain, but not sure how long I will remain a Bail Bond Agent. Unfortunately, the political vibe towards the Bail Industry is not good right now. There are those that feel that current Commercial Bail Bonding system is unconstitutional and there are states, and some counties in California now looking at changing the states Bail System. We'll See.
For now we are here and with a new President. Everyone will get over soon, and who knows, Trump just might turn out to be one of our greatest Presidents.
As for California, well it has Disneyland, Hollywood, the Beaches, the Mountains, many museums and cultural places of interest.
It would be great if you ever came out West. I bet people would even gather to hear you speak @papa-pepper . There are many out here in the city interested in self sustainable living.
Shall I say, see you soon?

nice content started following u , please follow back :D

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I missed this in my feed somehow. Glad it caught up with me.
Are you going for the "interesting man" gig? :)

LoL
That's me and a childhood friend.
Imgur

Those stories are way early in my blog. So I figured I would start from the very beginning and work my way forward. I am never bored, that's for sure @anotherjoe
take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41